We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ecolodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danta Corcovado Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent one night at Danta near the end of our recent trip to the Osa Peninsula. The lodge is beautiful (we stayed in the family house). We spent some time talking with owner Merlin, who has done much of the design and building. We appreciatde the great attention to environmental issues, and especially enjoyed the many creative, artistic touches. The food was wonderful. They have an extensive network of trails (which we unfortunately just explored briefly--we had just hiked 12 miles out of Sirena the day before, and were sore!) We highly recommend Danta!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Trina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was my second stay at Danta Corcovado Lodge. Everything about Danta is first class. The bungalows have their own special features and individual charms. The bungalows allow you privacy as you enjoy the wildlife sounds and sights. The bathrooms are unique and actually quite beautiful. Within a short walk you are at the main lodge where the service is spectacular. The staff make sure you are comfortable and have all you need. The food is delicious for every meal. The care and detail to each meal is evident in its presentation and taste. The cocktails are each hand crafted and another example of the staff's dedication to the guests. I would highly recommend staying at Danta Corcovado Lodge while visiting the Osa Peninsula

Stayed: May 2013
4  Thank Kyla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my 5th year to stay at Danta Corcovado Lodge. This lodge has the perfect combination of location, beauty, and solitude to make for an unforgettable experience. It is located in the rain forests of the Osa Peninsula in the southwest corner of Costa Rica. The bungalows and common areas of the lodge possess the marks of the truly artistic craftsmanship of the owner and the staff. They do amazing things with wood! The food is amazing and the well-stocked bar adds to the experience. The location of the bungalows in the rain forest makes for a truly special experience of sleeping and waking to the sounds of the frogs, birds, and other wildlife of the rain forest. The well-marked trail system and local roads are great for nature lovers and especially for bird watchers. As I have returned to this location year after year my love of this place on the earth has only grown. Give yourself the gift of this special and memorable experience. Add a side trip into the wonders of the Corcovado National Park that is next door. Or explore the mangrove swamps along the beautiful Golfo Dulce in a kayak. Meet the local residents of the neighboring village. Or do nothing but relax in one of the most beautiful and relaxing locations on the planet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I loved my stay! My cabin was beautiful and I appreciated getting to walk through the forest a little to get to it. I made sure to visit all the cabins to see their uniqueness. Getting to fall asleep to the sounds of nature is such a treat. The food was great. I only eat fish and otherwise I eat a vegetarian diet, and they accommodated my picky eating very well. I will gladly go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: I loved my room because it didn't have walls. Just the translucent curtains. That suited me just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank climberyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently spent the 2nd week of May at Danta Corcovado Lodge, and I had an absolutely wonderful time there. I especially appreciated the fact that they have 4 kilometers of well-marked (if sometimes challenging) trails on the property (which adjoins Corcovado National Park) through what I found to be the most beautiful rainforest I'd ever seen (and I've been to extremely remote wilderness areas in the Peruvian Amazon on 4 occasions.) I personally never found it necessary to enter the National Park on this trip, as I saw over 70 different species of wildlife on the lodge property (including squirrel, capuchin and howler monkeys, coatimundi, a variety of tree frogs, king vultures, scarlet macaws, 2 types of poison dart frogs, cat-eyed snakes, numerous lizard species, and spectacled caiman, just to name a few.) Brilliant blue morpho butterflies were also extremely common, as were many other butterfly and moth species. In fact, the only species that was totally absent (much to my delight) was Homo sapiens; I never encountered another person on any of my hikes on the outer trails, nor did I ever see a single piece of trash on any of the trails. (Some advice regarding these trails: the terrain can be fairly rugged, the hard red clay earth becomes extremely slick when wet, and in places the trail is very narrow and steep; wear suitable hiking boots, be cautious and take your time. I found the walking stick that Nelson gave to me before my first outing to be absolutely indispensable, and I carried it with me everywhere but to the bathroom and restaurant!)
In addition to the walking stick, I also appreciated some of the other helpful little amenities that the Lodge offers to guests, such as umbrellas, rubber boots and flashlights (though I always bring my own inexpensive little headlamp to the jungle for viewing wildlife at night, which leaves my hands free for operating a camera, climbing up a muddy embankment, and/or waving away mosquitos.) And after a day spent marinating in my own sweat, mud, and various applications of oily insect repellent, the pleasure of being able to have a nice hot shower each evening was almost indescribably wonderful.
The staff people that I encountered were all very friendly, professional and accommodating, the food was delicious, and the unique lodgings and decor (much of which is handcrafted) were simply amazing. I was so impressed that I booked my next stay (for January) the morning before I left, and I can hardly wait to get back there.
If you appreciate the natural beauty that the tropical rainforest has to offer, and are up for some vigorous and challenging hiking, Danta Corcovado Lodge should be part of your Costa Rica itinerary.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MsAnneThrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Out of the way, out of the ordinary place on a dirt road in the jungle, this unusual spot offers beautiful jungle trails and villas isolated along some of those trails. Remarkable wood and ceramic constructions in the villas, including a panther holding the showerhead, chairs made from the trunks of trees, bedsteads made to look like wooden spiderwebs. Meals are expensive, and tours offered here are extremely expensive. Should be more eco-friendly by not penalizing those who arrive by other than private car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in one of their standard rooms (rana room) and were beyond delighted with the handmade furniture and one-of-a-kind outdoor bathroom. Food was excellent and staff were very accommodating when I explained I couldn't eat dairy. The bar is open throughout the day if you want to cool down with a cold cerveza or care for a glass of wine, mixed drink, fruit juice, etc. They even did a load of laundry for us ($3.50/kg), arranged transfers to and from Puerto Jimenez and helped us book a car for San Jose. 5+ stars for service!

With regard to the negative reviews: If you're expecting A/C, look elsewhere. Between the fans and cool showers, we were mostly comfortable. The Osa Peninsula is pretty humid and there's not much you can do about it... I wouldn't say it's the lodge's fault. Arrive with a sense of adventure and you'll have a great time.

There are 3-4 km of trails to hike on the property though we preferred the walk into La Palma for exercise, which is especially nice just before dusk. Corcovado isn't too far away (90 mins to Carate, near La Leona). Consider making plans for a multi-day hike prior to your stay. We made private arrangements with a guide in Puerto Jimenez.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
1.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
11.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
173 reviews
9.6 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danta Corcovado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danta Corcovado Lodge

Address: Guadalupe, La palma de Puerto Jimenez, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: $103 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Danta Corcovado Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danta Corcovado Lodge is a uniquely designed lodge with Costa Rican flair and a concern for the rain forest. Nothing goes to waste because Merlyn is the wizard of creativity and design. step into a world of tranquility, and be amazed by all of the natural touches of the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Danta Corcovado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danta Corcovado Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing