We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERENITY NOW!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was overly impressed by the location and services provided by the hotel and staff. I could literally throw a stone into the ocean from my beach front bungalo. With miles of private beach coastline to walk on, an extravagent breakfast and tasty dinners, I would go back in a heartbeat. I recommend this hotel to friends and family. If you need to clear your head, take in the sun without fighting over a spot on the beach, and do some adventurous trips during the day without the hassle of annoying tourists, this is the place to go. Friendly people, safe environment. The Lyons Family.

Room Tip: Beach bungalo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 353 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a small place in a secluded location about 2 miles from town. It's clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The facilities are well kept and well designed. The town is small and quite. There are white faced and howler monkeys, iguanas, Scarlet Macaws, Toucans and various other animals which can be seen around the immediate area. The beach seldom had more than ten people and usually we had the beach to ourselves. It's easy to make friends with other guest but easy to have privacy as well. If you want night life it's not for you, but we went to Monte Verda, Jaco, Dominical and drove everywhere in between and feel certain that it probably has the best wildlife viewing on the grounds and within an easy drive than anywhere else we visited.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PittTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We arrived at the Aqua Dulce not knowing if we could go on our hikes in the Corcovado the next day. The manager Carlos was exceptional in all aspects of this situation. He cared for us and our room; made phone contact with the guide, arranged transportation. When we came back; tired after a long hike out of Corcovado; Carlos immediately looked after us and didn't worry about check in and details. Very personable and caring . Definately would go back and stay much longer. Carlos was always there to provide the best service possilbe.

Room Tip: Go there; follow the signs off the main highway. Keep going it is on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a quiet location, away from the busyness of Puerto Jiminez with miles of open uncrowded beach at your doorstep.
If you are looking for a lot exciting action, this might not be your cup of tea.
The restaurant was good, the pool roomy and nice, the staff friendly and helpful, and the other guests (several of whom owned units in the resort) friendly.
Quiet is a relative term since the morning macaw flights are loud and the howler monkeys are too. If you don't want to hear this, don't visit the jungle.
We were in the back building, furthest from the beach. On another trip I would prefer to be closer to the surf sound.
The rooms are clean with nice but limited furniture.

Room Tip: Try to get a room poolside or even in the front units (which are, of course, more expensive). All bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gachap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 days at the Agua Dulce Beach Resort. We had a wonderful experience and the
staff could not be more accommodating. The hotel was impressively clean and well groomed.
The management was well educated regarding local attractions and was only more than willing
to meet all our needs. We recommend this resort with no reservations. The view of the sun was
magnificent over the ocean. Great place to fish and unwind. Our hats off to the staff of the
Agua Dulce Beach Resort. Thank you for the fishing boat recommendations. We caught alot
of great fish and a variety of species. We will be back.

Room Tip: Beach Bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank normando1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

If you enjoy miles and miles of private beaches but are on a budget, this place is perfect for you. The resort is small property with a pool and restaurant with a private beach that goes for miles. The rooms are great and come with bathroom and have AC which is much needed in the HOT place. We stayed for 6 nights and they upgraded us to a suite with a private jacuzzi and a small sitting/eating area with a fridge for free. The food at the restaurant is very good and breakfast is included. Great value compared to the other super expensive Eco lodges that are around. We had an awesome time and already are thinking about coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zspon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Well we had originally booked the Iguana lodge with Expedia ,but for some reason they made our reservation with Agua Dulce instead, this turned out to be a great omen because not only was Agua Dulce much cheaper it turned out to be a place that we loved so much.Our first impresion was that it looked so sterile and boring but as the days went on we felt like it really was a home away from home. Chris the marketing director gave us an upgrade to the beachfront bungalow which was fantastic ,waking up every day with the beautiful sun rise and seeing lots of scarlet macaws and toucans was so awesome. Then having the best breakfast that we experienced in C.R. and then jumping into their great pool was always the best way to start our day.The staff were all very friendly but the best person there was Carlos the manager, who was always there to meet your every needs.Thanks everybody at Agua Dulce for making our Osa experience so wonderful, My 9 yr. old daughter had tears in her eyes when we left, hope to see you all again soon. Harold , Florencia and Aisha.

Room Tip: Highly reccommend the beach bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank harbar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.2 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
553 reviews
2.7 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
185 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Reso...
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort - An All-Inclusive Resort
7.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
8.1 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Dulce Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Dulce Beach Resort

Address: 1000 Beach Road | Playa Platanres, Puerto Jimenez 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: $73 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Dulce Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Dulce Beach Resort is the newest and most exciting property on the Osa Peninsula with all the amenities you would expect in an American Style Hotel and Resort. Located just 10 minutes from Puerto Jimenez on a secluded beach. Walk for miles on our beach, or go for an adventure hike to Corcovado National Park, charter a boat for World Class Sport Fishing, or have a dolphin and snorkeling adventure! How about a Horseback Ride, or a Zip Line Canopy Tour? Surfing anyone? Or...you can just kick back and relax around our huge pool with swim up bar! Whatever activities you choose, you will return to a clean, comfortable, spacious and air conditioned room. Have a spectacular meal in our Restaurant, and then retire to your room where your personal Jacuzzi will be waiting to sooth you to a perfect night sleep one one of our wonderful pillow top mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Agua Dulce Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Dulce Beach Resort Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing