We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Jimenez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corcovado Beach Lodge
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had not expected to stay in Puerto Jimenez and were lucky to find this spot. Not inexpensive and something is going on in that we walked in and saw the guy that is maintaining the place. He shown us the cabina and quoted $120 per night. Long day so we took it. No formal check-in, no breakfast, no bar, not much except the cabin. Not full by any means - again, owners are ??? and place is barely maintained.

Right on the beach and very private, very quiet. Nice A/C after sleeping in a Tiki Hut at Lookout Inn (Great place) and good bathroom. Had to ask for towels.

Puerto Jimenez had a couple of great restaurants that we walked on the beach to.

Room Tip: Maybe try to call ahead. I thought it was a little pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deercrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

We tried to find a place to spend two nights and stayed in another hotel on the water that we did not like. We were told about parrot bay village and for $20 more than the other hotel we had a very nice loft cabin with plenty of room, outdoor sitting area, and nice garden landscaping. The location was private and we had a beautiful view of the beach. Perfect for relaxing and spending time swimming in the calm warm waters of the gulf. The restaurant was not open during our stay (we spent two nights) but the town was a short drive and several places along the waterfront were within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckAndolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A little bit outside the bustling town centre, we were lucky to run into Parrot Bay Village. Extremely nice reception, good cottage, good value, an accurately tended garden; just at the beach. The almond tree ensures visits from the great Scarlet Macaws.
Restaurants can be easily reached on foot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

we stayed there for three nights and after the exhausting days arround corcovado we could relax in the great bed. the rooms are clean and big. the bed was the vest in costa rica so far. king size!
diana and the staff are helpfull and friendly. its worth to pay this extra 20.- bugs a night for this.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miguelsastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We found Parrot Bay Village by chance as Puerto Jimenez was the place we needed to stop (sun going down) for the night. Parrots were coming in to roost for the night in pairs, which was a nice touch to the evening. We drove around town looking at the various accommodations, and none of them looked very inviting- of course harder to say in the dark- but we found a long, dark path that lead to Parrot Bay Village and, though it seemed deserted we found a couple of guys working in the restaurant who showed us some of the rooms that were available. The rooms were charming, lots of wood and fresh flowers, with balconies. The guys, whom we came to know as Kerly (Kayr-r-ly) and Christian, got us settled into a very nice room, and then made us some snacks and drinks at the bar. They are very friendly and warm and made us feel immediately at home. Later, the kids found a nature trail near the parking lot (marked with a sign) which lead into a swamp. With flashlights we saw several fat crocodiles and about 100 roosting egrets all clacking and chattering at our arrival. That night we slept like kings in very comfortable beds, and awoke at dawn to the sounds of mackaws and parrots circling overhead. Breakfast (included in price) was delicious, and once again we had the pleasure of Christian and Kerly's company. Fruit-loaded feeders are set up around the open air restaurant to attract many species of birds. The grounds of Parrot Bay village feature numerous fruiting and flowering plants which attract birds and butterflies. The bay is only 100 or so feet from the porch of the restaurant, so you can beach comb while your food is being prepared, or watch the fishing boats go out for the morning. Our girls (10 and 14) picked a coconut from a tree and Kerly took extra time after his shift to open it for them. The atmosphere of this hotel could be described as "comfortable and relaxed friendliness". Mary, the day manager, is also warm and cheerful. We would love to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SarahCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

The hotel sits in a fabulously landscaped, serene oasis a few minutes from town. You can lie in a hammock and read a book, kayak around the bay or arrange for a guided adventure. Mary and Chad are dedicated to ensuring that you have a wonderful stay. The food was great and reasonably priced.The bartender and cook excelled at customer service. I would highly recommend staying in the roomy, nicely decorated and clean cabins. The overall experience was an A plus !!!! Mary
Seattle,Wa

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TigerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

My most recent stay at Parrot Bay was just two weeks ago. I had a business trip to Central America and added two days of fishing. This was my 7 th visit to Parrot Bay and every one has been a great experience. Chad and Mary are very friendly. Chris does a great job in the kitchen and Curley and Helen are wonderful at the bar and resturant. Joanna takes care of everything in the office and does a fine job.

The best part of my stay their was getting to fish with a fine set of captains and mates. Javier and Oliver both captains during the high season worked hard to find fish and we had some success. May is not prime time for offshore billfish, but we had fun on inshore species. I have fished with Javier before and he is always doing whatever he can to find and catch fish. If the fish aren't cooperating he will change up techniques, locations, baits and even stop a shrimp boat to trade beer and water for shrimp. We even managed to catch about 40 lbs for shrimp. Chris turned the fresh catch of snapper and shrimp into a fantastic dinner from the kitchen.

In summary, I would not hesitate to recommend Parrot Bay to anyone interested in visiting the Osa for either fishing or sightseeing. It is a great little place with top class people.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nbijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
0.5 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
73 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
12.3 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corcovado Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corcovado Beach Lodge

Address: Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: $85 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Parrot Bay Village Hotel
Corcovado Beach Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing