We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good base for excursions to the Corcovado National Park”
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good base for excursions to the Corcovado National Park”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Cabin 11, which is directly located at the pool with partial view on the sea.
The place is very clean, and they offer free use of bikes and kayaks. The staff was very helpful to help us arrange a tour in the Corcovado National Park which was our main purpose to visit there. They put us in contact with another couple to share the costs of the guide and put us in contact with a local guide to arrange the excursion to the Corcovado National Park. We have been very lucky to find Roger Munoz as a guide. He has a deep knowledge of the local wildlife and very good equipment which made possible for us to take fantastic pictures of the wildlife. He showed us all of the 4 different species of monkeys which live in the area, many different birds including the Scarlet Macaws, Toucans, Herons, Mealy Parrot and bigger mammals such as the Sloth, Ant Eater, Tyra, Coatimundi. He had a telescope which he used very skillfully to take many beautiful photos for us. He really made a difference for us to this excursion and we warmly recommend him as a guide to the tour in the Corcovado National Park. You can contact Roger Munoz by e-mail at motmotcorcovado@gmail.com or on his costa rica mobile (do not know the prefix) 83368650.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    171
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
105
255
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The staff is great, John does a great Job keeping the place neat, well managed and quite, plus you have free kayacs, free bikes and whale watching tours at a fair price, can't beat that! The rooms are comfortable, clean, nicely decorated and have ac, fans and tv set. The view from the cabinas is spectacular and the location is perfect. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban_Tortos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while going to trek in corcovado. The place is nice but:
They are not nice in the reception- when i asked for help with the bus scheduele, the recepcionist smiled and said he can't help me, that i should look on-line.
Second, it is written on bill boards that they have hot water, and they don't! When we asked for the third time why there is no hot water, they managed to say something about lightning three weeks ago. So why do you charge full price when you don't have full water? Why not tell your guests this veryimportant fact?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keren_Dekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I apologize for the lack of information, with the bus scheduales. He was a new receptionist, who just starting working. As far as the hot water, all of the rooms have hot water. They are called suicide shower heads, for lack of a better name. It is just what they call them. . There is three positions on the shower head. Cold, warm and hot. It must have been in the cold position. I apologize. John owner of Cabinas Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The price is the average for the area for a good place to sleep but the cabins dont look clean at all, air conditioning was not working, they open a bar with alot of noise, they only good thing is to awake with ocean in front !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patrickherrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello, you must be mistaken Cabinas Jimenez with another hotel. We, the cleaning staff, takes much pride, in keeping the rooms, very clean. I know for a fact, that all of the A.C's work, because I just had them worked on [ cleaned ] . And also Cabinas Jimenez does NOT have a open bar. Would you please contact Trip Advisor ,and remove your review. Thank you, John owner of Cabinas Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had planned to get one of the cheap $10 a night rooms in Puerto Jimenez but am so glad that I went for Cabinas Jimenez. Being right on the water was special. Having use of the kayaks and bikes were great. John's whale watching trip was incredible. The staff were so friendly and helpful and rooms were cute. They kept by suitcase while I was on my two day hike into Corcovado for no charge, All in all it was a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We were there with my wife. Cabinas Jimenez is definately the nicest accommodation around - be sure to choose one of rancho rooms, they are spacy and equipped with a coffeemaker, fridge etc. John's boat trip with whales and dolphins was also great, we got to see not only a bunch of dolphins but also whales, turtles and the animal sanctuary (the spider monkey was a funny one). If you have the extra dollar (our room was 90$) I would recommend to use it in Cabinas Jimenez.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I sort of stumbled onto this place by luck. I took my son to CR for two weeks this summer as a graduation trip. We decided to do an overnight hike into Corcovado and needed a place to stay the nights before and after our trek. I chose Cabinas because they were cheap and I was running out of money.

I was very pleasantly surprised. Not only were the rooms nice and clean (and air conditioned!!!), but the grounds were beautiful. I loved the painting on all of the walls (inside the rooms as well as all of the outside walls) and the beautifully maintained tropical gardens. The pool was small, but clean and refreshing, and we had it to ourselves so it was plenty big. The rooms have coffee pots and mini refrigerators, and warm water.

The staff was very friendly and courteous and very helpful. They even kept our baggage under lock and key in a closet on the day and night we hiked into Corcovado so I didn't have to pay for a room that night. I would definitely return to Cabinas Jimenez--next time with my wife.

Room Tip: Room 7 is by the pool and has a semi-private patio. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
167 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Property: Cabinas Jimenez
Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Jimenez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing