We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Awesome"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Kristina Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Kristina Apartments
Save
You added Villa Kristina Apartments to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Awesome"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I just got back from Costa Rica (June 20,2014), visiting with my 21 year old daughter, who booked the property. Kristina is a great gal from Sweden who had the guts and determination to make a paradise in the jungle for you to enjoy. Tall, dense trees all around, an infinity pool, jacuzzi, hammock and exotic flower garden make this place awesome and quiet to really relax. Well located, too. Do it!

Room Tip: Restaurant within 5 minute walk, no fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    17
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
36
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

After staying in Jaco for 2 nights we decided to try to stay close to Manual Antonio. Luckily we came across Villa Kristina. It is in a very private setting down a dirt road which can be a little scary but then most of the roads in Costa Rica are. We stayed in number 2 apartment and it was great. There is no ocean view from here but you can see it from the parking lot. We are traveling with our 17 year old daughter and having 2 bedrooms was great. Kristina is very friendly and helpful. She will tell you to please turn of lights and air when you are not in as prices here are very high for electric. The pool is great. I loved just lying in the hammock and listening to the sounds of animals or the rain and some scary thunder storms. We took the hike to the private beach which is a little challenging and I wouldn't recommend it for small children. But it was all worth it. Beach is very private and we saw only 2 other people there. On the way back we ran into a big group of whitefaced monkeys and a sloth. Overall this is one of the best places we stayed in Costa Rica

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have been with Kristina for the second time and have to say it has been great every time. We plan to go to winter again and then we will definitely be staying a few days with Kristina. A perfect place to relax on. You live in the midst of nature yet not far to Quepos. If you like animals, it's a perfect place to be at. You become well cared by Christina.
We can really recommend this place.
Fam Gabrielsson

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 611229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Villa Kristina in the end of April 2014. It was like having our own private villa in the middle of the jungle! Our apartment was very quaint and comfortable. The swinging hammock on the terrace overlooking the pool and jungle below was incredible. We saw more monkeys from our patio than we did in the park. We enjoyed the pool, which was very clean and beautiful. The hotel is situated nicely between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, which makes it a great home base for visting the park and heading to Quepos for evenings. Kristina is a very nice host and we would stay with her again and again and again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveinidah0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We rented Apt. 1, a two-floor unit at the top of this four-story apartment building (1 unit per floor). Beautifully and lovingly appointed in a comfortable Scandinavian style. It had very modern comforts yet we were totally in the rainforest. Gorgeous pool. Monkeys came through the treetops every day -- squirrel monkeys once, capuchins once and howlers twice. Iguanas. Hummingbirds. So exotic! We loved it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Level Contributor
154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Off the main drag between Quepos and Manual Antonio so quiet but a rough side road where we used 4 wheel drive! Apartment, grounds, pool were lovely! Everything clean and well fitted out with a couple of comfortable hammocks and rockers. Trees have grown up so only ocean view from top apartment now. Recommended for everyone!

Room Tip: View from top room and it is on grade so good access from parking but all are fine.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My family of four (two parents, two adult children) stayed at Villa Kristina for three nights. We wish we could've stayed longer! The top apartment is wonderful for a group: it has two floors, two bedrooms, two bathrooms/showers and sleeps six. We were very comfortable and relaxed. The villa is thoughtfully designed: a wonderful kitchen that is intuitive and has a wrap-around breakfast bar, hammocks, balconies, sliding doors. The decor is warm and tasteful.

Kristina also came in every day while we were out to make beds and change towels -- an unnecessary, but appreciated service. Kristina also helped us find a place to buy groceries and even personally delivered a phone message from a tour company about where to meet them.

The pool is the most beautiful pool I have ever seen! It is surrounded by rainforest, and gorgeously maintained gardens. Additionally, we saw hummingbirds, iguanas, spider monkeys, capuchin monkeys and howler monkeys on or just beyond the property.

I am surprised that a few previous reviewers were bothered by the rules. My family and I thought all the listed rules were simply common sense/ common curtesy (i.e. don't bring glass down to the pool, don't hang wet clothes or towels on the furniture, turn off lights and AC when you leave the building...)

This property is incredibly special. I have only one caution: to access the property, you travel a gravelly dirt road down and up steep hills, so rent a 4x4 vehicle.

Room Tip: The top apartment has two floors and two bedrooms, so it's great for a family or group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angellocks84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
2.4 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#2 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kristina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kristina Apartments

Property: Villa Kristina Apartments
Address: Apdo 109 | Playa la Macha, Quepos APDO288, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pacific coast in the in the rain forest between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. You can enjoy your holidays, relaxing with a beautiful and unique flora and fauna. Enjoy a panoramic view of the ocean, the sunset and the jungle with its wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Kristina Apartments Hotel Quepos
Villa Kristina Apartments Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing