We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house and hosts !!!”
other travelers have booked this property
bedroom with king bed and surrounded with windows
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom with king bed and surrounded with windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
bedroom with king bed and surrounded with windows
Outdoor patio
Loft bedroom with 4xmatrimonial beds 2 upstairs 2 downstairs
Kitchen ready to cook a feast
Loft bedroom with 4xmatrimonial beds 2 upstairs 2 downstairs
Main bathroom with double shower in an enclosed garden
Main bathroom with double shower in an enclosed garden
Front entrance and porch
Dinning table
Breakfast bar adjoining kitchen
Front entrance and porch
Master bedroom with adjoining bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Fred53Lyo...
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Wonderful house and hosts !!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A big nice comfy house,calm, wild surroundings (monkeys, birds, slots...)
Very close to the beach and two restaurants.
The little town of Puerto Jimenez is at 10mn by car, with supermarket, groceries, drogueries, nice restaurants, banks...
A very warm welcome.Hosts are always friendly,helpful.
Surfing, fishing, kayaking... Giovanni is here for you.
Everything you want to relax.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
Than you so much Fred it was a pleasure having you stay in our house and sharing fishing tales with you. We are glad you enjoyed your kayak fishing and the calmness of the beach and jungle surrounding Casa Bella. We look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future.
Pura Vida,
Tracey and Gio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funkfarm
Sun Valley-Ketchum, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it!”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Great house, nice location and a beautiful beach just steps from the house. Gio and Tracey are wonderful, and every one of their recommendations were spot on. From our amazing taxi driver to the best boat captain in the area everything added up to a wonderful family vacation. We can't wait to return. Thank you Tracey and Gio!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
Thank you so much Candy, we are so glad your fishing adventures were successful, we lost count of how many rooster fish you caught!!! We believe in providing a full service rental house which includes making sure you have the best driver, guides, tour information and our assistance any time of the day or night.
Please come back and visit again, YOUR ALWAYS WELCOME..
Pura Vida,
Tracey and Gio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed at Casa Bella from April to May 2016 (six weeks) during a work-related trip to Costa Rica. Casa Bella is a beautiful place and the surrounding nature is simply amazing!! The casa is located near (just 2 walking minutes) an extensive beach which is great for both surfing and swimming. The house itself is well equipped even for an extended stay. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare your own meals, easy to clean and is in excellent condition. Same holds true for the spacious bathroom. During my visit I only used the lower level of the house. The house was way too big for one person but the price is really competitive so I decided to stay there.
The house is great – but the owners are even more amazing! Giovanni and Tracey are so welcoming, friendly and helpful in so many ways! Unbelievable! I will come back – that’s for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Daniel,
It was such a pleasure having you stay with us at Casa Bella, it felt more like we had a friend visiting rather than a paying guest. Your warm and kind demure placed a calm over the property and the plants and animals. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, sending you and your family love with the new born on the way.
Warm Regards & Pura Vida
Tracey and Gio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticofiel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great owners, very friendly and helpfull
Fantastic house, nice kitchen
100m from Paradise, palm beach, that seems to go on forever. Very quiet.
Surfing, fishing (succesfully) dolphin and whales seen in the bay
Only problem: not booked long enough! Hope to go there again!!

Peter van der Kooij - The Netherlands

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2016
Peter,
Thanks so much for coming to stay with us, we were very happy to have you!!! hope to see you soon.
Gio & Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree d
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Wow what a beautiful please!”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Pack your bags and tread yourself to a fantastic holiday when staying in Casa Bella with Giovanni and Tracey. Just 1 minute from the beach, the tropical rainforest all around you with musical sounds, animals, plants... Your hosts will do everything to make your stay perfect. A house for family's (with children) or a group of friends; it's all possible. Go and enjoy! Thanks to you both, it was really nice meeting you.

PS Giovanni provides detailed information about the little town, tours and directions before you arrive. During your stay you can ask him anything about tours - animals - beaches - surfing....
PS one bedroom and big bathroom downstairs/ 3 bedrooms + 1 bathroom upstairs

We all 5 really loved our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: real spacious - nice shower :-)
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
It was a pleasure having your family stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Pura Vida, Giovanni & Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We Found Paradise!!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I start??? From the second we drove up we were amazed by how beautiful the house and surroundings are. We came for a secluded, romantic and adventurous 40th birthday trip and hit the nail on the head! The house is incredibly large. It has plenty of room to let you spread out and get comfortable. The shower is enormous, and nothing feels better than a cold shower after a warm walk on the beach. If you're traveling in a large group Casa Bella can definitely accommodate you. And if you're like us, (just two) we loved the room. The kitchen was big enough to host a party, and the two hammocks on the front porch make a perfect place to relax and take your afternoon nap :). The beach is literally 30 seconds outside the front door. And talk about secluded!! I think in the whole week we were there that we only saw one other person on the beach. Now that's private!!! Every afternoon there are dozens of white faced monkeys in the trees literally 10 feet away. The Scarlet McCaws are around every corner waiting to greet you with their gorgeous colors. We even had a Tucan eating berries on our front porch. It has simply been an amazing and unforgettable experience. Town is just a 10 minute drive, and there are dozens of hole in the wall restaurants with cheap delicious food. The BMA is a local grocery store that sells pretty much anything you could need from water to beer. We strongly suggest bringing some Off Deep Woods mosquito repellent. After a good rain you'll be glad you have it.

The owners Giovanni and Tracey greeted us upon our arrival to give us a tour of the house and grounds. I've got to tell you that these are probably two of the most amazing people we've ever met. They were so incredibly kind and genuine. We came looking to rent a house by the beach, and ended up with 2 new friends! If there is anything you want to do, all you have to do is let them know and they arrange everything from the taxi (which was NEVER late) to the nicest tour guides you'll ever meet. We sat around and they taught us about the area, the animals and the history. If you're looking for privacy and Costa Rica, you can't go wrong getting in touch with these guys. Bring your bathing suit and plenty of sunscreen. Then get ready to kick back and enjoy the most incredible vacation you could ever dream of.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
To our new friends, it was such a pleasure meeting you, your lovely words about your stay with us have captured exactly the reasons why we choose to live here. till next time, Pura Vida Giovanni & Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffW195
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious Home, Beautiful Setting with the Perfect Host”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Casa Bella and Giovanni was the perfect host for our group of 7! He was friendly and helpful at every opportunity, and had a rich knowledge of the area and Costa Rica in general, and made us feel very welcome. We’ve stayed in vacation rentals in Costa Rica, Yucatan, Corsica, and multiple locations in the US, and we’ve never had a host that was as welcoming and helpful as Giovanni before! Among the various things he did to make us comfortable and enjoy our stay to the maximum were arranging 2 trips (fishing trip and a terrific birding/snorkeling trip); providing the perfect restaurant recommendations in Puerto Jimenez, cooking a delicious breakfast for us on our first morning, and teaching us how to identify and pick coconuts!

The beach was so close and so clean - - our daughters and their friends swam every day, and we loved the fantastic birding and wildlife. The hangout factor on the upstairs deck was great, as was the hammock and front porch. The ambiance was fantastic. Casa Bella is only about 10 minutes’ drive from Puerto Jimenez, but the location has a beautiful remote feeling. On the other hand, 2 eco-lodges are each about a 5 minute walk, and we enjoyed drinks, appetizers, and even a meal or two in the Iguana Lodge when we didn’t feel like cooking.

The rooms were all spacious, the kitchen was large as well, and the open layout was a delightful space for us to read, play board games and congregate for meals. The beds were in excellent condition, exceptionally comfortable for a vacation rental in our experience. We were disappointed to find the upstairs and downstairs floors are only connected via an outside walkway, but we became accustomed to this factor.

There are several smaller items we hope Meghan and Giovanni will consider to make their guests even more comfortable.

• Upstairs windows had no screens - - a bat came in one night, and it made using lights upstairs more difficult at night if you wanted to have the windows open for the cooling
• Light bulbs were far too dim – we could barely read in the dim light they provided
• Toilet hardware needs replacement – challenging to flush without the flapper staying open - - causing the well pump to run continuously
• Bed pillows were really in poor condition
• Bed linens were not consistently in good condition, one or more of our beds had holes in the sheets
• No hooks or closet to hang up clothes in the bedrooms
• # of bath towels inadequate for the number of guests – only one towel per guest for a week; no beach towels were provided
• The awnings were great but didn’t fully cover the stairs/walkway between the 2 floors, so that in a rain storm, one had to run thru a waterfall while going down a step
• No microwave in the kitchen; kitchen lacked amenities such as hand towels and oven mitts
• No written instructions for the house and it’s systems
• Noisy well pump – if it were contained in a soundproof box, it could be a lot quieter

Overall the important items for us were so positive, we would definitely consider another stay at Casa Bella – it’s such a wonderful retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Giovanni , beach access, spacious feeling
Liked least: no windows in upstairs windows, dim lighting
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2016
Dear Geoff,
It has taken a while to respond to you because we have been busy upgrading the house with all your suggestions in mind; new lights in living areas, new toilet hardware, new pillows, new hanging closets, new hand towels and mitts in the kitchen, written instructions for guests, water pump is now under ground so no pump sounds, and always working on improving all aspects of the house for our rental guests. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Gio and Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing