We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Educational experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osa Wildlife Sanctuary

Osa Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also known as the Santuario Silvestre de Osa . Owned by Carol Crews. $25 admission/donation. All proceeds go into the sanctuary.
Calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Educational experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We loved our experience at the Osa Wildlife Sanctuary and meeting Carol who is such a passionate, determined woman.

This is not a zoo - it's a rehabilitation centre. If you're going there to see a large number of animals, you'll be disappointed as there are only a few non-releasable residents. It is, however, a fantastic opportunity to learn about wildlife rehabilitation and conservation in Costa Rica. We bombarded Carol with questions and learned plenty from her.

Meeting Sweetie the spider monkey was certainly an experience I'll always remember.

I admire Carol for what she's doing with such little money and so much red tape.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    22
    13
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
billings, mt
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I enjoyed the talk and I was pleased to see that the woman who runs it is very committed to releasing the animals that can be released, educating the tourists, and doing what she can to discourage the pet trade of monkeys. We all enjoyed getting up close and personal with her residents

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Corcovado tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The monkey, plant, and bird life were fabulous. I loved having a guide to help us learn more about the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobandpeg97232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take a nice boat ride to the wildlife sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Take a boat from Puerto Jimenez (about an hour from Bosque del Cabo) to the other side of the Golfo Dulce and see the wildlife sanctuary. You see animals up close some that have been rescued and can't be released and some that are being rehabilitated in some way for release. Scarlet Maccaws up close, sloths, monkeys, lots of other mammals. A monkey accompanies you with the guide on the tour of the grounds. Watching that monkey interact with the crowd as the tour guide explained things was interesting. The monkey would come up, sit down , grab your hand and put your hand on it's body - for a scratch ! He worked the crowd doing this pretty much the whole time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Va.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Very Best of Costa Rica!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Liked everything!!!! Great job by Carol Crews, taking care of wounded and orphaned wildlife, until they can be returned to the wild.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cleanbeachlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osa Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 
Carate, Corcovado National Park
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Osa Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing