We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Iguana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iguana Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We travel two times per year with the family and have stayed at many places over the years and Iguana Lodge has it all. It is perfect, not too precious, not too manicured, perfect amount of attention, DELICIOUS food. Although we were not in love with Pasta night. The dinner on the beach and fire was magnificent. There is something here for every age. The beauty, the wildlife and lovely people, make it. The rooms were beyond luxurious. What can I say? In all our years of traveling, we have never return to a place again, not because it wasn't special, but more to discover new areas, but Iguana Lodge is our list to return.

Room Tip: I stayed in the club room overlooking the ocean, having no idea that this was the least popular and...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyBurhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Iguana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 436 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved your staff ... Gabriel so informative , Marthe, so helpful and Gabriel such a dancer. We enjoyed pasta/ salsa night!! Massage with Tracey was a complete delight.. The casita and outdoor shower were so sexy and we loved that...sarongs instead of towels at beach was innovative and being able to use their Stand up paddle board was generous. The pool and hammocks were so relaxing and beautifully laid out. The food was so creative and a welcome deviation from Gallo pinto. The common area and Rancho Lodge were so inviting with the books and art .
We enjoyed Lauren and Toby and their story and hope to make some volleyball dreams and an experience come true in near future. What they do for their community is exceptional. Lauren ... Thank you for tip on Lookout Hotel at Playa Tortuga near playa Pinuelas ... The German couple that own that made a French lunch for us that was almost as good as your lunch ... So enjoyed the conversations and new friendships . Your property , your hospitality,and the beach location was a highlight of our month long trip!! Hope to see you both again ... Maybe skiing in Colorado?! Jim and Yonna

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YonnaCromeensMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Iguana lodge is the place to stay; the combination of a perfect service, incredible luxurious cabins, a lush garden, quality swimming pool, a yoga center and above all the most friendly staff of central america will suit the wishes of every demanding traveller. We were upgraded to a cassita which meant that the standard room we had was exchanged for a standalone house on stilts with a breath taking sea view from the room. The cassita was fully equiped, spacious bathroom and a huge porch with hammock, seatings etc. The owners Lauren and Toby has done everything to make you feel to be in Paradise. Their view on sustainability is reflected in the set up of the premises and you will see wildlife such as tropical birds, dolphins, whales and if you are lucky some wild cats which stroll by during the night. In short a must to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that I have been travelling to Costa Rica since the mid-eighties, and have been to most areas in this beautiful country. The OSA Peninsula is my favourite area for fabulous wildlife, laid-back vibe, and meeting other like-minded travellers. My new favourite spot on the OSA is Iguana Lodge, for all of the above reasons. Here are a few more:

Beach- it's hard to find a place in the OSA that is rife with wildlife AND right on the beach. The beach at Iguana is practically deserted( you can walk for miles) and the surf is not as strong as many of the other lodges in this area, particularly south. The Golfo Dulce is absolutely stunning!

Yoga- Daily yoga classes are included in the cost of your stay. I took a few classes with Lauren, the owner, and thought she was a great teacher. The relatively new yoga platform(and spa) overlook the fabulous lap pool.

Wildlife- Scarlet macaws everywhere!! They like to hang out in the trees on the beach, and you could hear their raucous calls right at the lodge, as well. Howler monkeys woke us up every morning. And the resident dogs, Bam Bam and Spike, were a joy to have around! Such sweethearts!

Accomodations- we were kindly upgraded to the beautiful family casita, which is a 2 storey cabin, very open, with screens. We loved the privacy and spent a lot of time on the deck. However, the club rooms, which are more economical, were recently renovated, and were quite lovely as well.

Food- simply put, amazing! Probably some of the best food I've eaten in Costa Rica!

Friday Night Salsa- What a fabulous night! The owners, Lauren and Toby, open up the restaurant(buffet to die for -$8!) to the locals and the dancing begins! Lauren and Toby sure know how to dance, and the spirit of the night is 100% Pura Vida!

In a word- just go!!! This place just rocks in too many ways to mention. I've already booked a return trip in January!

Thanks, Lauren, Toby and wonderful staff, for putting your heart and soul into such a wonderful, heart-warming venture!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank addictedtocostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Not our first time at Iguana Lodge, this is the place to stay when in the Osa Peninsula. The food is amazing, the service is incredible, accommodations are GREAT and so is the staff. The owners, Lauren and Toby, really care about the area and the sustainability of it, very hospitable and friendly to all guests. The accommodations, Club Rooms for us, are clean, comfortable and the morning and night sounds of nature are without compare. A MUST!!!!!

Room Tip: The Casitas are great, but the Club Rooms are great, those facing the ocean are the best.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Iguana Lodge is truly one of those places that changes your outlook on vacations, the way in which you will travel, and what true beauty really is. From moment one of arriving, the staff is there to greet, make you at home, and truly be there for anything you need. In a sense, they treat you like family. Whether it is the gorgeous rooms (that come in many different shapes, sizes, and layouts - to fit everyone's likes!), the beautiful scenary that Lauren & Toby have built around the premise, the pool lounging, the stunning stretch of white sand beaches with the ocean waves crashing against them, having a drink at the Pearl, or the infamous "family style" dinners...Iguana Lodge is a true gem. Paradise doesn't come close to what this place offers, because they blow paradise out of the water. As an individual, relaxing and de-stressing is a difficult endeavor for me, and Iguana is one of the few places I have EVER been able to just "let-go." Each morning you rise to the monkey's call waking you up, you enjoy a cup of Costa Rican coffee (some of the best stuff on Earth), stretch out during the morning yoga class, enjoy a plate of huevos and gallo pinto (the local rice and beans dish) along with fresh fruit, and that is just the beginning to your day...It's a must. No, rather, it needs to be on your bucketlist. You haven't lived until you've visited Iguana.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hambache83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Feels like home! You can sense the love from the attention the owners and staff lavish on you when you stay at the Iguana. This place has it all. Great Food, full bar, deserted beach with clear water, surfing, activities, wildlife. Very comfortable, I hated to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaujm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
339 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
544 reviews
12.1 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
8.5 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Lodge

Address: Calle a, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: $117 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iguana Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Lodge is the Osa Peninsula's premier beach eco-resort. Established over eleven years ago, Iguana Lodge is founded on the principles of sustainable tourism, personalized service, joy, health, and well-being. Located on the most beautiful beach on the Osa (no kidding), Iguana Lodge is a contemporary, lushly landscaped resort with a 20 meter lap pool and Jacuzzi, two yoga decks and complimentary yoga classes*, a deluxe spa, a fabulous Tico staff, award winning fresh, healthy meals at our two restaurants, our own naturalist, and excellent jungle and ocean adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iguana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Iguana Resort Puerto Jimenez
Iguana Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing