We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great service and personnel! Clean comfortable rooms. I had a room with view to the beach and it was beautiful!
The place is son nicely decorated, it is beautiful. Location is prefect, it is near to the center, sp you can walk; but not as close so you have your privacy. It is close to the dock also, so you can easily book a dolphin/whales tour or get a ride to Golfito or Matapalo.
The reason why I do not give it a 5 star is because the pool is too small; but no complaints.

Room Tip: book the rooms in front of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    170
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
102
255
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

What an incredible place! We planned to stay here 2 nights before a trip to Corcovado; we ended up staying 4 before Corcovado and 2 afterwards! The place has nice, clean rooms with beautiful accents including hand carve headboards, but what really shines is the gorgeous and relaxing grounds which provide incredible views of the bay. Highly recommend this gem in Puerto Jimenez!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amir E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The cabins are adorable. We stayed in the "Private Bungalow" with a large bed and double-wide bunkbeds. It is right on the water with a great view porch and Adirondack chairs and an outside table. My family loved the novel touches, such as a wrought iron sliding door decorated with seahorses. John and the staff were very welcoming. The price was reasonable. Wish we could have stayed more days!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It feels like home when I stay at the Cabinas! The staff is wonderful and the free bikes and kayaks make exploring the Osa easy and fun. I particularly enjoyed plane boarding with the dolphins on one of John's dolphin tours. This among other adventures are easily booked with the help of the staff. When not exploring the Osa, relax by the pool and watch the Macaws and lizards and parrots. You may even get surprised by the three-legged dog Cielo! The town and tenants are so friendly it feels like you are family. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Any room is great at the Cabinas~very spacious. I particularly like a poolside room. The lodge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyfish5wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Enchanting cabins in the Osa Peninsula. There's a few different ones to choose from.One of our best experiences in Costa Rica was riding the bikes they let you use over to Playa Preciosa.To enjoy the big waves. Cabinas Jimenez is on the Gulf side. In the morning you can see different animals around the property such as medium sized lizards Scarlet Macaw's. They helped accommodate a guide for a day tour into Osa. Which wasn't as easy as I would of thought. As always they made it work. We even had the wrong times for the bus in the am to go on a canopy tour. We had a private canopy around noon so we could take the next bus out.They make sure you have the holiday you want.Great times

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafiki_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your nice Trip Advisor review of Cabinas Jimenez. And that you thought it was your favorite part along your journey. I hope ti see you again.! John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived for our honeymoon and loved this place. The owner John is super nice was very accommodating. He provided great information for whatever we wanted to do there. Take his dolphin tour on his boat, it was amazing! His staff is professional and you can tell they love working there. Lea was absolutely wonderful up at the reception desk. She helped us with changing a plane flight as well as booking tours and excursions. The pool was very relaxing and clean, the kayaks and bikes are free to use and in good shape (never broke down on us). The view from the bungalows and Rancho at high tide were breathtaking. The water came up to the steps by our deck and it felt like we were on a boat. This was a great spot to come home to after our many adventures. We made many friends here and cant wait to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor . I am happy to hear that you thought Cabinas Jimenez is a great place to stay. and that you enjoyed my Dolphin Boat tour. I hope to see you again, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family stayed here for 2 nights, and it was just excellent. John was great to talk with, and we really enjoyed the kayaks. Being off the main drag was actually nice because it was nice and quiet. Our room was perfect for us, and the air conditioning and the fan made things very comfortable. As others have mentioned, there are lots of pretty birds flying around all the time. It was fun watching the locals playing soccer. There's also a small library near by.

You can't go wrong with this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinasjimenez, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your trip advisor review. I am glad that your family had a nice time at Cabinas Jimenez. Hopefully, I will see you again, in the Osa Peninsula. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
302 reviews
6.7 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oro Verde Hostel
Oro Verde Hostel
#8 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Property: Cabinas Jimenez
Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto
Cabinas Jimenez Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing