We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fishing with the Rain Forest all around you..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crocodile Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Fishing with the Rain Forest all around you..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

The natural Scenery there is amazing. My wife was happy to take some of the nature tours while I could go out and knock em dead.. Tons of Dorado and Tuna outside the Osa bay to greet you. We missed Marlin season, but next year for sure.. The staff was super friendly. It's not at all "touristy".. It's a small hotel next to a small town in rural Costa Rica. You don't get big city amenities but that's not what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattKep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    12
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
53
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

after 2 years in the planning our group of four fishing buddies from england finally decended on crocadile bay , we were greeted with a warm welcome and a cold cocktail , there on in we were looked after implicitaly , a clean and proffesional set up i could highly recommend , we shall return .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Amazing place top notch resort, We were staying at casa bambu.. But we came to Crocodile bay to do some fishing, WOW the staff are amazing the the boats and gear are top notch, We went out on a Sunday full day off shore and raised 8 sailfish and hooked 5.. They had coolers stocked with more food and drink then we could eat. I was so impressed with the whole staff... Todd was a sweet heart, on our last day in Costa Rica we had a late flight so we booked a half of day of fishing, what a way to end our trip my husband hooked a rooster fish, and we all saw dolphin and a whale. When we arrived back at noon we had till 4 till our plane took off, they let us stay and swim tried to feed us again and held our luggage for us ,we were not even staying with them. We can not say enough about this place, if you are looking to do some serious fishing and want to go to a top notch fishing resort this is the place.... Thanks to all of you We had the time of our life, Pura Vida we will be back next year

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaz047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

WELL........this was my third visit to Croc Bay...........and it is nice to know that things are always consistent.....CONSISTENTLY GREAT.............is what I mean......the staff, the environment, service & they also remembered me!!!!!!
it is like going home...........
I had a great (but brief :( ) visit.....
I look forward to my next visit.....hopefully I will be able to stay longer.....like.......forever!!!!
GL

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

My brother and I just returned from Crocodile Bay, where we experienced memories that will last a lifetime. It is difficult to know where to start. I cannot say enough about the service and quality of our experience. While my brother and I were there solely for the fishing, they do offer a wide variety of activities and services, including zip-line, eco tours and a spa facility.

We fished for 5 days, and during that time released 15 sails, and caught rooster fish, amberjack, dorado, mackerel, African Pompano, Jack Crevalle and Snapper. Our Captain and Mate, German and Steven, were outstanding. If you decide to charter a boat, I would highly recommend requesting them if they are available. The team of captains and mates at Crocodile Bay are top notch, so if German and Steven are not available, I am confident you will be in good hands. If there is anything you want, all you have to do is ask.

Your breakfast, lunch and dinner are included each day, and you can select what you would like to eat on the boat the next day. The lunch sandwiches are pretty standard. However, if you want fish sandwiches from whatever you caught the day before, just let them know at dinner. The staff at Crocodile Bay is extremely friendly and focused on providing a top-notch customer service experience. I enjoyed the Huevos Rancheros so much, I asked for it each morning even when it was not being served, and the kitchen and waitstaff obliged me.

Click on this link for the monthly fishing report: http://www.crocodilebay.com/fishingreport.htm

Lastly, if you book a trip with Crocodile Bay, make sure you let them know that Team "Dos Hermanos" referred you!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNFisherman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

A beautiful, sport-fishing centered resort in a remote location. The staff were incredible. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Todd, the man who managed the fishing staff was organized and responsive to what we needed. My husband is the fisherman; I went along for the ride and the views. Caught enough eating fish to provide our dinner every night but one, and enough sport fish to provide lots of excitement. The two eco-tours we went on were fun and very informative. The spa was great. The air-conditioned rooms were a plus, but the wide porches were comfortable for sitting and reading, as well. Only a hard, noisy bed kept the visit from being perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfwendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

My wife and I went in November just after they opened for the season. Beautiful way to start off the trip by way of a quick and safe flight from San Jose. Crocodile Bay sets you up with the best airline with safest planes in C.R. The scenery was breathtaking. When you arrive at the resort, you are greeted with a delicious tropical cocktail and treated like royalty from beginning to end. Beau (Manager) and the staff are amazingly kind and attentive people that make you feel welcome. The facilities are spacious and the grounds are representative of the beautiful jungle and tropic surroundings.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to go out fishing (which we've heard they are world class) but we did enjoy the canopy and tour to Osa Wildlife Sanctuary. Also the spa for our anniversary. First the canopy was in middle of one of the most untouched jungles/rain forest areas in the world so it was AMAZING. It started raining at the end which was cool to experience. Good adrenaline rush. Second the trip to the Sanctuary is a must for any animal lover. You get a personal tour by the owner of the Santuary and get to come in contact with monkeys if you like! (she's a cutie and sweetie is the monkey's name). Lastly we ended up spending a whole day in the spa because we can't explain enough how relaxing, professional, and all around good they are there. Just read the comments in the lobby of the spa. We could write a page on the spa alone...

The food in the restaurant was amazing also and if you have a special diet, they are super accomodating as they are with every part of your stay there. All you can drink bar inside and rooms are stocked.

Don't miss out on staying here in one of the most beautiful areas in C.R. and treat yourself to the best.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
1.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.5 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
12.3 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
6.3 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocodile Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocodile Bay Resort

Property: Crocodile Bay Resort
Address: Airport Road, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crocodile Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive packages for World-class Billfishing offshore or Roosterfish, Snapper, & Dorado inshore. Kids love our 24 exclusive Ecotours - Corcovado Rainforest, Zipline, Mangrove Kayaking, & Moms love our luxurious state-of-the-art Spa with a full complement of 30+ Spa massages, facials and full body treatments. Set on 44 lush tropical acres in the bio-diverse Osa Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Crocodile Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodile Bay Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Crocodile Bay Resort Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing