We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Banyan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Banyan Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Quepos B&B and Inns
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not just a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Blue Banyan was an interesting place to stay, it wasn't like any of our other destinations in Costa Rica. It's both a place to stay and a place to learn and escape. First, Beth and Barb are great hostesses and make you feel right at home. There is even a pet parrot to greet you. The grounds are beautiful and they have a nice pool. The common areas are very nice and the cabins are nice and private. This place is off the beaten track, but still close to Manuel Antonio and local beaches. One of the coolest things about this place is that they also host a primate sanctuary, rescuing various breeds of monkeys from the illegal pet trade and other less-than appropriate situations for wild animals. These animals can't be re-released into the wild. We got to help feed the monkeys one morning, we didn't get to do that anywhere else. We also met the primatologist and interns helping to care for these noble creatures. Our family left with an experience beyond what any hotel offers. The breakfast was also a great way to start the day. Bannana pancakes...yum. If you are looking for something more meaningful than the Marriot, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_Stark_Zatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    10
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
55
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I spent a week at the Blue Banyan as a chaperone with a group of high school seniors that volunteered with Kids Saving the Rainforest (KSTR). We all had an amazing time. The Blue Banyan is gorgeous. It has luxury cottages, an excellent volunteer center and the grounds are a manicured tropical paradise with awsome views of the mountains. We were entertained by Tiki the resident Blue and Gold Macaw that loves interacting with people and will dance if you sing "living the vida loca". The dogs that run free on the property are sweet and made us feel like we were at a home away from home. Our group of volunteers learned a lot and had a great time feeding the rescued monkeys that are in the KSTR wildlife sanctuary next to the property, gathering fruit for the monkeys, transplanting crops, making souvenirs and ofcourse swimming in the beautiful pool after a day of working. Going on a trek into the virgin primary rainforest that is adjacent to the Blue Banyan is an extraordinary experience. At the Blue Banyan and/or in the adjacent rainforest and entance road we saw poison dart frogs, two types of snakes (if you are afraid of snakes, not to worry, we would not have seen them if not for the the special interest of some of the volunteers in looking for them and the help provided by the staff in finding them), toucans and wild titi monkeys. The toucans can be heard at the property every morning but you have to look for them. I finally saw them on our second to last day. The special thing about our week is that it was not a touristy vacation although we did go on a couple of excursions... you cannot take a group of teenagers to Costa Rica and not go ziplining. The volunteering experience made this trip something more which everyone in our group will remember always. Thank you Beth, Ezekiel, Barbara, Jim, Chip and Jennifer for making us feel like part of your Blue Banyan / KSTR family and allowing us the opportunity to have such a special experience. Pura vida, Aylin

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aylin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in some very nice places during our recent Costa Rica trip (all were 4 or 5 stars on Trip Advisor), but the Blue Banyan was the highlight. Our room was very nice and clean and the rock shower was gorgeous. The deck outside was a beautiful place for a morning cup of coffee, and the grounds were beautiful. The staff were so personable and helpful (thank you for doing our laundry Beth!). Our kids, ages 7 & 9 loved all of the animals onsite and even after just 3 days, were really sad to leave. The volunteer staff was so kind to let our boys help feed the monkeys. They learned so much and have been talking about it ever since. We also really enjoyed not staying right in Manuel Antonio. We enjoyed the park very much, but also were thankful at being able to return to the Blue Banyan at the end of day vs. staying in such a crowded, touristy area. We wholeheartedly recommend the Blue Banyan and if we are every lucky enough to return to Costa Rica, we'll be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Wow! This is an incredible property outside of Quepos. The views of the mountains, the luxurious, manicured grounds, and the opportunity to visit the marmosets and monkeys in the respite center make this one of our favorite places to stay in Costa Rica. It is a very peaceful bed and breakfast with comfortable and quiet lodging and a beautiful pool. The volunteers from Kids Saving the Rainforest (who live in the volunteer center down the hill from the cottages) were very helpful and friendly and took our kids to help feed the animals. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaLeigh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is an amazing place. It's not expensive, and what you get is a clean, very spacious apartment (we squeezed 2 adults and 4 children into 1; and with the adults on a superking bed), lovely swimming pool, breakfast of whatever you want (speciality of the house: banana pancakes, but also toast, cereals, eggs, and fruit), and generous hosts. While we were there, the pool turned green - so Jim and Barb let us swim in their private pool. We made friends with Tiki the parrot (sorry: blue-gold macaw). We were treated to our own visit to the monkey sanctuary. And when we left our mobile phone behind, they found a way to get it to us at San Jose airport. By the by, we and our kids all had a fantastic, restful and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Why stay at a roadside shack surrounded by tourists when you can be just 20 minutes away surrounded by beautiful pastures, secondary rainforest and gorgeous mountain views with an abundance of peace and quiet dotted by the insects and frogs' nightly melody. That's the Blue Banyan Inn. It's a total respite from the touristy track of MA. Great grounds, birds, pool, friendly dogs and even a pet parrot that dances to Living La Vida Loca. You can't do better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docterloeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We are just back from spending several days at the Blue Banyan Inn with a group of four families. Our group used two cabins and the upper two floors of the three story building. The kids ran around all over the place and had a blast. Chip was very helpful in setting up our trip, and Jim and Barb and their assistant Susie were helpful hosts. The rooms were nice -- spacious and clean and comfortable. We have been in Costa Rica for a few months, and this is the first time we have used A/C at a hotel. It was hot in Quepos, and we were happy to be able to cool off at night. The pool was great for cooling off, too. We used it every afternoon.

Chip arranged for some dinners for us at the BBI. The food was really good and plentiful. Breakfasts by Jim and Barb and Susie were delicious and filling. As noted by many on this site, the banana pancakes are great.

We were lucky to have the place mostly to ourselves, and we used the main eating area to hang out and play games. The internet was out when we were there, but we did not miss it, and Barb and Jim offered their connection to anyone that needed it.

The ride into the Blue Banyan is a bumpy trip through a palm plantation and the driveway into the hotel has one steep section. Our coaster bus was able to navigate it all just fine. And by getting out of town, we had a really nice view of the mountains and lots of peace and quiet (aside from the noise of all of the kids with us).

Chip arranged for a tour for us in Manuel Antonio, and our guide Freddy was very good. Chip, Jim, and Barb gave us helpful tips that made our trip comfortable and fun. And they gave us lots of towels for the pool, beach, and showers.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank klrowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
5.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
4.2 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#7 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#3 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 15 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#23 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Banyan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Banyan Inn

Property: Blue Banyan Inn
Address: 2000 m NE Finca Azul | Finca Azul, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by primary rainforest with mountain ranges looming in the distance, the Blue Banyan Inn is a charming bed and breakfast catering to the environmentally conscious. The Blue Banyan is part of Finca Braman’s 75-acre ecologically sustainable community, encompassing private homes, a wildlife sanctuary and a volunteer center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Blue Banyan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Banyan Hotel Quepos
Blue Banyan Inn Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing