We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place”
Review of Cabinas Tropicales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Tropicales
Ranked #4 of 13 Puerto Jimenez B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I recently stayed a night at Cabinas Tropicales and it was exactly what I was looking for after five days of hiking in Corcovado NP. The showers were hot, the ac was cold and the room was comfortable. Mark, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. There is a small store located right next door for basic needs and the property is a five minute walk to the airport and no more than ten minutes on foot to the center of Puerto Jimenez. If I ever go back to PJ I'll definitely be staying at Cabinas Tropicales again!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank rewendling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hey mark thanks for the hospitality and the beautiful clean rooms, a great place to stay close to the beach, and to town and the fish your captain gave us for dinner was spectacular... I'll be there in November for sure if I can find a cheep ticket and you have room maybe I'll come stay with you there for October let me know the rate......

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeKouskoutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Mark has a "Secret Gem" behind the fence you see from the street! Walk through the gates to beautiful plants and flowers with gorgeous birds flying about (hummingbirds, tanagers, etc), relax in the hammocks and enjoy his little heaven. The communal outdoor kitchen was a wonderful experience. Our first night Mark cooked up a delicious Red Snapper dinner and we returned the favor the following night, inviting him to share in our dinner. Mark was so helpful with bus, collectivo and flight information as well as what to do and see at the Corcovado National Park. Anything you want to know about Porto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, just ask Mark. He also offers fishing charters. The hotel/rooms are very spacious and clean with air conditioning, hot water and internet access if you have your own laptop. If/when I go back to hike Corcovado National Park, I will absolutely stay here and look forward to seeing Mark again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImagesBySheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Where to begin... Mark were a great host to us, we got a warm welcome upon our arrival, a safe place to put our 4x4 and especialy had valuable and pertinent information for the Corcovado 20 Km trek that we made. He made us breakfest at 4 am before we left! On the journey back, after two days of our strenious trek we slept another night at the Cabinas Tropicales, we were ready to go out for having a diner and Mark told us that he got a bit of their food for us! Wow! It was more than well received after an exhausting hike like that! And we had the permission to use his washing-machine free of use! So thanks a lot Mark.

Guylain et Marie

Room Tip: Try the one with an open air shower, with tropicals plants and a dark sky with stars and you we be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is one of the most relaxing hotels that my wife and I stayed at in the past fourteen months of a RTW trip.
The owner Mark was always smiling and ever helpful, a real gentleman.
The cabins are clean and spacious and each one is different inside. All have aircon. Good for friends, couples, families, solo travellers. Clean communal kitchen for guests, but excellent restaurants nearby.
There is a lovely garden with hammocks to relax in.
Wonderfully colourful birds (Inc. hummingbirds, flycatchers, Kiskadees, blue grey and cherries tanagers) visit the bird tables all day.
Scarlet macaws and orange fronted parakeets flew overhead daily.

We paid $25 per night out of season (July 2012) but the normal price is approx $35. We came for one night and stayed for five.

Mark organises sea fishing trips also if that`s your thing. We came to visit Corcovado national park and he put us in touch with an excellent local guide called Ronnie who we hired for a three day jaunt in the park. (We saw so much wildlife!)

Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try for the two room suite if a family or couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Mark does a great job introducing travelers to Puerto Jimenez, and to other guests hanging out in the communal kitchen. Great personal touch!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ee_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our family (two adults, two teen children) stay at Cabinas Tropicales for two nights at the end of June 2012. Not only was the room spacious, clean and comfortable, but the air conditioning was a nice luxury after 4 days in and around Corcovado in places without cooling.
However, what made this place worthy of the 5* rating is that Mark Corn, the owner was very easy-going and knowledgable about the area (having lived there for many years). He also can arrange tours, if you would like him to.
In addition, this cabinas has a very nice common area -- and outside cooking and eating area. It's a great way to save some money (and have have fun) to buy and cook your own food. We would definitely stay here again when we next return to PJ.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite is great for families or larger groups. There is a queen bed in the bedroom and 2 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Jimenez hotels
1.9 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Carolina & Restaurante
Cabinas Carolina & Restaurante
#11 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas The Corner
Cabinas The Corner
#6 of 13 in Puerto Jimenez
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tropicales

Address: Block off the airport behind solid rent a car, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: $44 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Tropicales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New six room hotel with a tropical atmosphere located in Puerto Jimenez. All rooms have AC, hot water, private bathrooms, great beds, open air rancho with a full kitchen, jacuzzi, hammock area, and secure parking. All eco tours and sport fishing tours are available. Cabinas Tropicales offers you great value in the heart of Puerto Jimenez, only minutes from the beach and close to the center of town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cabinas Tropicales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tropicales Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing