We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“All good at this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alamar Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alamar Aparthotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All good at this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We we very pleasantly surprised with Hotel Alamar. Our room had lots of light, was clean and everything worked (a/c, TV, safety deposit box) and the WiFi was excellent.

We enjoyed the pool and the breakfast.

Staff were very friendly.

One small thing: When we packed up to leave after two nights (after all, Puntarenas isn't the most interesting place to stay), we noticed that the safety deposit box sitting in the wardrobe was loose and not attached to anything. So someone could have stolen the box and its content.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
19
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were expecting the worst from this place but needed somewhere to sleep for one night before we took the ferry the next morning. They offered the best price, which included breakfast so we checked in and went up to the room.

It was lovely!! We had a very clean, twin room which was kitted out in two queen-sized beds. LG flat screen TV. Internet. Bathroom was kitted out with a spacious shower, plenty of towels and organic, natural soap, shampoo and conditioner.

Breakfast was a simple buffet with a variety of traditional Tico brekkie along with fruit, coffee, toast and cereal.

Hotel is equipped with a pool including a separate children's pool and hot tub. Additional towels for the pool and hot tub are supplied at check-in. It also faces Puntarenas beach which is just across the road.

Room Tip: Try to be in a corner where people won't need to pass your door to get downstairs in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaosfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We arrived in Puntarenas mid-afternoon on a whim and decided to stop. The Alamar was certainly the best offering in our price range. Check-in was smooth, the room was clean and neat and the air conditioning was much appreciated. My biggest complaint was the lighting, especially over the sink. I could hardly see in the mirror! We lounged by the pool and met some missionaries who had just arrived. We walked the beach and shopped the open market booths. We fully intended to eat at some local soda on the beach but many we closed or very dark so we came back to the hotel. Our meal was fair. Breakfast was included and it was okay.The staff was very helpful here as well and they had a locked parking lot which we appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
154 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was the best option we could find for a business trip to Puntarenas and located by the Paseo de los Turistas. The stay was average, no surprises. The room is comfortable, double bed, comfortable. The AC was acting up upon arrival but somebody came quickly to fix it. The service at the front desk is a little slow and could be confusing for non-Spanish speakers. I did not have time to get into the pool but a colleague did and enjoy it. The breakfast buffet was fine, a bit limited but tasted great. The coffee could be better considering that this property is in Costa Rica. The hotel and the bar were overpriced. The restaurant does not offer fresh fish in the menu which is absurd since they are right in front of the ocean. instead they offer something they call "corvineta", a type of catfish produced in captivity in Vietnam in a polluted river and with a diet based on high loads of chemicals. Why on Earth do they sell this fish in a coastal town in Costa Rica? I do not know but it is strange. We drove a bit further along the road and found signs of fresh snapper and sea bass and they even showed them to us. It was a great dinner!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We booked this hotel for two reasons only, to take advantage of a catamaran tour our friends had recommended and it's location near the ferry to the peninsula. We didn't expect much from the town, as it's a port city, and we were right but the hotel was great. We happened to be there for a festival, just by chance, which was so much fun. Thanks to staff recommendations we went out both nights and enjoyed the local culture. We felt safe as it was a family time and watching the little children have so much fun just added to our enjoyment. I don't know how safe the area is otherwise but the staff is so helpful I'm sure they could advise. Even though the festival was in full swing and the night life was exuberant, we had no touble falling asleep as our room was very quiet. We enjoyed this local festival so much we will go back with friends to enjoy it and we will definitely stay at the Alamar

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back of the hotel is you wish to rest well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed here for one night as part of a business visit to Puntarenas. The hotel was selected for me by colleagues, so I didn't really have a choice in the matter. In general the location (directly across from the large but kind of dirty beach) and service were good, but the rooms were bizarre. For my ground-level room the "door" was merely a sliding glass door with curtains covering it and in order to lock the door you had to do it with a key from the inside. Being a solo female traveler, I didn't really like that set up and generally like the idea of a solid door with a deadbolt or something and a room that is not immediately accessible from the outside. Another minus was that the room reeked of whatever cleaning agent they used to clean the bathroom. I got used to it after a while, but every time I walked into the room the smell completely bowled me over. The did have a nice flat screen TV with plenty of cable channel options and a good restaurant for dinner (not so good for breakfast). But overall, I would definitely rather not stay here again if I had the choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Arenas hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a trip to Costa Rica. We stayed one night in Puntarenas and opted for the Alamar Hotel. We did not have a reservation and this appeared to be the best hotel on the beachfront. It was better than we expected, at $90 (peak season) and we asked to see the room before we committed. We liked what we saw, spacious with a huge King bed, overlooking the pool, TV, A/C, WiFi and a nice clean bathroom. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and the young man that checked us in had perfect English. The pool was a little noisy, which is normal, and we could hear music coming from the reception area - there was also a pool table there, but by about 10pm it was quiet. The beach was ok, very festive at night, with markets and a fun-fair and live music playing.
As far as I could see one would only be in Puntaneras to take the ferry to Nicoia Peninsula - there would be no other reason to spend time in this little town.
We parked out on the street, there was a guard and we were told this would be perfectly safe. It was, thankfully. Breakfast the next morning was ok, fruit, scrambled eggs, toast and gallo pinto (beans and rice) fruit juices and coffee/tea etc. This was included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chawawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 23 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#13 of 23 in Punta Arenas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portobello
Hotel Portobello
#17 of 23 in Punta Arenas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
#10 of 23 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
2.7 mi away
Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamar Aparthotel

Property: Alamar Aparthotel
Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Punta Arenas 60101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamar Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Alamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing