We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainforest paradise for adventurous nature lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danta Corcovado Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rainforest paradise for adventurous nature lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

(Previous review: May 18, 2013) This was my 2nd stay at Danta Corcovado Lodge, and I just absolutely adore this place. If you appreciate the natural beauty that the tropical rainforest has to offer, enjoy jungle wildlife (some of which will almost undoubtedly appear in your open-air bathroom/shower at some point,) can handle high temperatures and humidity, and are up for some vigorous and challenging hiking on 4 kilometers of well-marked (if at times quite steep and rugged) trails through breathtaking primary and secondary forest that adjoins Corcovado National Park, then this is the place for you. I stayed in the most remote bungalow (Cherenga,) about a 5-minute walk from the main lodge/dining area, and just steps from the trailhead, and I loved it. The food at the Lodge is delicious, and the accommodations are simple, yet artistic, and well worth the price due to the gorgeous forest setting, and the proximity to excellent hiking. If you are unfamiliar with tropical American flora and fauna, you may wish to hire a guide to take you into Corcovado National Park itself; (if so, I would recommend Andrey, one of the excellent Danta Lodge staff,) but I personally prefer to guide myself, which the Lodge's well-marked trails easily allow one to do. If you do choose to hike the Lodge trails (which I highly recommend,) here are some tips: bring a walking stick - you'll be glad you have it (they are available near the front desk area, by the rubber boots, which are also free to guests - I haven't yet needed to use the latter;) bring your own headlamp or flashlight, you'll need it for navigating the trails (even just to your lodgings) at night; wear good walking/hiking shoes; carry at least 40 oz. of water with you (4 kilometers doesn't sound like much of a distance, but with the heat, humidity and steep elevation gains, you'll be amazed at how much sweating your body is capable of;) stay on the trails; go slowly, cautiously (watch where you are stepping, lead with your walking stick - there are several lovely species of venomous snakes, both pit vipers and coral snakes, endemic to the area) and quietly (listen for the sounds of falling fruit/rustling leaves, which often indicate a troop of Squirrel or Howler monkeys, or birds like toucans, are in the canopy above.) The wildlife is spectacular, but often small and well-camouflaged (easily missed if you aren't paying attention,) so stop, look and listen frequently, and you should be rewarded with some amazing sights. Happy trails!

Room Tip: If you appreciate solitude in the jungle, and don't mind a bit of a walk, then book a bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MsAnneThrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    22
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
67
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portimao
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a great stay we had in the Danta Corcovado Lodge!! A very nice lodge (the bathroom outside!), great food and lovely people. Our trip to the Cascade with terrific guide Jairo made our stay unforgettable. Driving through the river with our Jimny 4x4 :-).
This stay is certainly one of the highlights of our stay in Costa Rica!
Arthur and Marleen, Portugal

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LenaPortimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you are adventurous enough and want to try something different this is the place. Make sure you are comfortable with humidity, being in the rainforest where there are things that live that may make you uncomfortable and if all of that works for you then this is the place. They do an excellent job of service, food is tremendous and beautiful lodging.

We stayed at the Martilla cabin and the washroom is a 1/2 wall looking into the rainforest. It is surreal. The first morning we had a visitor leave us a present by the toilet - likely a bird that needed a drink.

We walked the trails with a lady from Colorado Lisa - nuts about snakes - and we were rewarded with some excellent encounters including a family of howler monkeys that was just outstanding. Walking 4 kms is not much in distance but there is elevation and 90% humidity or more and 30C + temps. It can wear you out.

My partner who is by her own admission a bit of a princess enjoyed this place although she got sick the last day.

I booked this place because of the reviews on trip advisor. You should do the same. You won't regret it.

For many this will be a once in a life time opportunity. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try and get a cabin in the woods. It's far more interesting than the house or green egg by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OestreichA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Danta by way of the package with Saladero Lodge. It was an amazing experience. The cabins are unique. The cries of animals kept us enthralled. We toured Corcovado with one of the guides, Jairo, who was careful and genuinely interested in the natural surroundings. The food was good too. Our only complaint would be the packed lunch for a hiking trip. It was a white bread, soggy sandwich. Compared to their usual standards, it was disappointing. Perhaps they could do a more typical Tico meal. But besides that, we saw an amazing array of animals, including a stubborn fer de lance on the path between our cabin and the main lodge. Highly recommended place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huastecatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My two friends and I spent four nights at Danta Lodge over the Christmas week. Getting to the lodge can be a bit of a challenge on the rocky dirt roads, a 4x4 would be required during the rainy season. Luckily we arrived during the dry season when the roads were dry and the lodge was easily accessible. The lodge was phenomenal. The service was outstanding. Nelson the host, Merlin the owner and other staff people were all very friendly and accommodating. The food was good. The cocktails were great. We rented the two-bedroom house. The the rates were fair. The level of detail and the design of the house & furniture were truly impressive. The outdoor shower was a real treat. The kitchen contains some of the basics for light cooking. The beds were comfortable and linens were clean. Some bugs did make their way into the house and the bed but afterall this is a rainforest. Unfortunately there were some cons I should mention some of which are easily remedied others not. If you get the breakfast plan, expect very little food. Although what was served was delicious they could expand their breakfast menu to include some hardier selections. Dinner & lunch were delicious but a bit expensive for what we got. The lodge is located about 30 mins north of Puerto Jimenez and located on the outskirts of a small town called Guadalupe which has homes, people, roads and noise. If you stay in the house, expect some noise from the next door neighbors. Since the house has no windows but rather screens, we could clearly hear the neighbors conversations and televisions. It became a little annoying when trying to nap or sleep in. The smaller bungalows are probably quieter. Also, don't expect too many animals visiting you since the lodge is located to close to civilization.



As we arrived we were greeted by the host Nelson.We were given a tour of the grounds and shown to our house. We rented the two-bedroom house which can sleep 5 comfortably. The grounds and our house was amazing. The amount of

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxx32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights (with a combination package from Saladero Eco-Lodge, which we also gave five stars). We had a wonderful time at Danta, Merlyn and his entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Titu bungalow, which was a nice quiet walk from the main lodge. You are in the rainforest and hear all the sounds of it during the night, it's a very cool experience. There were always monkeys swinging around in the trees right outside our door. Danta lodge prides itself of sustainability and they take great effort to make sure everything is locally sourced. The lodge and all the furnishings are hand crafted by Merlyn and others, and are a perfect touch to give you that feeling that you are in the middle of the rainforest. The food was excellent for every meal (we got the meal plan as there isn't too much around and we did not have a car), the chef does a great job of using locally sourced food. We did the night hike and saw many frogs, snakes, turtles and even a caiman. We also did the chocolate tour (fantastic) and the all-day hike, which was quite a memorable experience. Our guide, Andre, was well-versed in the landscape, flora and fauna. He really made the trip extra-special in our opinion. It was a long, fun day and we would do it again in a heartbeat. If you want to relax and enjoy the rainforest, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Bungalows are private and away from the main lodge. You get light in the room at all times and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent one night at Danta near the end of our recent trip to the Osa Peninsula. The lodge is beautiful (we stayed in the family house). We spent some time talking with owner Merlin, who has done much of the design and building. We appreciatde the great attention to environmental issues, and especially enjoyed the many creative, artistic touches. The food was wonderful. They have an extensive network of trails (which we unfortunately just explored briefly--we had just hiked 12 miles out of Sirena the day before, and were sore!) We highly recommend Danta!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Trina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
11.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#5 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danta Corcovado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danta Corcovado Lodge

Property: Danta Corcovado Lodge
Address: La Palma, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Danta Corcovado Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danta Corcovado Lodge is a uniquely designed lodge with Costa Rican flair and a concern for the rain forest. Nothing goes to waste because Merlyn is the wizard of creativity and design. step into a world of tranquility, and be amazed by all of the natural touches of the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danta Corcovado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danta Corcovado Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing