We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Osa: A Beautiful, Tranquil Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Blue Osa: A Beautiful, Tranquil Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have retreated at Blue Osa three times in 4 years: twice as a yoga participant and on my latest visit, I held my first yoga retreat there. I can honestly say, Blue Osa continues to impress and gets better with time!" The buildings, rooms and grounds are quite lovely. If you need to get away, this is the place! The yoga deck is fabulously beautiful. Great for practice and meditation. Also, you have the beach at the end of the property that is quiet and peaceful. Mouthwatering delectable meals prepared by Chef Marie. With Aaron, Marie, Gabby, Jose and the rest of the staff, my retreat-sters and I was left wanting nothing! The entire Blue Osa staff is to be commended for their attention to service and detail! Blue Osa is Paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YogiHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    25
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
78
187
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family just returned from a week at Blue Osa. And we had a great time. Nice safe beach, although on the last day one of my sons was stung by a jellyfish - apparently rare there, however. The staff could not have been better, a truly wonderful collection of folks. Your lack of Spanish will not be a problem.

The yoga studio was gorgeous, overlooking the water, and a daily treat. Other highlights: I believe that people who decide to go there will all be nice. They will be interesting, care about the environment and friendly; mango smoothies; beautifully cared for grounds; a lap pool, many areas to relax in, in privacy; large rooms; a library of English books - I borrowed the wonderful award-winning novel, The Book Thief, and managed to finish it in time and did not have to abscond with it - so it is there for you to enjoy; very comfortable beds; and Marcella is a tremendous masseuse.

FYI: There is no airconditioning since the resort is all solar powered (kudos for that) and there was only one night that was too hot - each room has a number of fans, which make a big difference.

The meals were beautifully presented, high quality food, great variety. The kitchen team was led by the immensely talented chef, Marie. Our kids got to enjoy some foods they never had tried before and they loved it. We brought out two teenage sons and while they did enjoy themselves ( they love water, are mature and independent) this is primarily a resort for adults. Lastly Blue Osa has four dogs - we had lots of fun with them and miss them already.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am a fellow lodge owner in Costa Rica and took my female staff to Blue Osa for a girls getaway. This is a great spot to enjoy the quiet and solitude of the beach in an un-rushed environment. We got massages, ate delicious food, and had a great time getting to know the staff. It was a special treat! It has a very campy and cozy feel to it (mealtimes are set and served family style, which I love). Be aware that the mornings at Blue Osa are quiet (i.e., there is meditation time) so if you want to be chatty in the a.m., grab a cup of coffee, head to the beach and talk to the fish! Or, use the meditation time to meditate and reflect on the beauty there, which is an ideal spot to soak it all in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treehousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was my 1st stay at Blue Osa. The property is right on the beach on lush landscaped grounds. The design of the buildings and pool is very zen-like and blends perfectly with the surroundings. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. I mentioned casually to another guest that I wish my room had a little more ventilation and soon after discovered a large floor-stand fan in my room and another smaller fan on my nigh stand! The food is amazing! Marie, the cook had an array of completely different dishes prepared every day. I had heard she never cooks the same thing twice! I had a couple of massages by Jesus and an acupuncture session from Koji - both wonderful! Thank you Aaron, Paul, Michael, Marie and the rest of the staff... hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: If you have the bucks get the penthouse (at canopy level)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Blue Osa is located in a very private setting with a nice beach and plush grounds. The staff is excellent and they do a great job keeping the place clean.

I was expecting something different as they call it a resort. It does not have amenities that you would expect a traditional resort to have. I applaud that they are eco-friendly but there is a price to pay for that. For instance, no air conditioning. The ceiling fan is on a timer so you have to continually get up at night to turn it back on. They ask you (many times) to not flush the toilet paper. This I understand however, they should empty the trash more than once/day for the odor.

I also felt they were "nickel and diming" us. If you get there before 4PM you will be charged for lunch even though there is nowhere else to eat. They don't include that meal in your price. They also charge for yoga mats which I find ridiculous. They should just include that in the total price if you are there for a yoga retreat.

The food is exceptional however, there isn't always enough of it. For breakfast they serve fruit and granola. Although both are delicious, I'm still hungry. Many of the snacks were light as well. So bring some nutritional bars or nuts to hold you over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueosa, Owner at Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi DG,

Thank you so much for your comments to us. We always make a point of letting our staff know any positive reviews that come to Blue Osa, and that the hard work they do to make Blue Osa happen is appreciated and valued. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed the food and will make sure Marie knows. She takes such great care and pride in how the guests are taken care of in the dining room.

I am so sorry that Blue Osa did not meet your expectation and I am grateful that we have an opportunity to clarify a few missing details in this review.  Reviews really help Blue Osa to get our message across and help people to prepare for the journey us.

I would like to address a couple of the factual comments you made.

1.  Even though we are referred to as a resort, in true definition, while we are seemingly a resort, we are actually a yoga retreat.  We are not Club Med, or a cruise line with an all service buffet and amenities.  The magic of Blue Osa, as you may have found, comes through in the simplicity of what we offer.  We have found that our guests come to us because we have great environmental practices and while we do not preach to our guests a specific way of being, we definitely encourage a practice of learning and mindfulness.  

2. The fans are on a timer for one hour in the rooms.  The ceiling fans draw an enormous amount of power from our battery banks which are charged by the sun during the day.  If all the fans were left on during the night, our battery banks would be drained before the morning.   We do provide bed fans which are small, very eco friendly, and very powerful.  Typically, most guests leave their bed fans on a low setting in the night and have to turn them off because the temperature drops about 10 degrees.

3. We are currently working on putting some more information on our website about the costs of running an eco retreat.  But to give you an idea, we currently just replaced our battery bank which cost us $30,000.   Although this is changing, it is not cheap to be environmentally aware due to the lack of infrastructure.  But it is the commitment of Blue Osa to do its part, and the guests who come to Blue Osa are contributing in showing up. So we thank you for showing up.

4.  We have down our best to indicate very clearly on our website, welcome package, frequently asked questions, and here on Trip Advisor that we do NOT provide air conditioning and clearly this was not communicated to you. If you could let us know how we could improve in how we impart information, please let us know because it is so important for us to have happy and taken care of guests when they come to Blue Osa.

5. We do charge for the use of a yoga mat. Guests have the option of bringing one, or renting a thick yoga mat while they are at Blue Osa.  While this may seem outrageous to many, the costs of shipping these mats and providing these services are enormous.  You made a great suggestion of just adding it to the price of staying at Blue Osa.  We would like to keep our prices as low as possible, and then allow people to choose what they would like to take advantage of from our services when they arrive.

6. Our check in time is at 2 PM and our check out time is at 10 PM.  As we include meals in the cost of staying with us, we do charge for lunch if someone would like to come early on the day of check-in, or stay later on the day of check-out.

7.  One of the biggest comments we receive from our guests is how much food there is.  I believe you stayed at Blue Osa during a yoga retreat in which we served four meals a day. Two heaver meals and two lighter meals.  While we typically serve buffet style meals to allow people to choose from the options provided, we are not an all you can eat service.  Having said that, if you had indicated your "hunger" to us, we would have been more than happy to do our best to accommodate you.

8.  We do ask our guests to throw the toilet paper in the trash bins, and on a point of interest, this is a practice you typically do throughout latin america and asia. Our system is very sensitive to toilet paper and can cause no end of problems.  The toilet paper trash bins have a lid, and are emptied every morning when we service the rooms.  We are happy to empty it more often upon request.

We do our best to be up-front as possible on our website about what to expect when booking with us.   I wish we could have done better for you.

Blessings
Yogi Aaron
Owner and Yoga Director of Blue Osa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had no previous experience with Costa Rica, so I was a virgin to the hospitable culture as well as to The Blue Osa Yoga Retreat. I was with my partner attending a yoga retreat and as you might imagine from the website, it's a perfect place for such an event. The group was great, the room was beautiful and an excellent beach - practically private. Truly one of my best vacations ever. I've always been a fan of the Big Island, but traveling from the East coast - it's just too long of a journey for a week. Costa Rica was a short 4 hour flight to San Jose from Charlotte, NC and then a small plane connection to the Osa Peninsula. Better to arrive a day before your retreat for an overnight in San Jose. Not much to see or do in San Jose, but it makes for an easier trip. I preferred Nature Air for the local flight even though it's at a different airport. Less restrictions on luggage weight and the taxi trip is about 25 minutes from almost anywhere in San Jose.

The food and staff are equally as fantastic. It's was Valentines Day during our visit and the staff made our room especially beautiful as a surprise for my partner. Very sweet!

I feel like I will visit The Blue Osa many times in the future. I personally think that visiting a place as remote as The Blue Osa, it's best done as a group retreat. However, I spend a lot of time alone (too much) and I loved the group energy. That's just a personal preference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Blue Osa is on a beach in the southeast of the Osa Peninsula. One morning I counted 18 scarlet macaws flying overhead in a 1.5 hour period. There are a gazillion green parrots, and seemingly 10 x as many howler monkeys who make a cacophony of noise, but are actually really cute black monkeys. Sitting by the lap pool after swimming I looked up and realized there were 4 Toucans in the tree above me. Yet, what makes Blue Osa an amazing place, are the people who work there. Aaron, the co-owner, has done an amazing job in attracting exceptionally kind and efficient people. Paul is bursting with personality and humor. Michael, the young administrator, is quite simply the most helpful and kind administrator I have ever encountered. He ran the Blue Osa flawlessly when Aaron was away for a few days. Marie, the French chef, is phenomenal, as are her assistant chefs. Every meal is a treat. Nago, the taxi driver, has a wealth of information about the environment and the locale, if you speak Spanish. And don't forget Jesus, a masseuse from a family of traditional healers and medical doctors, who is so in tune with the body that he finds things that others have missed and helps to resolve them. Most importantly, Blue Osa is an ideal place for quiet, reflection and yoga. David Moreno's yoga retreat was masterful. And the surfing was fun, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaveHogW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
4.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
2.9 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.1 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.6 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Property: Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Address: Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Blue Osa Yoga Retreat & Spa our mission is simple: To provide you with an unforgettable experience –– nourishing body, mind and spirit.Let your focal point be the ocean. Imagine a cool ocean breeze across your face. Our yoga deck was designed to facilitate an immersive yoga experience: farm-to-table meals, first-class pampering, and beautiful eco-friendly accommodations. Our secluded beachfront property is located on Costa Rica’s biologically diverse Osa Peninsula. Here you will find coconut trees, colorful wildlife and crashing waves –– all guaranteed to provide a tranquil setting for letting go and living the pure life. Whether you’re looking for a tropical paradise to relax & renew, to delve deeper into your yoga practice, OR an exotic locale to embark on Travel-Channel-worthy adventures, we’ve got you covered. We offer tailor-made experiences for individuals, groups and retreat leaders. Our packages include yoga, eco-spa therapies and various nearby tropical adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat And Spa Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing