We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Choice for a Stay in The OSA!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iguana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iguana Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Port Hope Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Incredible Choice for a Stay in The OSA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that I have been travelling to Costa Rica since the mid-eighties, and have been to most areas in this beautiful country. The OSA Peninsula is my favourite area for fabulous wildlife, laid-back vibe, and meeting other like-minded travellers. My new favourite spot on the OSA is Iguana Lodge, for all of the above reasons. Here are a few more:

Beach- it's hard to find a place in the OSA that is rife with wildlife AND right on the beach. The beach at Iguana is practically deserted( you can walk for miles) and the surf is not as strong as many of the other lodges in this area, particularly south. The Golfo Dulce is absolutely stunning!

Yoga- Daily yoga classes are included in the cost of your stay. I took a few classes with Lauren, the owner, and thought she was a great teacher. The relatively new yoga platform(and spa) overlook the fabulous lap pool.

Wildlife- Scarlet macaws everywhere!! They like to hang out in the trees on the beach, and you could hear their raucous calls right at the lodge, as well. Howler monkeys woke us up every morning. And the resident dogs, Bam Bam and Spike, were a joy to have around! Such sweethearts!

Accomodations- we were kindly upgraded to the beautiful family casita, which is a 2 storey cabin, very open, with screens. We loved the privacy and spent a lot of time on the deck. However, the club rooms, which are more economical, were recently renovated, and were quite lovely as well.

Food- simply put, amazing! Probably some of the best food I've eaten in Costa Rica!

Friday Night Salsa- What a fabulous night! The owners, Lauren and Toby, open up the restaurant(buffet to die for -$8!) to the locals and the dancing begins! Lauren and Toby sure know how to dance, and the spirit of the night is 100% Pura Vida!

In a word- just go!!! This place just rocks in too many ways to mention. I've already booked a return trip in January!

Thanks, Lauren, Toby and wonderful staff, for putting your heart and soul into such a wonderful, heart-warming venture!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank addictedtocostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    73
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
101
189
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Not our first time at Iguana Lodge, this is the place to stay when in the Osa Peninsula. The food is amazing, the service is incredible, accommodations are GREAT and so is the staff. The owners, Lauren and Toby, really care about the area and the sustainability of it, very hospitable and friendly to all guests. The accommodations, Club Rooms for us, are clean, comfortable and the morning and night sounds of nature are without compare. A MUST!!!!!

Room Tip: The Casitas are great, but the Club Rooms are great, those facing the ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Iguana Lodge is truly one of those places that changes your outlook on vacations, the way in which you will travel, and what true beauty really is. From moment one of arriving, the staff is there to greet, make you at home, and truly be there for anything you need. In a sense, they treat you like family. Whether it is the gorgeous rooms (that come in many different shapes, sizes, and layouts - to fit everyone's likes!), the beautiful scenary that Lauren & Toby have built around the premise, the pool lounging, the stunning stretch of white sand beaches with the ocean waves crashing against them, having a drink at the Pearl, or the infamous "family style" dinners...Iguana Lodge is a true gem. Paradise doesn't come close to what this place offers, because they blow paradise out of the water. As an individual, relaxing and de-stressing is a difficult endeavor for me, and Iguana is one of the few places I have EVER been able to just "let-go." Each morning you rise to the monkey's call waking you up, you enjoy a cup of Costa Rican coffee (some of the best stuff on Earth), stretch out during the morning yoga class, enjoy a plate of huevos and gallo pinto (the local rice and beans dish) along with fresh fruit, and that is just the beginning to your day...It's a must. No, rather, it needs to be on your bucketlist. You haven't lived until you've visited Iguana.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hambache83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Feels like home! You can sense the love from the attention the owners and staff lavish on you when you stay at the Iguana. This place has it all. Great Food, full bar, deserted beach with clear water, surfing, activities, wildlife. Very comfortable, I hated to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaujm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed at Iguana twice and this was by far my favorite destination in the world to date. I have also driven the pacific and Caribbean coasts and stayed in every area of Costa Rica. You won't find area with more wildlife and fauna as dense as this place. I happened to see that there were negative reviews on the Iguana Lodge and I actually angers me to read them because I KNOW how hard the owners and staff at iguana work to make every persons stay enjoyable. If you are an arrogant American and don't like bugs, you have no business in Central or South America. The people that left these reviews are the kind of people that pay for a vacation and expect everyone to fan them and feed them grapes. In the real world, if you want that, you're gonna have to pay a LOT more for that which they probably couldn't afford anyway.This place could be considered as a little expensive but I've found that you get what you pay for. The owners give a lot of there own money and time to the local community. When i was there in 2006, i saw Toby on a big tractor grading the roads himself because Costa Rica didn't put hardly any money into the roads then.
My wife and I have been all over the world and every time we go to another country we always wish we would have just booked iguana. It's truly that memorable. They have accommodations for every kind of traveler. If you take the time to get to know the staff they will also tell you ways to do activities for any budget. The 1st time I stayed the bartender took my buddy and I fishing at all the local hotspots everyday on his own time and never charged us a dime!!!! He also took me to a local spot where we hand fed crocodiles in the river. Don't get too close. You could lose a hand. The other bartender Helena taught me how to salsa dance to which I can never thank her enough. I came back home and met my wife and I'm pretty sure it was my salsa skills that reeled her in!!! Another person you HAVE to get to know is Giovanni. This dude is one of the most helpful people in Costa Rica. Whatever you are looking to do this guy will find you the best person to take you there. As we were leaving for home on the last trip he saw that my wife and I had 20 days of dirty laundry and we were leaving for home with 3 trash bags of dirty wet clothes in 4 hours. He grabbed our bags and ran them down to the laundry and had our clothes back in less than 2 hours. We returned home packed like we were going on a vacation. He didn't have to do that. We were leaving and had already paid. But he did for us anyway. What a cool dude.

If you stay in a casita, breakfast and dinner is provided at the palapa in the main building. Whoever does the cooking there is really good because we loved every meal we had. The neat thing about dinner is that you dine, under candlelight, with the rest of the guests at the resort. I thought this was awesome. We meet people from all over the world there. At most resorts you dine with dine with your party and never say a word to the people around you. We ended up making friends with every person there. The iguana truly provided a unique experience.

I can tell you from the depth of my heart that any of those negative reviews are either complete BS from a competitor or miserable people that will never be happy in any place. This location will gives you a chance to experience nature in is true form. Most of the lodging on the OSA are ecolodges and they are preserving one of the densest jungles in the world. If you make the decision to go to Puerto Jimenez I would highly recommend the Canos Island snorkeling trip. It's a bit of a boat ride but, WOW!!!, what an experience. I chartered a private yacht owned by a my named Diego and it was one of the best trips I've been on. At first I thought the price was a little steep but after returning I would have spent three times what they charged to go there. He also stopped the boat on the way back to let us catch a few tuna which we brought back to feed the entire resort. Bringing home a fresh tuna will make you a lot of friends anywhere you go.
If you go to the OSA. This is the place to stay. I'm from Los Angeles and being from a big city you don't get to meet people like the ones you meet here. Maybe it's the jungle that feeds your soul what it really needs to find your happy place. It just so happens,the bugs and animals like it too.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

For my very first time in Costa Rica, I stayed here at iguana lodge and I had a howl of a good time -- and yes there were howler monkeys. Its kind of amazing to get up in the mornings to the sound of their howls and macaws, and the sound of the ocean in the background. It really is a 'back to nature' kind of experience and I couldn't help but marvel at where I was when I was there. Every morning for the short time I was there was a moment of laying in bed and taking in the experience and being thankful foe being there. To add to the experience, they have some of the best staff of people I've ever met -- everyone was so warm and genuinely nice, and the owners themselves are two very awesome people and ones I'm so glad I got the pleasure of meeting. Iguana lodge = a memorable time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 426Kimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Such a loving community of people at the Iguana Lodge. It was so peaceful, beautiful, and made me feel at home. I wish I could have stayed there forever. I 100% recommend this place as a perfect getaway on a honeymoon, vacation, retreat, wedding, or even a place to spend some alone time when needed. I will definitely be going back!! It was pure magic. Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckerz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
12.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
9.2 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
1.9 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Lodge

Property: Iguana Lodge
Address: Calle a, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iguana Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Lodge is the Osa Peninsula's premier beach eco-resort. Established over eleven years ago, Iguana Lodge is founded on the principles of sustainable tourism, personalized service, joy, health, and well-being. Located on the most beautiful beach on the Osa (no kidding), Iguana Lodge is a contemporary, lushly landscaped resort with a 20 meter lap pool and Jacuzzi, two yoga decks and complimentary yoga classes*, a deluxe spa, a fabulous Tico staff, award winning fresh, healthy meals at our two restaurants, our own naturalist, and excellent jungle and ocean adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Iguana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Iguana Resort Puerto Jimenez
Iguana Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing