We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we'd stayed here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl of the Osa

The Pearl of the Osa
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pearl of the Osa to your Saves list
The Pearl of the Osa
Calle a Calle Platanares | Playa Patanares, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We wish we'd stayed here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at Agua Dulce, about 200m down the beach, rather than at Pearl of the Osa. We were discouraged by Trip Advisor reviews complaining about the noise. Those reviews were unfounded.

We ate at Pearl of the Osa every night. The restaurant is very good and even has two Costa Rican micro brews on draft. The open-air restaurant faces the beach and is delightfully quiet (except on Friday night). The kitchen closes about 8PM and only we and the bartender were there.

The rooms are above the restaurant. The locals gather on Friday nights for pasta and salsa dancing -- it's fun to watch. This is, of course, noisy...but it's only Friday nights.

It's a small place in a secluded setting just back from the beach. There is a clear view of the beach from the restaurant and the front rooms.

Pearl of the Osa is now known as the Iguana Lodge Club Rooms. It is part of neighboring (expensive) Iguana Lodge and is under their management.

See http://www.soldeosa.com/pearloftheosa/index.htm

Room Tip: You'll want to face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LH314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

If you are going to the Osa Peninsula you are better off staying in Matapola which is closer to all of the natural wonders you went there to see. The website comes across like these people are really friendly but it is their staff that is friendly not the owners. Which would be fine if the owners were not there! They act like they are doing you a favor to even talk to you and are just plain old stuck up. The breakfast is excellent and the chef epitomizes what Costa Rica is all about he is wonderful. One of the owners places herself on a couch every morning by the breakfast area and talks really loud in Spanish all through breakfast in a way that leaves you wondering if she is trying to showoff for you, yet she is very rude and too stuck up to even acknowledge you and say good morning as you walk by. Her husband is no better and is just as much of a snob. The owners still have no idea what Pura Vida is all about.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabelJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Jimenez hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

We stayed for one night on our way to Matapalo and that was more than enough. The room was spare and clean with a nice bathroom, but in my opinion, way over priced (and it was the low season). I think $50/night would have been fair. The food was average and the bartender was not very friendly, probably because we weren't indulging like the family of 15 from Texas sitting across from us. In fact, the bartender tacked on two glasses of wine and one glass of beer on our tab and we weren't even drinking liquor! I politely called it to her attention (in spanish) and she didn't apologize, just stubbornly adjusted the total. Her mistake---we are usually great tippers.

Breakfast at the Iguana (sister hotel next door) was pretty good and the staff seemed nicer there, probably because their rooms were double what we were paying. Other guests told us dinner at the Iguana was delicious, but pricey. Oh, and the rooms at the "Pearl" are right above the bar, so don't plan on going to bed early. I also recall the owner (he's American) making himself comfortable in the common area, while we were playing chess, and blabbing personal business on his cell phone, which I found to be rude and unprofessional. He didn't even throw us a smile.

My only fond memories were a long walk on the pretty beach (steps away from the hotel), the resident cats that were very friendly and happy to share the hammocks and the books and games available to guests of both hotels.

  • Liked — proximity to the ocean
  • Disliked — staff and price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

Stayed here for one night on our way home from the Osa. Its a nice motel with new nicely appointed rooms. I was pleasantly surprised with the nice bathrooms and comfortable beds . The owners were very friendly and hospitable to us. We had to catch an early flight the next am and she made sure the kids had french toast (freshly prepared) and fruit before we left, very kind. Our only beef was that the night we stayed there was "pasta night". Sounded benign enough when they told me about it at booking but it was unbearable for us. Pasta night involves the installation of a speaker the approximate size of a small volkswagon by a local DJ. Soon after the place is packed with 20 something locals for dancing and a lot of beer consumption.The speaker is turned up as high as it will go resulting in bone rattling sound. We had spent the previous week at a very special,back to nature quiet place with no tv, radio, cell phone etc. Needless to say this was a huge shock to our systems and continued until 10:00 pm (DJ removed small vw at 9:00). You couldn't retreat to the room as it is above the whole scene. We fled in a cab to a wonderful nearby restaurant Jade Luna (quite good) to pass the time. We returned to the motel at 8:45 or so and joined the rest of the occupants of our floor at the Iguana Lodge lobby waiting for the bone rattling "music" to stop. We returned to our room and a barrage of "f" bombs from below. As we were traveling with our three kids, we weren't happy. Pasta night will provide you with ear drum busting music and make you feel like you are in the middle of a frat party at full swing. If this doesn't appeal to you, as it didn't appeal to us, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Nice porch below with oceanviews for reading and playing games
  • Disliked — loud music/noise from bar scene below
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citymominthesuburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

You won't find a friendlier staff, anywhere in Costa Rica! Although the rooms are Spartan, the staff & excellent breakfast make up for it. The owners are responsive & knowledgable. The nightlife is fun, and they make you feel like a local. The dinner is fantastic, with fresh local seafood, and an outstanding chef. Need a drink after that long trip? Can't remember the name of bar, but ask a local how to get to Emillio's bar in nearby Puerto Jimenez. Also friendly. We also liked the food at "Juanita's" in Puerto Jimenez. Going to book my 3rd trip there again, today. Bring something for the no-seeums. They are brutal. Have fun! Mike & Jacqueline from New Mexico

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
Thank mrm565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

August 14, 2006 : The Pearl is a great place to stay if you don't want to spend the money at the Iguana. The location is a bit off the beaten path, so you would need a vehicle, taxi or bicycle to get there. But otherwise,if you're looking for a quiet place to stay, that is clean and has nice views, I totally recommend the Pearl. The beach is right there, the bar downstairs is open for meals and drinks and some of the locals come to eat there and hang out. There is a ping pong table for fun, and volleyball area near the beach front and plenty of hammocks to lie around in. The Pearl rooms are small, and during busy season there will be guests all around, but if you can be open to that, all the other space makes up for it. Plus, you get access to the main Iguana lodge which has a nice reading room, plenty of books on the local region and fiction/non fiction to read in case you forgot to bring your books. I recommend checking out what one of the Iguana rooms looks like while you're there. Who knows, you migh decide to upgrade!

The best thing: the staff is super nice !

  • Liked — the staff, the location - quiet area, beach area, un populated
  • Disliked — the meals can be expensive,more expensive then town; Tours are more expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — if you decide on a jungle/kayaking tour, make sure you have more than 1 person with you, otherwise it's expensive solo
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CostaRicaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

We stayed at Pearl of the Osa, the black sheep of these two hotel properties, which are 100m from each other. The Iguana looks very nice though more expensive than worth it from our opinion. The Pearl is safe and nice, if your not looking for much, but overpriced. The windows are just plastic screens, and the place just has a really cheap feel about it. But it's on the beach, and a few km's from town, so it's quiet. I'd recommend Parrot Bay over Pearl easily. We also got some food poisoning, but let's not go there..

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank goldfisharenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
2.8 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#8 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl of the Osa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl of the Osa

Property: The Pearl of the Osa
Address: Calle a Calle Platanares | Playa Patanares, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your The Pearl of the Osa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl Of Osa
The Pearl Of The Osa Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing