We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isla Tortuga beautiful beach”
Review of Tortuga Island

Tortuga Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Day Trip to Tortuga Island from Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Isla Tortuga beautiful beach”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went to Isla Tortuga this month at the beginning of June. We paid some beach vendors on the beach at Tambor Beach to take our family by boat. Cost for the trip was only $45.00 pp. The trip included a few beers snorkeling and lunch. They cooked us an amazing salad, rice and beans with snapper. Also we had a fresh fruit platter and fresh coconut. Very tasty. We were the only ones on our boat which was pretty cool. It was definitely slow season. We stayed approx. 2 hours on the beach. It was a very pretty place and had nice white sand. The snorkeling was fun. We saw some puffer fish and some angel fish. There is one store there for buying trinkets and clothing etc.. It was a nice excursion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank outintheadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    103
    56
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Private beach”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Relaxing on the beach with both sun and shaded areas. The lunch was on white linen covered tables in the shade. Food was really good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I've seen prettier beaches better ship entertainment, but this is an enjoyable day tour.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you're just looking to relax and enjoy the beach and some Costa Rican hospitality, this is a nice little day tour from Puntarenas. The island is small and not particularly exciting or breathtakingly gorgeous, but it's certainly a nicer beach than Puntarenas and it's a really enjoyable day.

You'll be able to listen to a live band on the ship to and from as well as be entertained by the ship's host and there are alcoholic beverages available for purchase as well as some snacks of fruit and ceviche as well as non-alcoholic beverages provided for free.

On the island, the lunch is satisfying and enjoyable and is included. Any activities - the banana boat, kayaking, snorkeling, etc. - will cost you extra, as will renting a beach chair or umbrella. It's a tiny little beach but is cute enough. I didn't venture off to do any hiking or bird-watching, so I can't comment on that option.

All in all, it wasn't anything amazing but it was thoroughly enjoyable and if you want a nice relaxing day I would recommend the tour.

You can see a little more about the trip (including videos to get an idea of the size and quality of the beach) here: http://www.catecosta.com/isla-tortuga-costa-rica/.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CateLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Varso Travel - Puntarenas, Costa Rica - AMAZING!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I just returned from seven days in Costa Rica with my four girlfriends. We were all a little nervous going to a country we have never been before not speaking the language very well. When we arrived Maikol met us at the San Jose airport and took us to Puntarenas. He shared with us with awesome details about Costa Rica both past and present. He spoke very good English and immediately made us feel comfortable. He had an endless supply of patience for all of our "pee stops" and "drink stops". The next day he came to the property that we rented and helped us line up our excursions for our stay. We told him what we were interested and he made suggestions based on that. All of them were amazing!! Highlights were Isla of Tortuga cruise which included seeing dolphins, snorkling, a "yummy" lunch and awesome swimming on a white sand beach. Another highlight was the canopy zip line tour day. It started with feeding monkeys, we did the amazing zip line tour, and had lunch at phenomenal restaurant on the water. Most importantly was that Maikol and the team at Varso travel made our trip a complete success! I HIGHLY recommend anyone visiting Costa Rica to use Varson travel for all of their trip planning needs!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“a nice day-tour. departure from montezuma possible. if there is rough sea or clouds on the sky do not go.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

to expensive, better spend this money in fivestar-hotel in tambor ! you may reach hotel in tambor by bus for a few dollars within 1.5 hours.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank albinotraveller r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Island also viewed

Paquera, Province of Puntarenas
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tortuga Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing