We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in Jimenez”
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
mississauga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Jimenez”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed at playa preciosa lodge and iguana lodge and i liked cabinas jimenez much more. It is much better value, there were'nt many guests staying when we were there so it was very quiet and relaxing which is what i came for. Chris the manager was very accomodating and we ended up staying for 9 days. After staying there i would'nt think of going anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    171
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
104
255
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chitre, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and lovely pillows, a treat to sleep in A/C. The staff is very helpful with tips on where to eat and areas to visit. Rooms are painted with pics of the ocean and parrots in the trees. Take the boat trip for 45.00, we saw the dolphins and snorkeled with the pretty fish. This is a really lovely hotel, outside is plenty of patio space and a large jacuzzi to stargaze in at night. The only recommendation we had was more than one garbage in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snarf1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I can only say great things about the accommodations and the staff. Because of the location sometimes we heard the nearby disco but it was a small price to pay for the nice lodging and helpful staff. The pool is very small but that did not keep my son from having a great time in it. Do be aware that, like most places in Costa Rica, there are mosquitoes. Day trips to Matapalo were great but do no pass on the opportunity to go to the Fundacione Sanctuario Osa. A wonderful place with hard-working and dedicated people who are doing there best to save animals. We saw lots of dolfins and turtles as well

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Our stay at Cabinas Jimenez was a great experience. While we were there it was also holy week , Easter, which brought many Ticos to the area. That turned out not to be bad it was a peaceful busy atmosphere during the day and the evenings. Puerto Jimenez was less busy Easter night and Monday.

Cabinas Jimenez provided us excellent service. John the owner has done a great job of renovating and maintaining the place. His manager was an excellent source of info and networking tours in the area, as well as general local info. Juan Carlos is also an excellent source of information.

Our room was very clean. outside the room and the grounds are clean. service was great.

Bikes and kayaks are always around.

The Adventure tour is a great trip. The animal preserve is interesting, like pulling up to jurrasic park, snorkling was good , dolphin chasing, and planer boarding was fun.

If you want a nice place to stay with an air conditioned room go to Cabinas Jimenez!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Recently spent 4 nights there with my wife. The location of the cabinas is very good as well as the hospitality. The owner took some guests including my wife on a private boat tour on the gulf. The room we had, #6, was quite small - it would have been best suited for a single person sleeping in a single bed. It was so small that a shelf blocks the window. But there appeared to be many other rooms that were bigger. One drawback here is that they don't offer breakfast. Chris was quite helpful in finding tour opportunities for us. Despite the above-mentioned, we had a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank François B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
50 states
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We tried to like this place but ...

The "General Manager" challenged us at check out on the rate he had given us - despite our having paid the same rate for two previous nights. The implication was that we were lying and we did not appreciate that. We paid and thought we were done with it.

Not so fast - later on the same fellow literally ran after us as we left to complain that we had not adequately tipped the staff. He trotted out all he had done for us: holding our bags, extending checkout (for one whole hour!). It was unprofessional and further damaged our day in town.

Too bad, really. The rooms, while tiny, have been thoughtfully decorated. The GM on a good day was actually quite pleasant and helpful. His bad days negated the good.

I would add though that "pre-setting" the air-conditioning and fan speed seems a bit nasty. In fact, the ceiling fan rotated much too fast for the tiny room creating a disturbing draught. And the air-con - which is in the bathroom - was actually too cold one night so we had to regulate the room temperature by adjusting the bathrooom door several times during the night. The hotel also warns patrons against using the A/C when the hotel feels it is not needed: or they will "turn it off for you".

Oh, one last thing ... when the assortment of very damaged bikes was dysfunctional the GM gave us a dollar and instructed us on where to get one bike fixed. We did this. If we hadn't we'd have had no bike.

Hope you're getting the picture.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StatesAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptChrisCR, General Manager at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Dear Traveler,

As evidenced by our prior reviews, we do not respond to opinions presented in this forum from our prior guests. We firmly believe in the autonomy of this site as a guest driven environment. We respect, and truly take to heart the opinions of Our Guests. Both good and bad. However, misstatement of facts, or clarification of information provided by our prior Guests We believe is important to address.

As stated in our Comprehensive In-Room information books, Our bicycles and Kayaks are available free to our guests, on a first come first serve basis. Both the bikes and kayaks see a lot of use and abuse. Kayaks get holes in them from misuse and are sometimes not always available because they are being repaired. The bicycles, even the new ones, rust quickly, get a lot of use and abuse, and are not always available.

Our Guests wanted to use 3 bicycles, all of which were operating perfectly, save for the ~dysfunctional~ adjustable seat on one bike which was rusted and would not move. Because of the time of day, our employees and myself were busy with other tasks and assisting other guests. I gave Our Guests a dollar, pointed them in the direction of the repair shop (3 blocks away) and asked them to please ask the bicycle repairman to adjust the seat. I truly believed I was being helpful.

Regarding the A/C and fan, there is nothing ~nasty~ about our policy. Yes, the word nasty is an opinion, but I seek to clarify Our Guests information. Our Comprehensive In-Room information book states exactly...We proudly participate in Project Planet, A/C is included in ALL ROOMS with our published rate schedule. If you have received a discount off of our published rate, your discounted rate does NOT include A/C. Our rooms have been wired with an on/off timer switch located near the light switch as you enter the room. The temperature and fan have been pre-set. Press the on/off button to set the timer for 10, 20, 30 or 60 minutes, OR press and hold for 3 seconds until the hold light illuminates for continued usage. Units should be turned off EVERY TIME you leave the room, or it will be turned off for you. Windows and doors must be closed when the A/C is on. There are also ceiling fans in all of the rooms which we encourage you to use for your comfort. The fan can be turned on and off at the light switch, adjustments to fan speed are made by pulling the chain directly on the fan. Many nights the ceiling fan, with the windows open can be pleasant for sleeping. We encourage you to help us conserve our precious resources and our fragile Eco-system.

The ~tiny rooms~, again an opinion, referred to in this review were #2 Waterfront (our 2nd largest room) which includes a private patio, and #8 Poolside Deluxe. Our rooms are designed for comfortable sleeping and showering. Our grounds are thoughtfully designed for resting, relaxing, and socializing. We encourage our guests to get out and explore, not sit in their room.

Our Walk-In guests received a discount by our front desk staff. The discount was not given, approved, or authorized by the owner or manager. However, the rate that was quoted to these guests was honored. Cabinas Jimenez rates are the same year round. Cabinas Jimenez does not increase rates during high season, or during holidays, and we attempt not to discount during off season. We believe we provide tremendous value for the rates we charge.

Our Walk-In guests first night was spent in our Waterfront #2 at a 33% discount. The additional nights in #7 and #8, each night at a 24% discount. We stored luggage for this family of three for 12 days. We accommodated them when they returned often to retrieve this or that, or leave this or that. Unfortunately, we could not accommodate this family during this 12 day time period because we were full with prior advanced reservations. Upon Our Guests return for their last one night stay, I requested payment and was "told" they were getting a discount. I attempted to explain our position, and quickly relented to Our Guests demand for a discount.

After Our Guests had vacated their room, I asked our housekeeping staff if Our Guests had left a tip. The answer was no. Our guests ~adequate tip~ was nothing, zero.

There was no ~running after them~ or ~complaining~, I simply asked Our Guests as they were leaving to, "Please, at least leave a couple of dollars for the staff." Yes, I did ~trot out~ to them their significant discount during our busiest time of the year! The A/C they were provided free of charge even though we discounted the rooms, the bicycles and kayaks they definitely used, the baggage storage and constant retrieval over 12 days, the 1 hour extended check out (we had guests coming in ~one whole hour~ to check in their room, so it was a big deal to the housekeeping staff). Additionally I ~trotted out~ All the direction and help we provided answering the multitude of questions, AND helping them find other accommodations at the last minute. Even though they failed to plan their trip, my hope was that we really helped make their stay on the Osa Peninsula a great experience! Asking them to leave a couple of dollars for the cleaning staff I don't believe was at all out of line or unprofessional.

If the worst anyone can say is that I am moody, and that I look after our staff...then so be it. :-)

~Hope you are getting the picture.~

Capt. Chris
GM - Cabinas Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foleyet, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is our third trip to Osa and we have stayed at Cabina Jimenez every time. Chris and John go out of their way to make you feel at home and are very helpful in advising you on what to do and see in the area. The rooms are spacious, clean with a refrigerator and coffee maker and they also have air conditioning. They have even added a pool for relaxing in on those hot days. They now also have kayaks and bicycles available on a first come first serve basis. Last year my friends did the trip with Chris on his boat "la Sirenas" and they all had an excellent time!! Chris also set them up for a 1/2 day of inshore fishing and they caught a lot of fish and had a great time. Great Place...we will definately be back again sometime later this year!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
167 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Property: Cabinas Jimenez
Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Jimenez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing