We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Chorotega

Gran Hotel Chorotega
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puntarenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gran Hotel Chorotega
Save
You added Gran Hotel Chorotega to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Puntarenas
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of October with my husband. The room was small but comfortable with AC, fan, and cable TV. The bathroom was shared but only with the people in the room next to us (which was empty so essentially we had a private bathroom.) Price was $38 per night which I thought was a fair price considering the AC was included.

We had a good stay, no problems with anything. The hotel is in a good location, walking distance from the Ferry and Bus Station close to restaurants, stores and the tourist beach.

I do feel that the hotel couldn't hurt to expand their services a bit to provide in room WIFI and a continental breakfast considering the price. Not to mention that Puntarenas isn't a tourist destination, only a stopover to wherever you're going next. Because of this I was really surprised at the general cost of the hotels in this area. This absolutely was the cheapest one and I couldn't believe it considering you can pay the same price or a bit cheaper in the nice beach towns. Anyways, C'est la vie.

If we had to stay in Puntarenas again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pricey at $40 for a room with shared bathroom- we stayed a couple of nights only, we could hear the loud tv next door and the smoke drifted to our room all night. Rooms are tiny and you can't control the a/c temperature. Is clean tho. Check the prices is a lot more expensive than what they say.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Clean rooms. AC. Even TV.

At $28/night, it's a little pricey, but if you're stuck in Puntarenas for a night (and let's face it, if you're in Puntarenas for a night, you're probably stuck), it's better than most other options. Certainly better than the $18/night brothels & the $64/night quasi-glam spots.

Simple & efficient & nothing more. It does the trick, and it's in the middle of everything (post office, banks, shops, etc).

Get yourself a beer from the Mini Super & a casado from the local soda (EXCELLENT), run a couple of errands & hole up until morning.

Room Tip: room #6 & #1 are right next to the bathroom. helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mateo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

Just a very average hotel. Was clean and cheap. Had AC and cable TV. Close to many resteraunts, shops, banks and internet cafes. No complaints and I would stay there again.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank plum93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puntarenas hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#6 of 23 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
Oleaje Sereno Hotel
#10 of 23 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#3 of 23 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#11 of 23 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portobello
Hotel Portobello
#17 of 23 in Puntarenas
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#12 of 23 in Puntarenas
3.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Chorotega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Chorotega

Property: Gran Hotel Chorotega
Address: Diagonal To Banco Nacional, Puntarenas 60101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean rooms at affordable prices right in the heart of Puntarenas. Many individuals that have visited this hotel come back. They typically stay for months at a time. Some rooms have cable TV, air conditioning and private bathroom. Other rooms have a shared bathroom with the option of cable TV. No phones in the room. There is parking. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, approximately 300 meters (~1000 Feet). You can find banks, restaurants, and the bus and ferri boat stations within a few minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is located diagonally of the Banco Nacional in Puntarenas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing