We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is an overpriced dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Yadran Beach Resort

Hotel Yadran Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Yadran Beach Resort
Save
You added Hotel Yadran Beach Resort to your Saves list
Al Final Del Paseo de Los Turistas, Diagonal Al Balneario San Lucas Beach, Puntarenas 5400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Puntarenas
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is an overpriced dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We happened to stay here on our late drive to Manuel Antonio from Guanacaste. There were no other options so we decided to stay here because the place actually has a good location but that's about the only good thing about this place. The place looks old and smells for the $120 dollars per night that they charge is really not justifiable. The A/C barely kept room at a temperature that was comfortable and we had to have them replace our sheets and towels because they had this yellowish dots on them wish we didn't really know what it was. Overall I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay I this place. It really sucks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edcacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

An old place with a staff that lacks interest towards the guests and simply pretend they're not there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lereptile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puntarenas hotels

London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This hotel was a a last resort! Everywhere in December was booked up and we arrived late in the evening and so had no choice but to stay the night. As we arrived at the hotel, some other travellers were leaving. We asked them if they enjoyed their stay and they said they were not going to stay at the hotel. They had simply walked in and then walked out.

It was like going back to the dark ages. The hotel is very dated and you feel as if you are staying at Butlins. It lacks personality and character. Although, the rooms are large and clean, the cost of one night is simply a rip off. The breakfast is plastic. This is very much suited only for the locals with a family of kids.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clementine070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Turned up in Puntarenas on Dec 29 late at night, and began looking for a place to stay. All the better places in town were full, but Yadran had space, albeit at a hefty price. Initially turned down the room and carried on looking, but in the end decided just to pay up the cash and make do for a night.

Room was reasonably sized, functional and clean but basic - don't expect any particular kind of luxury. Breakfast was lame. Each room has a safe - but you have to pay a rental charge on the key each day, and put up your credit card as a deposit on the key. Staff seemed able to perform well understood procedures, but unable / unwilling to be helpful, use their initiative or do anything out of the ordinary.

The hotel looks rather dated - everything was clean, just seemed like a throwback to the 1980s. Hotels in San Jose seemed to offer much better value for money.

Summary - it'll do for one night if you're desperate for a room, but you can almost certainly do better elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

We just walked in to get a room and they were very helpful ( we were unable to reach our original destination). The person at the front desk did speak a little English which was helpful. However, the place wasn't very clean, the shower did not have hot water or really any water pressure. No one in the restaurant spoke any English. The view of the beach from our room was very nice, but when we walked across the street to get an up close view of the beach, it wasn't so great. We only stayed the one night and then moved on to our original destination. We won't go back.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephfolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puntarenas hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#8 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#3 of 22 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#6 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
#7 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#11 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
7.5 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yadran Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yadran Beach Resort

Address: Al Final Del Paseo de Los Turistas, Diagonal Al Balneario San Lucas Beach, Puntarenas 5400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing