We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cabinas jimenez made our vacation a vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
california
2 reviews
“cabinas jimenez made our vacation a vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

We are accustomed to 4 star hotels, and although it was not that, we were extremely satisfied.The grounds are very clean and lush, and artisticly put together, as are the rooms. One can't help but feel relaxed here. The staff becomes like family; and yes - take a bicycle into town, no charge. Take a kayak through the mangroves- no charge. We certainly appreciated their efforts to make this an excellent stay. Thanks John and JuanCarlos and staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wherenextCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    170
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
102
255
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

We had the pleasure to stay in Cabinas Jimenez and our only regret was having to leave. John and his crew made us feel very welcome and have done a great job in creating a bejou, very well specified and utterly relaxing place to base yourself at while absorbing Costa Rican culture and wildlife.

We enjoyed the bungalow #1 which was spotlessly clean and had all the facilities which we wanted with the added bonus of the Pacific waves lapping not 5 metres off the back of the deck (when the tide was in). Walk less that 100 metres and you're in the middle of the small dusty town of Puerto Jimenez which was charmingly unsophisticated. All-in a place we'd like to return to and if we do we'll book rooms in Cabinas Jimenez again without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IEWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

I definitely recommend this Hotel and in particular, Room 2. It's perfectly located with more privacy and a direct access to hammocks, the pool and the waterfront... You actually have like a Garden view and a water front at the same time, it's just great.

The room was very clean and quiet, equipped with a mini fridge and a coffee machine, large shower with cool wall painting in the bathroom.
The room could use a better lightning but we ask Juan Carlos, one of the guy who help you during your stay,( I guess you could say Concierge, even if it sounds kind of funny to use that word in this context :) if we could get another night stand. We had it in the next 5 min.
"Captain Chris", the manager and Captain of your boat if you take the trip to the Sanctuary (Highly recommended!!!) was really cool and helpful as well.

If you go in Puerto Jimenez and don't want to spend too much, that is a really cool place to stay. They even let you use the bikes and kayak for free... :)

Thanks again for everything guy's !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFoody45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We just left Cabinas Jimenez. We had the water front cabina, which was very spacious for our family of 4. The staff was great and pointed us to the best place for surfing about 15 km away. Mike, the owner, is a very sincere and kind person. We took a shortened version of the La Sirena boat tour on his own personal boat. WOW! Such a beautiful day and what a great way to spend it! You have to try the Dolphin Plane Boarding. Every one of us loved it! Diving down through the water and shooting back up. It was great! He let our kids captain his boat. He actually explained to them the different controls and alowed them to handle the throttle, not just steering. Upon departure, he gave each child a sea seed...very thoughtful.

I can't recommend this place enough. The new pool is great and views are amazing. Its proximity to town is perfect as you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kssjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Girlfriend & I spent one night at Cabinas Jimenez last week and enjoyed our brief stay. Very clean but kinda small rooms have A/C and a safe for valuables. Chris the manager (?) was very helpful and friendly - thanks for all of your help! Relaxing atmosphere was nice, especially the large outdoor public areas - good for reading or just hanging by the pool. I would return and am glad to recommend this hotel to others visiting Puerto Jimenez.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillEmison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

This was my third visit to Costa Rica in the past two years. This is the first time that I brought my kids, one 15 and the other 20. All three times I have stayed at Cabinas Jimenez in Puerto Jimenez. I have returned there again to share all that the Osa Peninsula has to offer. I stayed at Cabinas Jimenez for many reasons. It fits my budget, it is clean and the location is great. It is the only hotel near town on the water. The new pool was a welcome addition since my last visit. I think it is the only pool in town. The staff as always went out of their way. They were a godsend for entertaining my kids. They suggested places to go and set us up with guides for a canopy tour, zip-lining, hiking, surfing, and fishing. We also enjoyed the hotel's boat tour and visit to the wildlife refuge, and, not to be forgotten, my daugher and I even had a manicure and a pedicure out in the rancho looking out over the water. I am looking forward to having the opportunity to return do some more exploring!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyesue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

The first night in Puerto Jimenez we stayed at another place about 100m away - but we regreted it and so went the next morning for looking for a new (and better) accomodation. So we had a look at Cabinas Jimenez and were convinced from the first moment (friendly staff, amazing view, nice pool, hammocks under palm trees, great room with fridge, air condition, safe, cosy bed, hot shower,...).
Unfortunately we had just one night there and then went for 3 days to Corcovado NP. But we were so happy at Cabinas Jimenez that we decided to extend our stay in Puerto Jimenez and spent another two nights after our trip to the rain forest (would have stayed longer - but we had to leave because of our flight).
We hope we can come back some time.
PS: "On Main Street" in the description means, that you are almost in the centre but there is defintely no noise of cars,... (it's the end of the street with no traffic)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
11.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#5 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Property: Cabinas Jimenez
Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing