We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded charm - not modern luxury.”
Review of Hotel Tioga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tioga
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Orotina, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Faded charm - not modern luxury.”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Have stayed in this hotel perhaps 5 or six times over the last 15 years. The hotel was once the best on the seafront but is a little faded now. Previous criticisms of the slight shabbiness of the rooms and pool area are all true, the breakfast is sparse. The alleged free Wi-Fi signal is so slow as to be almost unusable. But I can't help myself, I love the place. The desk staff (Don Victor hasn't changed in 15 years) are always smiling and helpful, the hotel staff in crisp whites convince you for a moment or two that you're in the 1950's. Splash out on a sea-view room with balcony, rise above the noisy AC and slightly worn fittings in the en suite. Enjoy the view, soak up the atmosphere. While in Puntarenas get a taxi or whatever to the Seafood Restaurant Marisqueria La Leda in Caldera, 15 k away. Cost you $20 round trip but the seafood is the best in the area. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayacastle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
24
28
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent a very nice few days at this hotel. There is nothing fancy here. We had a balcony room on the fourth floor. The room was furnished fairly simply but was certainly adequate for a short stay. All of the staff were very friendly and exceedingly helpful. The complementary breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, rice & beans, bread, fresh fruit and drinks. It was a nice start to the day.

The hotel seems to cater more to Costa Ricans on holiday than to foreign tourists. In fact, that pretty much applies to the town in general. It was a great chance to mingle with local people rather than have the sanitized resort experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

As I've read from other reviews, this is "the only hotel on the beach". Unfortunately, this doesn't entail having nice rooms or common areas.

The rooms were small and cramped, and we found cockroaches in the shower both nights that we stayed there. As we were in a large group, I asked around and found that others had also found cockroaches in their bathrooms. The only plus side of the rooms was that there was an A/C and a TV with some American channels- although these varied from room to room.

The pool looks very nice from the outside, but is dirty when you get in. There are trees surrounding the pool (it's in the middle of a central courtyard) and there were constantly leaves in the pool. We also found band-aids, hair, etc in the pool. The sitting area under the trees is nice.

The restaurant in the hotel is open and has an amazing view of the beach at any time of day. The food is average, and I wasn't expecting much more from this hotel.

The staff do try to make your stay a pleasant one, but the rooms really do let the hotel down. The staff are constantly keeping the floors dry from all the pool water, and are always smiling at the front desk.

As an overnight stay, this hotel is fine, but I wouldn't recommend it for prolonged stays.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Arenas hotels

california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2008

What a great stay at the Tioga. I needed a place to stay before departing on a cruise from Puerto Caldera. (a $15 cab ride away) The young woman (Elliot?) at the front desk gave me a fantastic room with a balcony. It overlooked the beach and the Avenida de Touristas. There was free wireless internet in the lobby that worked great. There was also a free cooked to order breakfast included in the rate. My Dec.12 rate was $67.

I walked up and down and saw the other hotels on the Avenue. They did not compare. I can highly recommend this hotel.The staff, location, and price make this a winner in Puntarenas..

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank finjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Arenas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#8 of 20 in Punta Arenas
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Brisas
Hotel Las Brisas
#6 of 20 in Punta Arenas
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#7 of 20 in Punta Arenas
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
125.3 mi away
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
#9 of 20 in Punta Arenas
24 reviews
2.9 mi away
Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tioga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tioga

Property: Hotel Tioga
Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Punta Arenas 5400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tioga 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tioga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing