We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tioga
Nearby Hotels
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Mar y Mar(Punta Arenas)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina(Punta Arenas)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Alamar(Punta Arenas)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finca Cantarana(Punta Arenas)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Sol Puntarenas(Punta Arenas)(Great Value!)
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$285
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Mirador Osa(Punta Arenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Alamar Aparthotel(Punta Arenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
10
22
25
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
22
25
16
12
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 85 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent a very nice few days at this hotel. There is nothing fancy here. We had a balcony room on the fourth floor. The room was furnished fairly simply but was certainly adequate for a short stay. All of the staff were very friendly and exceedingly helpful. The complementary breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, rice & beans, bread, fresh fruit and drinks. It was a nice start to the day.

The hotel seems to cater more to Costa Ricans on holiday than to foreign tourists. In fact, that pretty much applies to the town in general. It was a great chance to mingle with local people rather than have the sanitized resort experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

As I've read from other reviews, this is "the only hotel on the beach". Unfortunately, this doesn't entail having nice rooms or common areas.

The rooms were small and cramped, and we found cockroaches in the shower both nights that we stayed there. As we were in a large group, I asked around and found that others had also found cockroaches in their bathrooms. The only plus side of the rooms was that there was an A/C and a TV with some American channels- although these varied from room to room.

The pool looks very nice from the outside, but is dirty when you get in. There are trees surrounding the pool (it's in the middle of a central courtyard) and there were constantly leaves in the pool. We also found band-aids, hair, etc in the pool. The sitting area under the trees is nice.

The restaurant in the hotel is open and has an amazing view of the beach at any time of day. The food is average, and I wasn't expecting much more from this hotel.

The staff do try to make your stay a pleasant one, but the rooms really do let the hotel down. The staff are constantly keeping the floors dry from all the pool water, and are always smiling at the front desk.

As an overnight stay, this hotel is fine, but I wouldn't recommend it for prolonged stays.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2008

What a great stay at the Tioga. I needed a place to stay before departing on a cruise from Puerto Caldera. (a $15 cab ride away) The young woman (Elliot?) at the front desk gave me a fantastic room with a balcony. It overlooked the beach and the Avenida de Touristas. There was free wireless internet in the lobby that worked great. There was also a free cooked to order breakfast included in the rate. My Dec.12 rate was $67.

I walked up and down and saw the other hotels on the Avenue. They did not compare. I can highly recommend this hotel.The staff, location, and price make this a winner in Puntarenas..

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank finjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews