We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“quiet paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Kristina Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Kristina Apartments
Save
You added Villa Kristina Apartments to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Quepos
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quiet paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was far and away my favorite hotel on our 10-day trip in Costa Rica. Huge apartment (much bigger than I'd expected) with everything in good condition, surrounded by rain forest that is nicer than the famous national park nearby. It is not in central Quepos (not a town you'd want to stay in) and not right next to that national park (which is a very touristy area), but right in between, down a small road with almost no traffic. This is perfect if you like slightly off-the-beaten path, romantic, and a feeling like you are not at a hotel but at a home away from home. Hammocs to relax in, a full kitchen, large balconies .... can't say enough good things about this place. There is a beautiful small infinity swimming pool surrounded by flowers and forest, which we had to ourselves each afternoon. The afternoon we arrived we saw monkies off in the trees. Kristina was also very sweet and showed us her plants, including a baby pineapple.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jeremy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    17
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Beautiful apartments in the jungle with nice clean deep swimming pool with Jacuzzi run by a nice Swedish lady.You can hike to stunning La Mancha Beach where we saw a family of Squirrel Monkeys. Stay here if you want to go to Manuel Antonio Park and get a taxi as Manuel Antonio village is an over developed sewer with horrible characters shouting at you in the street, not safe.
15 minutes walk to Quepos village which is authentic Tico where you can buy your supplies as Kristina's kitchens are fully equipped. If we had known it was like this we would have stayed a week. Paradise!

Room Tip: All apartments have jungle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wallymcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in Apartment 2 for one week and were very pleased with the accommodations. It is not a luxurious property, but it is very comfortable. The apartment had a new A/C unit which resolved the noise issue that a previous commenter noted. I recommend this property if you have a rental car with 4wd; it is conveniently located between Quepos and Manuel Antonio but the road into the property is rough. The apartments are well appointed and the property is beautiful; the pool is pristine and the surrounding grounds are beautifully landscaped. The decks provide great views of the jungle and monkeys and sloths are easy to see. Because my husband and I were traveling on our own, we opted for Apartment 2 because it is smaller than the upper unit. We regretted not getting the top floor unit once we saw the views from upstairs; even though we wouldn't have needed the additional space, we would have appreciated the views. Our only disappointment with the property was that the hot tub wasn't hot - it was the same temperature as the pool. Also, take note that Kristina does not provide bathroom amenities such as bar soap or shampoo so you will need to take/buy your own. Also, we were pleased that there were laundry facilities, but again, you will need to get your own detergent (it's only $1 at the local store). Kristina does smoke on occasion and you get an occasional waft of smoke on the Apartment 2 deck, but it was not constant or irritating as it was maybe twice per day. Also, she has two dogs that do bark when someone comes to the property but for the most part they did not bother us - it seemed like a good security measure especially after dark.

Room Tip: Splash out a few more dollars for Apartment 1 upstairs, for gorgeous views of the ocean and jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Villa Kristina for four days and we loved it! The road to the Villa is a little bit bumpy and can be a challenge if it rains a lot, but our small jimny suzuki could manage. Once we arrived Kristina showed us around and the place is beautiful! It is a great place to stay of you want to visit the manuel Antonio national park. Due to the good location you can get to quepos and manuel antonio in 5 minutes. The place is really clean, good wifi, big television, nice swimming pool and great nature! The only downside was the noisy a/c, but we got used to it. We cooked everyday and enjoyed looking the monkeys swing from tree to tree. Kristina is really nice and helped us figuring out how to get to our next stop in La Fortuna. Don't miss this place if you want to visit manuel antonio!

P.S. If you visit the national park do take a guide! We saw so much more. It is 20 dollars per person, but well worth it for a 2 hour tour!

Room Tip: We were in apartment 2, but didn't have the ocean view (we didn't care). Ask Kristina what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charis42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is amazing - it was beautiful, quiet, relaxing. It was a place you could just go and do nothing but lay in one of the hammocks with an occasional dip in the pool. We stayed with our kids who loved the frogs, lizards, and iguanas. Kristina was a great hostess. Her dogs were not that yappy - our kids thought it was a great treat to pet them when we arrived (they were missing their dog). Our unit was great - very clean, bright, and the balcony is awesome. There is a full kitchen (pick up your groceries on your way up the hill). It's not far from downtown Quepos. A beautiful place - would love to disappear there for awhile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great location for the price it’s secluded but yet a short drive to everything. We had a great time, Clean and Amazing surroundings, I enjoyed my coffee early on the terrace watching the monkeys swing back and forth from tree to tree, Kristina was available for questions on places to eat and shop in the town of Quepos, we also went for a hike on the trail close to the Villa and ended up in a very secluded beach with amazing cliffs and beautiful shore, the environment was very relaxing and beautiful! I give Kristina Villa EXELLENT recommendation

Room Tip: all the rooms at the Villa are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onAmission5628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beautiful flat with a terace, very well furnished, sense of details, beautiful view over the forest, very quiet and private location, swimming pool and jacuzzi surrounded by a forest, and Kristina will be helpfull, a perfect place, we wish we come back to spend more time there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
2.4 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#1 of 15 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#2 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#7 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kristina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kristina Apartments

Property: Villa Kristina Apartments
Address: Apdo 109 | Playa la Macha, Quepos APDO288, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pacific coast in the in the rain forest between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. You can enjoy your holidays, relaxing with a beautiful and unique flora and fauna. Enjoy a panoramic view of the ocean, the sunset and the jungle with its wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Kristina Apartments Hotel Quepos
Villa Kristina Apartments Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing