We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view with relaxing atmosphere”
Review of Bolita Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bolita Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in Bolita for 5 days. It is a relaxing atmosphere and a nice hostel located on the top of a mountain in the jungle that connects to Corcovado National Park. There are amazing scenic trails, although the landslides make crossing difficult at certain spots. We saw howler monkeys, toucans and a lot of other unique wildlife right from the hostel. Luckily the howler monkeys stay far away most of the time so they don’t wake you up with their crazy howls.
There is a nice kitchen, and everything is composted, reused for projects or recycled. No electricity at the top of the mountain makes for a fun, rustic hostel experience. You can charge your iPods and phones with a usb chord. Ron, the owner has an internet stick, so you can get some internet connection if you bring your computer. We loved hanging out in candlelight at night. I’ve only seen stars like that a few times in my life. It’s a perfect way to start the day by watching the sun rise from the mountain. Thanks Bolita!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Bolita is a very nice place for Backpackers. Near the border of Corcovado you have a lot of hikes and wildlife to see for a budgetprice. Because there are no borders for animals you can see a lot of the wildlife you also see in the more expensive places to stay in Corcovado. Ron (the owner of Bolita) does a great job. I will remember him as a friendly man with a strong vision for nature, green energy and recycle materials we don't use anymore. I really enjoy Bolita!

Michiel, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michiel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my one-week stay at Bolita. The hostel is adjacent to Corcovado National Park, but there is nothing separating the two, so staying there is no different to staying in the actual park. There are many different trails to explore, with many beautiful views of the surrounding forest (including primary forest), waterfalls, and rivers. There is also an abundance of wildlife. Whilst there i saw many species of birds (including Toucans, Manakins, Trogans, Hummingbirds), Spider Monkeys, White-faced Capuchins, Mantled Howler Monkeys, bats, and many species of frogs (including poison dart frogs and tree frogs), and reptiles. The hostel is comfortable, clean and practical, and is one of the only places I have been to which is making a very real effort to minimize their impact on the environment. The owner is very friendly, considerate, generous and helpful. If you like using fruit and veggies in your meals you should get them while your in Puerto Jimenez, as the two shops in Dos Brazos don't always have them; but they do have most of the other basics. There is also a small selection of ingredients (rice, noodles, snacks, drinks etc) available for purchase at the hostel. Definitely worth the trek to get to it!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank KTL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at Bolita Hostel for 2 weeks, and would have loved to stay longer! The tree house has everything you need to make your stay comfortable, pretty impressive in the middle of the jungle. Clean kitchen, fresh drinkable spring water, solar powered chargers for camera and phone, nice showers and toilets. The views of Golfo Dulce, el Rio Tigre, and Corcovado National Park are incredible, and seeing them from your own private trail can't be beat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a fantastic place to see one of the last remaining lowland jungle rain-forests in Central America. The place has everything you need to comfortable and still truly enjoy the great nature around you. This place cannot be beat for value. The Hostel is practically in Corcovado and you will see all the same animals and views and then some. Good kitchen even has a small honor system bar. Also has an extensive system great trails to hike with some breathtaking views. Its a bit of a trek to get here but its worth every minute and every dollar!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Bolita is an AMAZING place. The trails are extensive, bringing you to different levels of the rainforest... canopy, valley, forest floor, hidden away waterfalls... Lots of amazing hiking and wildlife. After Bolita we did a tour in Corcovado - also wonderful - where we hired a guide. We saw lots of wildlif in Corcovado but actually saw MORE birds/frogs in Bolita, including poison dart frogs that are endemic to the region.

Definitely going to be a highlight of our whole time in Costa Rica!! Beautiful and so lucky to have come across Bolita!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natasha_overduin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were travelling around South- and Central America for over 3 months and Bolita was by far the most exciting and beautiful place we stayed.
It started with a friendly welcome through the hostel owners and a exhausting but nice hike through the rainforest to get to the house.
During the 3 days we saw many different animals and plants, enjoyed the well mainteaned and amazing treks (walking through the Rio Tigre is a "must do") and relaxed in the hammocks.
Best thingg is that it is right next to Corcovado NP so you do not have to pay a lot of money going there since you have Bolita which in my opinion is much better.
Thanks a lot to Ron. You are doing a great job...
Anna & Alex (from Germany)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Jimenez hotels
7.6 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
551 reviews
8.7 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
344 reviews
8.1 mi away
Corcovado Beach Lodge
Corcovado Beach Lodge
#7 of 24 in Puerto Jimenez
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#3 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
440 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cabinas The Corner
Cabinas The Corner
#5 of 13 in Puerto Jimenez
51 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Reso...
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolita Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolita Hostel

Address: Town Of dos Brazos | right beside Corcovado Park, Puerto Jimenez 8204, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: $22 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ONLY HOSTEL RIGHT BESIDE CORCOVADO NATIONAL PARK:15 km of amazing trails, fascinating wildlife, and excellent bird watching. Bolita is a semi sustainable eco lodge on 61 hectares, 150 acres, in the forest reserve of the Osa Peninsula. Surrounded by rain forest, with spectacular views of the Golfo Dulce and Corcovado Park, with the ocean and beach in sight 14 km away. With special attention placed on reusing and reducing all waste products, no garbage has been taken off the land for the last seven years. We recycle and compost it all. Emersion in language and culture in the town of 191 people. Gold mining, horses, bird watching, and guided tours are available; all served by the local community at no profit to Bolita. Explore Rio Tigre and take a swim. There are many waterfalls including the well known Bonanza. Visit the neighboring village of Dos Brazos (Tigre) for gold mining, bird, and horse tours, or just relax in a hammock. Gas stoves, pots, pans and dishes provided with fresh spring fed drinking water. Bring food. No refrigeration or food on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bolita Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolita Hostel Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing