We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Chic yoga retreat on the beach in Osa!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chic yoga retreat on the beach in Osa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

I was lucky enough to have just spent a week at Blue Osa. I couldn't recommend it more. It's peaceful, chic and relaxing. AMAZING food, mostly veggie and still full of flavor. Gorgeous cocktails, super fun adventure day trips. The design and planning that Adam has put into the buildings and every detail of the spaces is mirrored by Yogi Aaron's massive experience and expertise with teaching Yoga and setting a relaxed but fun atmosphere throughout. Marie and the crew in the kitchen are constantly working away prepping delicious and good for you meals. Michael the manager is a machine, running the world there with a light touch and no stress visible to guests, he's wonderful. Waking up to the sunrise over the water, leaning into a yoga class, a day trip, an amazing lunch, an afternoons rest and playing in the pool, catching up on work, cocktails, amazing dinner...sleep. REPEAT! I could stay for months. A great value for the chic, wellness traveler. This is the real deal.

Room Tip: I loved my room in the Yoga building. #4 has wifi...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    24
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
75
171
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I had visited the Blue Osa when it first opened in 2011 and it was so beautiful that I knew I would come back and lead a retreat at this gorgeously designed resort some day. That dream just came to fruition with my first Painting, Yoga and Surf Retreat at the Blue Osa. The staff was like family, they really supported me in setting up a painting studio on site, which was an experiment and they were very accommodating! The spa treatments were world class, and the food was fabulous and the rooms and design, stunning. I love level of consciousness, heart and intentionality that the founders put into their vision and they are very committed to their own personal evolution as well as the vision of Blue Osa. I can't wait to come back next year!

Room Tip: Loved my room under the yoga pavilion facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

There is a lot of reason why you should go to this place, first of all it is in a great location. If your mission is do yoga, in a relax environment this is where you have to be.
The food is incredible, all healthy, fresh and good for your body and soul.
The staff is like your family, you wont know what I am talking about until you go, from the chef to the gardener, everyone is nice in a warm and friendly way.
The beach is right infront, a beautiful private beach perfect for swimming and long walk, even for a good jogging. The pool is just perfect, nothing else to say about it.
The rooms are private, clean and good taste decorated.
Beside all those reason are the peaceful environment, the silent (beside the nature noises) and the calm feeling that invite you to meditate, do yoga and be relax.
Namaste!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Netzerotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Blue Osa is the perfect rural Costa Rican retreat destination on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. Located about 30 minutes from the small town (and even smaller airport!) of Puerto Jimenez, this is the spot for you if you are looking to get off the grid and away from the world while maintaining some creature comforts and a healthy lifestyle.

Without a doubt, the star of Blue Osa is the staff. Although their attitude is laid back, these are friendly professionals with incredible integrity and sincere hospitality that I have rarely seen, even at five star resorts. With Michael as the lead, each and every staff member was clearly personally invested in making sure we had a wonderful experience during our time.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well maintained, with a lap pool and plenty of spots for relaxing and reflecting--be prepared (as I was not!) for an outdoor experience with plenty of requisite bugs and other wildlife. This is just part of life in the jungle and you will enjoy yourself a lot more if you learn to adapt quickly. Blue Osa is dedicated to eco friendly living so there is no air conditioning, but we found we were comfortable with fans most evenings. The beach is just steps from the main building but is not really meant for lounging--as I understand few beaches in Costa Rica are. Still, it is a stunning view and the water is warm and calm.

Besides the beautiful surroundings and comfortable room, Blue Osa prides itself on its food and that pride is well deserved and perhaps a bit understated. The food is SPECTACULAR. Delicious, satisfying, creative, and healthful. The chefs created a masterpiece at every meal and definitely made sure we were never hungry. And delicious Costa Rican coffee seems to be available all the time as you get to know others staying on property and make new friends. Not to mention Michael's skill with cocktails! They were worth every penny.

As if all this were not enough, Blue Osa is the home of the BEST spa treatment I have ever had. The Osa Ritual was worth every penny, and an amazing value in comparison to some of the best luxury spas in the states.

I would recommend Blue Osa for a solo getaway, girls getaway, or certainly a group trip and especially a yoga retreat. If you practice yoga, you owe it to yourself to practice in the Blue Osa studio. It is stunning.

The only drawbacks, which were temporary but still memorable:
1) The internet was down for our entire five day stay. This actually turned out to be a great tech free break, and an inside joke among the guests, but if you for some reason are relying upon having Internet here, I wouldn't. The staff does the best they can, but you are still in a rural part of the world.
2) Because the owners are dedicated to constant improvement, there was construction going on for our entire stay. It was bothersome to hear the sounds of power tools most of the day, and some advance notice would have been appreciated. The owner did share with us that the construction was running behind schedule (as it always does).

Room Tip: Some rooms have open roofs, some have shared baths...be sure to inquire about your room before you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FourDayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueosa, Owner at Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Four Day Traveler,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a detailed review of Blue Osa. We so much appreciate it as it helps future travelers get a better idea of what they might expect here.

I was a little confused by the tip you offered. What is an open roof? All of our rooms have roofs and are enclosed. And regarding the statement that "some have shared baths;" your room had a private en suite as do all of our rooms. None of rooms share a bathroom with any other room.

I just wanted to clear up that information for future readers.

Again thanks so much for taking your valuable time to share your experience.

Blessings
Yogi Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I spent my birthday week at a yoga retreat at Blue Osa. It was by far the best week in my life, Its a really great and lush location right by the beach smack in the jungle, little bumpy dirt road to get there, but the resort is top notch and feels very luxury. I spent the days doing yoga with the ocean breeze as the sound track, in the biggest and most spacious studio i ever been in, ( but i also live in new york ) Beyond all this amazingness the food is also extraordinary, the owners have always been eating healty and are like gourmets and the family style dinner served every night is the yummiest and healthiest i have had in a long time!
And if your into to surfing you have the fantastic spots around the corner, mata palo for the pros, pan dulce for looooooong 2 footers for the beginners ( me ) and... your sharing with 4 people at the most... do i need to say more?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was by far one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I truly enjoyed this hotel. I am in the hotel business and have been for several years. The staff at Blue Osa was EXCEPTIONAL paired with the fine cuisine. I love healthy food and Blue Osa had it! If you are looking for an experience like none other then I highly recommend you come here. If you want a retreat away from your hectic lifestyle then this is the place for you. I felt completely at home and refreshed. I was able to let go of my busy lifestyle and everyday stress. I woke up to the birds and the sound of the ocean everyday and completely fell in love with nature all over again. This place is perfect for the soul and igniting you lifes purpose. This experience changed my life because I did it with a cast on my foot. The staff was so helpful I couldn't believe it! The acupuncture with Koji is amazing and Marcela for a massage was the best I have ever had! Michael from the staff helped me everyday! This place rocks! Namaste

Room Tip: Get the room where the yoga studio is or upstairs so you can see the water :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

As an experienced yoga teacher and long time traveler to Costa Rica, Blue Osa exceeded my expectations! It was such an authentic yoga experience, with farm to table food, an eco friendly environment, and yoga studio with spectacular views…and teachers. Blue Osa has incredibly dedicated staff, and that in part is what makes this retreat center so special. For me, Blue Osa took yoga retreat to a whole new level. MUST VISIT!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.9 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
4.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
4.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
12.1 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
6.7 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Property: Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Address: Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Blue Osa Yoga Retreat & Spa our mission is simple: To provide you with an unforgettable experience –– nourishing body, mind and spirit.Let your focal point be the ocean. Imagine a cool ocean breeze across your face. Our yoga deck was designed to facilitate an immersive yoga experience: farm-to-table meals, first-class pampering, and beautiful eco-friendly accommodations. Our secluded beachfront property is located on Costa Rica’s biologically diverse Osa Peninsula. Here you will find coconut trees, colorful wildlife and crashing waves –– all guaranteed to provide a tranquil setting for letting go and living the pure life. Whether you’re looking for a tropical paradise to relax & renew, to delve deeper into your yoga practice, OR an exotic locale to embark on Travel-Channel-worthy adventures, we’ve got you covered. We offer tailor-made experiences for individuals, groups and retreat leaders. Our packages include yoga, eco-spa therapies and various nearby tropical adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat And Spa Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing