We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Danta Corcovado Lodge
Nearby Hotels
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Tropicales(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$50
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas The Corner(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Cacao Monkeys(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$75
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Inn Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bolita Hostel(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
129
27
5
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
27
5
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos patosnight walknight toursecondary forestla leonaoutdoor bathroomthe ownerosa peninsulacosta ricahand madeindividual bungalowsbirding packagethe red eyed tree froghighly recommended placeminimal impactviewing platformsustainable tourism
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 169 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2012

"Rooms" are really individual open-air cabins, each separated by jungle from one another, and enclosed in heavy netting. All furnishings are handcrafted from local materials. The bathrooms are truly unique, large, and comfortable. The main lodge and bar are comfortable. Owners are friendly, food is very good. Icey cold beer available after a hot jungle hike. We saw so much wildlife while there right from our cabins and on the walkways to our cabins. Danta Lodge is an example of eco tourism at its best. Don't miss the opportunity to experience these accommodations.

Room Tip: All rooms are separated from one another by jungle. Plan to be awakened to the sounds of the wildlife--its a lovely experience.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stronglyretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The GPS coordinates are of the office; they have 6m accuracy.

We loved Danta Lodge. Other than game camps in Botswana, it’s probably the coolest place we’ve ever stayed. Titi cabin is like being completely alone in the jungle.

The “outdoor” bathrooms are a delight – they’re part of the cabin but the walls are open at the top and you can see the jungle while showering. But you’ll want to keep the door to the main part of the cabin closed – especially if it’s night and the light’s on in the bathroom. It’s the rainforest; there are bugs here.

There are miles of trails to explore on your own around the property. Pay attention, though; some of the signs are a bit vague. It gets dark very quickly.

The mangrove tour is fun but avoid the double kayak. It’s really hard to paddle and to steer. The single kayaks are lots better.

The zip line (canopy tour) recommended by Danta is an easy introduction to other canopy tours in Costa Rica. It’s fun and easy and includes a few nice walks through the forest with a guide. The guides are very safety-conscious; there was never a moment when I was not clipped to something. Make sure you look down as you’re sailing over the canopy. Take your camera(s) and let the guides take pictures of you.

Danta Lodge’s first appearance when you drive into the parking area belies how nice it is.

Do the night walk with a guide. He’ll find things you’ll walk right by.

Go to Los Patos Ranger Station (GPS = N8d 34.363’ W83d 30.59’) with a guide; let him drive. The “road” is down the river bed and involves numerous water crossings. Swim in the waterfall.

Danta provides rubber boots but you’ll be happier with your own hiking boots. A pair of water shoes or well-fitting flip flops are nice to have to protect your tender gringo feet when wading the streams on the Los Patos trip.

The unbelievably loud bird – the first one you’ll hear in the morning – is a spotted wood quail. Listen here:
http://www.xeno-canto.org/sounds/uploaded/CDTGHVBGZP/Wood-quail2009-3-22-1part1.mp3

Room Tip: The bungalows give the impression of being entirely alone in the jungle -- we loved Titi. You will have to walk the paths with a flashlight at night to and fro the lodge, however.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LH314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed here with a group for 3 nights. The staff are so courteous and helpful and remembered all the names in my group of 14! Merlin the owner talked to our group about the history and his passion for sustainability. You will be amazed by all the wood work and creative furniture and the wooden snake on the path to the dining area == looks so real! This place is a slice of paradise. The individual rooms are so creative and you feel as if you are truly in the rainforst. Don't miss a hike on the trails or seeing the great documentary "Cracking the Golden Egg" about responsible tourism in Costa Rica. This place is pure "pura vida!"

Room Tip: Every room has its own charm and individuality!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kathgtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Danta lodge is a beautiful place, clearly built by creative people. The surroundings are superb (not only rainforest nearby, also beach and mangrove forest!!). With our young kids (6, 8 and 11 years) we decided not to go for a daytrip into the National Park. But we enjoyed the Danta own forest. And we went on a kayakking trip with a guide into the Mangrove forest. This was really great and so was the night tour at the lodge with guide Andre. We saw many animals during the 3 days that we stayed at the lodge (frogs, snakes, caiman, turtle, monkeys, sloth, etc). Prices for lodge, food and tours are relatively high.
We stayed at one of the bungalows in the forest. Really unique and with a true rainforest experience. For the children, the nights were a bit stressful: dark, many noices, but mostly the big spiders in the bungalow. They came through the holes in the wall (via a rotten pillar). Not dangerous, but huge!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vanderweide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Unfortunately, my experience was quite unlike these reviews. Yes, the ambience was wonderful and the cabins truly unique. The staff were excellent and most helpful. However, the owner did not even bother to greet me but just called over one of the staff when I showed up at the reception desk. I was there for 5 days and only did Merlyn bother to even acknowledge my existence and that was only because the reception attendant at the time did not speak enough English or me enough Spanish to be understood. I was the only guest the entire time so one would think he could have extended himself a little. The food was outrageously expensive with prices comparable to prices in the US. No where else in Costa Rica did a local beer cost $3.50. Lunch was $11.00 and dinner was $16.00. Since that was far too expensive for my pocketbook I took a taxi to a small store a few miles away and bought some non-perishable items to eat separately. Then I would eat the gratis breakfast and skip lunch and dinner at the lodge. Eating at the lodge was not very pleasant in any case since there was some construction going on was extremely loud. Even in my bungalow I could hear all the noise of hammering, sawing, and pressure washing so a quiet jungle experience was not to be had. Since I was solo was forced to pay double for any of the tours. This meant I only took the two least expensive since I was paying so much for them. I did enjoy the night tour and the guide was extremely knowleable. I was fortunate in that there eas an independent tour guide on the Osa shuttle from San Jose to the lodge so I was able to get onto one of his tours for less than it would have cost me for a regular double tour price ($65.00 versus $98.00) at the lodge.

If you have lots of money to spend on food then by all means stay here. Otherwise, find somewhere else since there is nothing else to eat anywhere close by. Be sure you are not solo or plan on paying over $180.00 for a single tour.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
5  Thank Safarigirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews