We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place for family & friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Tropicales

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Tropicales
Ranked #2 of 10 Puerto Jimenez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Great place for family & friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Cabinas Tropicales is an economical, clean, and relaxing place to stay for a vacation with family and friends. Beautiful beaches are within walking distance. The rooms and layout of the Cabinas Tropicales is uniquely designed with trees, flowers, and natural skylight all woven into the architecture/layout. The host and owner of Cabinas Tropicals is friendly and helpful in discussing the tourist activities/tours, and arranging for excellent tour guides and taxi service.
The centrally located kitchen/living room provides a great gathering place for music, cards, and good food & conversation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 828BongoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    12
    1
    2
    9
See reviews for
25
69
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is really nice! Amazing kitchen, new and clean rooms, super clean, all with private amazing showers! Edible garden! Much more than you can expect! I went ther with my boyfriend and my parents and they all loved the place and the experience of being there! Defenetely the number one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanaPuertoEsco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This place has what you want from a b&b when traveling: nice, big and clean rooms, A/C, best shower in costa rica (really hot water, good water pressure), big and comfortable shared kitchen and a good location.
Add a nice and VERY helpful owner, who welcomes you with a cool pipa and who agreed to keep our lugguage while we're in corcovado, and you make 2 chikas very happy.
It is very close to the bay and the airport (1-2 mins walk), about 5 from the main street and 7 mins to the bus / colectivo station.
Also, Mark was really helpful with ANY info we needed - from laundry and breakfast suggestions to where to kayak to see monkeys and crocodiles.
The place itself is pleasant with a nice garden and birds around.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nothing fancy but clean, comfortable and air conditioned, and the rooms are all newer. The outdoor area / shared kitchen was a lovely surprise. Mark is a terrific host. You won't regret staying here, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for the for room with the outdoor shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just five brick cabins of varying sizes, all air conned which is a must in PJ! Basic but very clean with towels and soaps. Although categorised as a B&B on Trip Advisor breakfast isn't available but the covered ourdoor kitchen area is a pleasure to make your own food in - and a great spot for bird watching and for passing a tropical storm. Mark is very relaxed and the whole place has an easy-going feel.

Can be used as a base for travelling into Corcovado with a guide or solo and they will look after your packs.

We walked to playa paradiso which is about an hour and very hot but completely deserted - apparently you should get there early to watch the sunrise over a volcano in Panama. Puerto Jiminez isn't the most happening place in the world but we did hire some kayaks from Charlie at Delphino Bar - very friendly guy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Awesome place with one of the most helpful owners you could meet. Mark will tailor your needs from fishing to tours in the park. Get the best of value for your time here. Clean room, open shared kitchen attractive gardens and be visited at the bird feeder while you relax in the hammock.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadagain503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our third trip to Puerto Jimenez in the last four years, and we looked forward to trying out Captain Mark Corn's new inn.

Though this place is not on the water it is in a fenced tropical garden and that was a bonus because of the beautiful colorful plants and birdlife that guests may enjoy.

White stucco rooms with teak accents and nice baths both en suite or shared, this place is a welcome addition to the budget places to stay in Puerto Jimenez.

Captain Mark, apparently a well known expat sport fishing guide, has created a very nice neighborhood oasis for his sport fishing clients and other travelers.

One could sit for hours and watch the beautifully colored birds come in and feed on the papaya feeder by the hammock, sip cold drinks purchased in the town's supermarkets or next door in the convenient shop, cook one's own meals in the amazingly well appointed rancho kitichen, and marvel at the beautiful blooming plants depending on time of year.

At night we enjoyed the luxury of air conditioning but like most places we stay at in Puerto Jimenez there are no mosquito nets so take precautions accordingly. Dengue Fever is a serious threat that is spreading worldwide because travelers fail to apply repellant, get bit and show symptoms one to two weeks later which are often not identified as Dengue, and take it back to their home country where local mosquitos can spread it. See CDC on the web for more info.

Don't let this scare you away from the tropics but please do your part to halt the spread.

We hate mosquito nets anyway, so after being urged to do so by several locals (including our local Tico Dentist) we kept on mosquito repellant 24/7 as a precaution and were fine.

A friend from the US who lives in Costa Rica and was less dilligent with the repellant during his stay in Puerto Jimenez did come down with Dengue a week later when he returned to his Costa Rica home near Quepos.

Mark can arrange guided tours of the Osa Corcorvado National Park, the Golfo Dulce/Pacific Ocean, or kayaking the mangroves of the local area, and of he is course is a fishing expert of some reknown himself.

Walking distance to airport, waterfront, Golfito Ferry, Bus Station, and central Puerto Jimenez shops and sodas.

What do travelers do around Puerto Jimenez? Rent bikes and ride to secret beaches, rent kayaks and explore the mangroves, photograph the amazing sunrises and sunsets, take day trips to the remote end of the earth Matapalo area, bird watch, boat tours, fishing tours and more. For the third trip in a row to Costa Rica we got Dental work done while in Puerto Jimenez at the highly recommended dental offices of Dra. Melissa Morales.

At the time of our visit Singles began at $35 pp

Doubles $40 pp and up.

One can email or call ahead for current rates and availability.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malonetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
1.9 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#8 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
12.3 mi away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
2.0 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#2 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tropicales

Property: Cabinas Tropicales
Address: Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Tropicales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New six room hotel with a tropical atmosphere located in Puerto Jimenez. All rooms have AC, hot water, private bathrooms, great beds, open air rancho with a full kitchen, jacuzzi, hammock area, and secure parking. All eco tours and sport fishing tours are available. Cabinas Tropicales offers you great value in the heart of Puerto Jimenez, only minutes from the beach and close to the center of town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Cabinas Tropicales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tropicales Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing