We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best boats best crew” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crocodile Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crocodile Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best boats best crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We went on a large private boat 4 of us my husband myself and two 14 year olds . We raised 7 sailfish caught 4 and my 14 year old got his first rooster !! fantastic crew beautiful place cooler packed with enough food for all of us and you know how much boys can eat the Captain Pesca and Steven were so helpful and a big thank you to Todd who care us a upgrade on the boat . we will be back again next year The Kazanovicz family

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    11
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
46
44
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I think this was our 8th year of visiting Crocodile Bay Resort. The staff is always excellent, efficient, friendly and welcoming - they've become a second family to us.

Fishing with Anthony was wonderful (and always full of crazy fun). Meals & accommodations have always been top notch, but I think the food was better than ever this trip! Spa treatments were divine.

Our sweet & lovely housekeeper, Madeline, helped me a bit with my Spanish as did Maria, Flory & Helen in the dining room (thanks for your patience & for not laughing when we "tried" to place orders in Spanish).

As always, front office staff was great - Olympia continues to make everyone smile and laugh. On occasion, Angel rocked the dining room service too (good job raising an amazing daughter, Beau!) .

Todd Staley has become a true & treasured friend. His calm nature; knowledge of conservation & fishery science, and tales of life adventures is a valued resource many other lodges can't offer.

We're loyal CB customers because the total experience is constantly exceptional. CB has treated us (and several of our friends who've joined us there) like we're honored family members, and each trip has provided different, amazing adventures & fond memories.

Room Tip: We like the second floor rooms located near trees - easier to spot the Scarlet Macaws and Iguanas an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I don't even know where to being to explain the experience I had at this resort. By FAR the best, most accommodating, helpful, genuine, caring and amazing people I have ever met work at this amazing resort. Our trip didn't turn out as planned due to medical issues but this staff in its entirety was nothing short of amazing. I will be back to enjoy all they have to offer! The food was incredible, beautiful location and the #1 of all is the staff. If you are considering visiting crocodile bay resort...do not hesitate another minute. I am forever great full to these people and I look forward to returning!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwallg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

A trip to remember! Everything was in great order when we arrived! EVERY staff member was wonderful and attended to our needs, whatever they were!
With ages ranging from 1 yr to 60's and interest from fishing, spa and nature they had it all covered for everyone! The rainforest trip with Diego was fantastic and we saw and learned so much! Diego also took us on the sunset kayak trip which didn't yield a great sunset due to afternoon showers but it was beautiful and lots of fun! Diego rocks! Others who fished were delighted with Hermann and Manfred as captain and mate! Todd and Capt. Will were always close for interesting conversation about their lives, travel and working at Crocodile Bay and of course handling all the fishing folks in our group! Food was great and we were lucky to eat the catches from our group of tuna, prepared as we liked! We also enjoyed the lovely songs that Olympia sang throughout the week...beautiful people here...Highly recommended..... OVERALL...FANTASTIC, LIFE CHANGING AND MOST ENJOYABLE TRIP FOR US AND OUR EXTENDED FAMILY!
WILL NOT FORGET THIS ONE!!!

Room Tip: We were in the 25-28 building on the bottom! Great location to pool, lodge, pier and lots of nature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bloobak6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is an amazing place. I brought my family here and I couldn't be happier I did. The grounds where great, the fishing was outstanding and convenient, the area is beautiful, and the spa is luxurious. But the greatest part of crocodile bay was the staff.
When we first arrived we were met my the owners. They treated us more like we were family than resort guest. Maria (Sever and bartender) is one of the sweetest people we ever meet. We cant wait to get back down and see her again. Elio was our eco guide for a couple of days. He was so kind and extremely knowledgeable. We where very grateful to spend the day with him.
We went fishing only one day and we had a blast. The captain and mate knew the waters inside and out. They were extremely patient with our 3 year old (little Rock) and now he is obsessed with fishing. We would have had a great time if we didn't catch anything but the captain and mate made sure that wasn't the case. We caught a lot of fish including sharks and rosters. Im sure we would have gotten some sails that day but we wanted to stay fairly inshore because of our son.
We also went on a tour one day of gulf. That was the one of the best days I ever had. The staff took us out in a boston whaler. The gulf was as flat as a sheet of glass. Dolphin cam right up to the boat and stayed with us for about 10-15 minuets. After that we cruised from empty beach to empty beach. We snorkeled, hiked, ate lunch and drank ice cold beer. unbelievable day.
The food was awesome. Fish caught that day and many other delicious options for people who don't care for seafood. Did I mention how cold the beer was?
Carlos was extremely helpful and great company. When we left, he took us to the airport. He was waving goodbye as we were taxiing out and our 3 year old was almost in tears. He kept looking at him and saying "Carlos no!". He was devastated that Carlos wasn't coming with us.
We have traveled extensively through Central America and the Caribbean. As much as I enjoyed every place we've traveled to, I never want to go back to the same place we have been. There are just too many places to see. Crocodile Bay however is different. We will be back as soon as we can. This place is special and we look forward to seeing everyone again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff was awesome!! The fishing could have been better but the captain's were very knowledgeable which leads me to believe the fish just weren't cooperating. The mates are great as well, especially Manfred who tied the line of one rod (the reel's drag broke) to another while the fish was still on and we ended up getting the dorado in and eating it that night. Overall the resort is so amazing and the eco tours are great with those who know their stuff and the boats are perfect. Thank you Bo and Cory for putting this awesome resort together. I hope it's not the last time I stay at crocodile bay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishandsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Crocodile Bay was my husband's dream trip--obviously for the fishing. My daughter and I went with some apprehension. But we were so pleased. The staff was wonderful in accommodating us, including my daughter's disabilities.
FISHING - My husband went out on the boat two days and caught 8 rooster fish--varying in size up to 40 lb, plus a 35-40 lb cubera snapper, a mackeral, a 10-lb pompano, a 25-lb jack crevalle, and other fish. He also fished from the pier 5 of the 6 days we were there. Todd, the manager of all things fishing, was excellent. The fishing equipment is really top-of-the-line, new, well-cared for. The boats are recent vintage and in great condition. He and all of his staff, including Christian, who captained the boat my husband was on, are professionals who treat it as a business and work hard to make their customers happy.
STAFF - At the end of the day, people come in to the bar and talk about their catch. Always enjoyable. Maria, Flora, Rebecca, in the bar and dining room were great. They were so kind to my daughter and so thoughtful in dealing with her. Olympia was awesome; she and my daughter had a vibe going right away.
FOOD - All of the food was awesome, the fish you catch--cooked to your order--tastes incredible! The food was great, but the fish was in a class all its own--awesome. The American feast we had for Thanksgiving was so good and so special.


TOURS - We told them before the trip that we wanted to go on the monkey tour but my daughter couldn't do the walking required deeper in the rainforest. Without missing a beat, Diego, our tour guide, changed the trip so it would be entirely by auto, with just stops to get out and look. We saw scarlet macaws, toucans, agouti, the four types of monkeys,. We will never forget Diego howling to the howling monkeys to get them to come lower in the trees.
The wildlife sanctuary is very remote and such a treat. Don't miss it.

GROUNDS, ACCOMMODATIONS - Walking through the grounds after a rain, with the scent of the y'lang y'lang tree (from which Chanel No. 5 is made) drifting in the air--smelled like heaven.
The grounds themselves at Crocodile Bay are worth just wandering and walking around. First, you should go with Dennis or Diego (who direct tours), so you know what to look for -- then walk around on your own. My daughter has balance problems due to disabilities so she couldn't fish. We stayed behind and toured the grounds while my husband fished. We saw hawks, crocodiles, a Jesus Christ lizard (so named because it appears to walk on water), and the infinitely watchable leaf-cutter ants.
We would suggest having your camera with you every moment of your trip. You never know when you will see something amazing and beautiful... scarlet macaws in a tree next to your room--munching on goodies on the almond tree; we saw beautiful butterflies, exotic birds and flowers and on and on.
WEATHER - We did have rain, but it was mostly at night when the activities of the day were done, so we never had a time that it kept us from doing anything. In fact, we thought the cloud cover was an advantage, as it kept the sun from being too hot. For us, Thanksgiving was a great time to be there.
Unforgettable place, unforgettable people.

Room Tip: We were told the second-floor rooms were better - closer to the trees, nice view of the birds as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_Frost_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
1.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
6.3 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocodile Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocodile Bay Resort

Property: Crocodile Bay Resort
Address: Airport Road, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crocodile Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive packages for World-class Billfishing offshore or Roosterfish, Snapper, & Dorado inshore. Kids love our 24 exclusive Ecotours - Corcovado Rainforest, Zipline, Mangrove Kayaking, & Moms love our luxurious state-of-the-art Spa with a full complement of 30+ Spa massages, facials and full body treatments. Set on 44 lush tropical acres in the bio-diverse Osa Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crocodile Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodile Bay Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Crocodile Bay Resort Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing