We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
“Fun times :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Kokua hostel, what a place! I luckily stumbled on this hostel when I went to Costa Rica in April. I arrived at kokua after a long bus ride from San Jose and staff were there to greet me. The rooms are clean and the kitchen and living area are open air concept- which is perfect in a location like Santa Teresa. Overall, this was a great place to stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and there was always something fun going on. I would recommend this place for any chill traveller :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leannegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
18
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've been in Kokua hostel in June 2014 for three weeks. I had an amazing time! Every time I came back to the hostel I felt like I came home. We cooked and surfed together and watched a lot of movies in the night. And of course we followed the world cup. If you need any help, Fatima and Maximo are willing to help you. I hope I come back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hostel is far from clean, the rooms are extremely small (no space for your things), The bathrooms are dirty. The worst thing by far is that the mattress and bedding smells of mold. I was disgusted to put my face on the bedding. I forced myself to sleep there the 1st night because we arrived late but left the following day! Shocking!

Room Tip: Try and find somewhere else to stay unless you dont mind the comments i made in the description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maximo684, Owner at Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hey Alexia,

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

We try very hard to keep our rooms and common areas clean and tidy for all of our guests to enjoy. I remember you coming in a busy time, with a full house. You were the first person to tell us about the smelly pillow and mattress and we took immediate action by replacing them. As far as the bathrooms, it must have been an isolated incident since we have a daily routine of checking upon them every few hours. We are happy to know you still enjoyed our place by coming after your checkout to hang out with us all.


Pura Vida

Maximo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I planned to stay here for 2 days but ended up over a week. The hostel was a great place to relax and very close to the beach for good surfing and plenty of sun bathing. The hostel owners were excellent at their jobs and were very helpful. I hope to go back to the hostel in December and stay for another week. P.s. The hostel has 2 cute dogs which was a highlight of my stay.

Room Tip: Book in advance to guarantee a room or dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nibl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Kokua is an awesome find! Everyone is very nice, cool, and chill. The place is clean, well taken care of, calm, and laid back. The staff was happy to help whenever I had any questions or needed to figure something out. It's a very respectful and special place. I highly recommend it for Santa Teresa travelers, and will return if and when I come back to Paradise!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TravelistaConGusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Don't be fooled by it's size, this hostel has so much characteristic and such a unique set up that it's easy to meet people and feel comfortable. The beds and bathrooms served their purpose. The owners and staff were awesome, really laid back and helpful. We had a BBQ with pretty much everyone staying at the hostel it was a great way to meet everyone staff and travellers alike. We all then went out to a popcular club not too far of a walk away and had an awesome night out. The set up is really nice, its very colourful with a huge kitchen area and backyard with lots of hammocks to hang out in. It was a quick walk to the beach, I have nothing bad to say!! If you're hitting up Santa Teresa you should stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CandyGnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at the Kokua Hostel in Santa Teresa in June and it was the best hostel we stayed at for the whole trip. The rooms and bathrooms may have been nicer at other hostels, but the atmosphere at Kokua is really great to meet people and hang out on a rainy day. There is a big kitchen/dining area where almost everyone cooks and eats in. BBQ area as well. A lady comes to clean up every day, so it stays neat. The staff is very nice and helpful if you are looking for things to do, and even offered to include us in their dinner plans on several nights of our stay. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in Santa Teresa and want to meet good people. As a note, if you do an extended stay the staff may (probably will) reduce the rate per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puntarenas
34.0 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#2 of 22 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
32.2 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#9 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Mirador Osa
El Mirador Osa
#3 of 18 in Puntarenas
5.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
34.0 mi away
Hotel Mar y Mar
Hotel Mar y Mar
#4 of 18 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa

Property: Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa
Address: 50m South and 100m East from Super Costa, Puntarenas 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokua has everything you need for an amazing stay in Costa Rica. We have a beautiful garden surrounded by trees, all kinds of banana and almond trees where squirrels chill and eat their fruit. You will also find relaxing hammocks, a SlackLine to train your balance, and different common areas to read a book, do yoga, play board games and meet fellow travelers. Kokua has a lovely outdoor kitchen, where you will be able to cook your own food or participate in one of our friends communal dinner. We have different types of dorms: three 4 bed dorm, two private rooms with queen size bed, there are also tents with mattress and linens. We also have the option with AC or fan. Kokua also offers book exchange, wifi, coffee, tea, bikes for sharing and surfboard rentals. We're 50 meters away from the supermarket and some restaurants that offer good local food and fair prices. If you come to Kokua, you'll feel like family. We pride ourselves in taking customer service to the next level at budget prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing