We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michael's Surfside Hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Michael's Surfside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Chugiak, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Michael's Surfside Hotel”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

the perfect location and more than reasonably prices, Michael's Surfside Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Puntarenas! There are looong stretches of beach right across the street, gambling casinos and good restaurants all around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth99567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    24
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
30
42
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

As a traveling company we have been using Michael's Surfside Hotel for several years and we have not complaints at all about the hotel, service and Michael's kindness. We have taken groups of teenagers to this hotel during the summer and everything has been always a good experience. If you are traveling to Puntarenas or taking groups to the Central Pacific of Costa Rica this is a really good place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank RusticPathways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This oceanfront hotel exceeded my expectations, and the owner/employees went above and beyond during my 9 day stay in Puntarenas last month. Michael is super pleasant and extremely accommodating! He assisted us with arranging for a guided tour of the area, and was always available to answer all the stupid questions that we tourists have. The room we stayed in was upstairs, and since this hotel is right on the water, our view was spectacular! The breeze was perfect so that AC was not necessary, however, the AC unit in the room cooled everything down in an instant on the one night we used it. The pool area was a total delight, and this entire property was totally immaculate. There is secured parking on the property, and we felt totally safe here. I would absolutely come again! Its proximity to the ferry, restaurants and shopping made it to where we never even had to use our rental car. I noticed a review here about bugs and mold smell, neither of which I noticed at all whatsoever. They also complained about a bed skirt problem, which I am sorry to say, I did not notice this being an issue. Thank you for the best stay ever and I look forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori925441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

It is right up the street from the Ferry, (I assume that is why you are in Puntarenas). Great stop over. Great pool, easy in and out. Mike is very accommodating to all your needs. Great place for the room rate. It is too bad that TripAdviser will let bad reviews stand, Where there is no evidence of the reviewer actually staying at the place or even the competing Hotel up the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WeaselSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Michael's Surfside Hotel for 10 days in October and absolutely agree with the vast majority of the reviewers that it was nothing but a positive experience. Michael and his staff are wonderful people and would ensure that your stay is enjoyable and pleasant. In response to another review and after having toured all the rooms, I did not experience any mold smell whatsoever but only the smell of cleaning products as all the rooms are kept clean and well presented. Nor did I see any dungeons or dragons for that matter however there is a monkey living in the office. I may seen bugs but I see them where I live which very close to a lake and it is not even in the tropics. During my stay I was asked repeatedly how my room was and if there was anything that they could do. That said, if the guest had mentioned the bug concern or that the bed skirt was not up to their standards it would have been corrected immediately.
Puntarenas is a beach town that the Costa Rican people come to enjoy their leisure time and where cruise ships dock for excursions. There are always events happening including a stone sculpture contest on the beach and a marching band event held through the town while I was there. Unfortunately I missed the airshow that was held just after I had left. Michael's Surfside Hotel is located in a quiet area right across from the beach. The ocean front scenery was quite spectacular and serene. There are numerous restaurants within a very short walk from the hotel and the centre of town is well within walking distance.
Micheal took myself and another guest for a day excursion that included visiting a monkey sanctuary which should not be missed, a trip up the mountains, the alligator bridge and to a point high up overlooking the ocean and the lush jungle to enjoy the truly breath taking beautiful scenery.
Micheal's Hotel is definitely the place to stay if you are looking for very reasonably priced accomodation wanting to spend your budget dollars on excursions and adventures while in the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Suite and the room beside it both overlooking the ocean. Both recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetranger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Micheal the owner was nice however the room we stayed in was awful. Mold smell, we had thin sheets on the bed with no mattress cover ....gross!! Dead bugs all behind the bed. The bed skirt on the single bed was filthy. The swimming pool and area was nice. I chose this hotel because of reviews and pictures but not sure where some of those pictures were taken because are room was nothing like that, we felt like we were in a dungeon! Would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Korn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammerheadswamp, Owner at Michael's Surfside Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Sometimes you have to wonder. Who were these people? I and my employees always ask our guests to let us know if anything is needed or out of order when they check in. We also inquire about their room and stay when they are checking out. That is standard policy. This is a small hotel and it would be nearly impossible to miss something like that. Why didn't they something before? Why are they impossible to contact?
As far as any smell in the rooms, it is not mildew. It may be fresh paint because we are always maintaining the place.
We use thin sheets here because of the tropical climate. Flannel is not acceptable. And we do offer blankets for those who like the cold A/C.
All mattresses have a mattress cover. And we clean the rooms thoroughly daily. I even have separate employees paid to verify the rooms are cleaned properly.
All of the pictures of my rooms are current. All of the rooms are different with a variety of options. Except I do not have a dungeon room. All of my rooms have large windows with sufficient lighting and ventilation.
If anyone experiences problems in my hotel I want to know about it so I can address and correct it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I needed a night on our way to Nicoya, & didn't need anything special. Michael took my reservation over the phone & until we arrived - too early - I'd not had previous contact with him. He let us have the room at 1:30, let us use the hotel's clothesline & put our things in the dryer when that wasn't sufficient. I didn't ask, he just did it. The room was simple, clean & had plenty of amenities that would encourage me to use it for a longer stay, as we could cook there & have a fridge. My mattress had seen better days, but since I sleep on a futon I found a comfy depression without much problem. Perfect for the non-resort sort!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah1598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Brisas
Hotel Las Brisas
#5 of 20 in Punta Arenas
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#8 of 20 in Punta Arenas
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 20 in Punta Arenas
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tioga
Hotel Tioga
#12 of 20 in Punta Arenas
72 reviews
7.2 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
0.8 mi away
Hotel Don Robert
Hotel Don Robert
#6 of 15 in Punta Arenas
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Surfside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Surfside Hotel

Property: Michael's Surfside Hotel
Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Punta Arenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet hotel on the beach, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Gulf of Nicoya, Mountains and islands of Nicoya. All rooms include A/C, cable TV, WiFi Internet service, Kitchenettes, private bathrooms with hot water and some with jacuzzi. Swimming pool and secured covered parking on location included. Lowest comparable prices. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing