We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place and good people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Surfside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michael's Surfside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Puntarenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dillon, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place and good people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Michael's surfside hotel is a great place to stay. The people are great and the beach is like 50 feet from the front of the hotel. It's well worth the price that you pay.The hotel has Air conditioning, WiFi and a swimming pool. Michael can also get discounts on many different adventure trips throughout Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M6rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    24
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
29
41
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The decision to stay at Michael's was an easy one - The reasonable rates and the location! When my girlfriend and I checked in, we were a little disappointed that the pool was under construction (it should be finished now), but the beach was literally right across the street. The water temperature in May was absolutely amazing! Michael recommended taking the Calypso Cruise leaving from Victoria Park, approximately 1/2 a mile from the hotel, and ended up being the most memorable part of our stay in Costa Rica. During our four day stay, we had just enough time to relax, check out several of the restaurants and bars in Puntarenas, and make our way back to the airport.

So what? Puntarenas is conveniently located a short ferry ride from the Nicoya peninsula (the ferry departs three blocks from the hotel) where there are plenty of things to see, and is about a 1.5 hour drive from Quepos and the Manuel Antonio National Park. If you are looking for pleasant and economical lodging, Michael's Surfside Hotel allows you to save a little cash. If you are looking for an all-inclusive resort, the DoubleTree by Hilton is right around the corner. Be prepared to pay premium for the DoubleTree.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungry Horse, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very clean hotel with relaxing pool area and great location. We had a car but really did not need it once we arrived. Michael and his staff are very kind and helpful. The ocean is just across the street and the ferry is only a couple of blocks over. Great Value!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDHarris50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Michael welcomed us enthusiastically to his hotel. Its a 8 min walk from the ferry, which is the main reason tourists come to this town. The room was clean, with cable TV, A/C, fridge and hot plates. There is a pool with a pleasant open area around it to relax. The hotel is opposite a boardwalk that overlooks the ocean.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So difficult to review this hotel because it's not luxurious (if you are looking for that), BUT ....overall WHO CARES! This is a great place to stay because the owner - Michael - makes your stay pleasant. He doesn't "eat out" much so don't expect restaurant reviews - DO EXPECT excellent service and kindness (including good advice about any little old emergency you might encounter). Puntarenas isn't our idea of a "destination vacation" but this hotel makes it better than you might expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H_Chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went to Puntarenas to meet a cruise ship that my brother and his wife would be on visiting Puntarenas. What a pleasant surprise to find Michaels Surfside Hotel on the internet before I went there. The hotel is very clean, well managed and strong on customer service. The pool and patio was great with a nice ocean breeze for the hot afternoons to relax. I ended up saying beyond my brothers departure because of the hotel. Many places to eat and shop or just to stroll on the beach. It is a beach hotel, but one of the best I have ever stayed in and I'm from Florida. I will be back for many more getaway trips to the beach.

Room Tip: Being single I had a small room there is one iwth a balcony view of the pool, excellent....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weed, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent a few days in Puntarenas. We were very lucky to find Michael's Surfside Hotel. Michael, as well as his friendly staff, made us feel right at home. The hotel is very clean, quiet, and right across the street from the beach. We highly recommend it. If we go back that way, we'll definitely stay at Michael's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puntarenas hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#2 of 22 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#8 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#9 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#10 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
7.2 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
3.2 mi away
Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Surfside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Surfside Hotel

Property: Michael's Surfside Hotel
Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet hotel on the beach, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Gulf of Nicoya, Mountains and islands of Nicoya. All rooms include A/C, cable TV, WiFi Internet service, Kitchenettes, private bathrooms with hot water and some with jacuzzi. Swimming pool and secured covered parking on location included. Lowest comparable prices. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing