We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun, safe and amazing”
Review of Tortuga Island

Tortuga Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Tortuga Island Cruise Tour From San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family fun, safe and amazing”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I came here at the end of our trip. We barely missed the sea turtles coming out of the ocean to lay their eggs in the sand. However we were able to see all the baby turtles hatch and make their way to the ocean. It was amazing! One of the locals gave us our own room at his hostel and we also got a canoe tour. We saw all kinds of birds, monkeys, little alligators. My wife and also walked in the national forrest there as well, almost got caught in the dark but we made our way to the beach and back to the little community. I would definitely check this place out. Make sure to give the locals the business and not the major hotels, trickle down economics and totally worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    103
    56
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Visited the island on the Calypso Cruise excursion. While there, we did horseback riding which is not part of Calypso. Our guide was great! He even took us to see his pet alligator and turtles and talked us into actually holding them!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beach and good snorkeling”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A beautiful white sand beach. Snorkeling is a little crowded, but nice, water was a little too crowded. Recommend to go early in the day as the beach gets very busy. Bring food & drinks. Recommended tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCS555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Too crowded, garbage in the water”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Seems like every cruise ship in the area barfed out their passengers all on the same day. While it is an intersenting place, the garbage in the water made for a very disappointing snorkelling trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ReggieDunlopCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice Beach, Owner has a wild pig that's very friendly! Loves to share food and drink and have his belly rubbed

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank takalevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Island also viewed

Paquera, Province of Puntarenas
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tortuga Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing