We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Isla Tortuga.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Tortuga

Isla Tortuga
Book In Advance
$113*
and up
Tortuga Island Cruise Tour From San Jose
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Puntarenas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This state-owned island is leased to a Costa Rican family that leads tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Isla Tortuga.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A small haven of white sand and turquoise seas, you could almost swear you are in bahamas. Awsome for scuba diving and snorkeling, You can take the Catamaran in Puntarenas and enjoy a a few drinks before getting to the island, it's a short trip too, you can come and go in one day. Really worth trying at least once.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adri2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    84
    47
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice boat trip and the beach was lovely. It was hot so take water. We enjoyed out visit and snorkeling.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaJ388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just a beautiful tropical dry forest island with its beautiful beaches and background elevation which you can view through its nice walking trails.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank adeziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I took a boat to Isla Tortuga and had a great time! Like most of the companies that do tours there from Montezuma, we got on the boat in the morning, took about a 45-minute ride to get to where we could snorkel, stopped at several snorkeling spots, and then had lunch and a few hours to relax on the island. It was blissful! There were several hammocks around the beach for us to relax in, picnic tables to eat at, and some water toys to rent (jet skis, etc.) but those seemed unnecessary. One of my favorite parts of the island itself was the abundance of wild animals! Beach pigs, beach peacocks, and beach turkeys! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the boat ride was very choppy (although fun! If you have motion sickness you will want to be prepared!) and loooong, and on the ride back everyone in the front half of the boat was completely soaked. I know we were swimming all day so it wasn't really a big deal, but it was still an uncomfortable last hour to an otherwise gorgeous, peaceful day. Despite the touristy vibes I got at first, I was quite happy with how secluded it felt. I would return to Isla Tortuga.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The boat trip from Montezuma was a good start to the trip to the island - we saw lots of dolphins on the way. The beach is golden sand, water warm - a true bit of paradise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Tortuga also viewed

Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Isla Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing