We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect Vacation and Yoga Retreat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Vacation and Yoga Retreat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had no previous experience with Costa Rica, so I was a virgin to the hospitable culture as well as to The Blue Osa Yoga Retreat. I was with my partner attending a yoga retreat and as you might imagine from the website, it's a perfect place for such an event. The group was great, the room was beautiful and an excellent beach - practically private. Truly one of my best vacations ever. I've always been a fan of the Big Island, but traveling from the East coast - it's just too long of a journey for a week. Costa Rica was a short 4 hour flight to San Jose from Charlotte, NC and then a small plane connection to the Osa Peninsula. Better to arrive a day before your retreat for an overnight in San Jose. Not much to see or do in San Jose, but it makes for an easier trip. I preferred Nature Air for the local flight even though it's at a different airport. Less restrictions on luggage weight and the taxi trip is about 25 minutes from almost anywhere in San Jose.

The food and staff are equally as fantastic. It's was Valentines Day during our visit and the staff made our room especially beautiful as a surprise for my partner. Very sweet!

I feel like I will visit The Blue Osa many times in the future. I personally think that visiting a place as remote as The Blue Osa, it's best done as a group retreat. However, I spend a lot of time alone (too much) and I loved the group energy. That's just a personal preference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    23
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
75
153
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Blue Osa is on a beach in the southeast of the Osa Peninsula. One morning I counted 18 scarlet macaws flying overhead in a 1.5 hour period. There are a gazillion green parrots, and seemingly 10 x as many howler monkeys who make a cacophony of noise, but are actually really cute black monkeys. Sitting by the lap pool after swimming I looked up and realized there were 4 Toucans in the tree above me. Yet, what makes Blue Osa an amazing place, are the people who work there. Aaron, the co-owner, has done an amazing job in attracting exceptionally kind and efficient people. Paul is bursting with personality and humor. Michael, the young administrator, is quite simply the most helpful and kind administrator I have ever encountered. He ran the Blue Osa flawlessly when Aaron was away for a few days. Marie, the French chef, is phenomenal, as are her assistant chefs. Every meal is a treat. Nago, the taxi driver, has a wealth of information about the environment and the locale, if you speak Spanish. And don't forget Jesus, a masseuse from a family of traditional healers and medical doctors, who is so in tune with the body that he finds things that others have missed and helps to resolve them. Most importantly, Blue Osa is an ideal place for quiet, reflection and yoga. David Moreno's yoga retreat was masterful. And the surfing was fun, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaveHogW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We've just returned from a week long yoga retreat held at the Blue Osa. To get there, you have to take a puddle jumper from San Jose, which was no problem on Air Sansa - about a 40 minute flight to Puerto Jiminez (the "airport" is right next to the local cemetery), then a 30 minute drive on a dirt road. (By the way, Puerto Jiminez is itself cool, and if you have time you should walk to the beach on the other side of the air strip.) Blue Osa is a really beautiful property, with an expansive lawn leading to a very nice beach. This is definitely an "eco" lodge, so no television, no telephones, limited hot water, and you put your used toilet paper in a trash can, not in the toilet. There was pretty solid wi fi available, with only occasional interruptions. The beach is swimmable, and we had no surf to speak of. The food was excellent (Marie is the french head chef). It is mostly vegetarian, but they did serve chicken and fish on some evenings. This is not a place for a bar scene, but you could get a cold beer, a glass of wine or the evening "specialty" cocktail. They do a thing at dinner where once the food is put out, a dinner bell rings, and people gather around the food table. Then, Aaron (the manager) makes some announcements about the next day's "activities" (such as surfing, hiking, zip lining, horseback riding, etc, and encourages sign ups for massage and acupuncture), and then each dish is described. (Yes, you have to be patient.) We were never hungry, per se, but some food dishes ran out from time to time, which I think causes people unnecessarily to rush to get in line. There are a number of dogs on the property - they are very cool dogs, who follow you down to the beach and are really mellow, and hang out with you. There are also a couple of resident cats, and one kitten who took over the yoga studio and was very entertaining. Aside from yoga, the highlight activities for us included surfing (we went to surf school down the road at pollo surfing school), and we also took bikes from the lodge way down the beach to another lodge called Iguana Lodge (really yummy beer on tap there). Two of the dogs accompanied us the whole way. All beach toys cost extra, by the way. But you don't need to pack a beach towel, because they had them at the resort. I don't know if every yoga retreat was like this, but our schedule was: 6 a.m. - breathing / mediation; 7 a.m. - light snack; 7:30 a.m. - 2 + hours of yoga (really great studio); 10:30 a.m. bell rings for "brunch;" free time; 2 p.m. really light snack; 4:30 p.m. - yoga; 6:30 p.m. - dinner. This is a wonderful spot, with howler monkeys and myriad birds making wonderful noises. We hope to return. Thanks Aaron and staff. -Art

Room Tip: We had the penthouse, which was quite a bit more expensive, and frankly, I'm not sure it's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkeleyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Blue Osa, simply put, is paradise. This year I was fortunate enough to return to Blue Osa for a second time. The beauty of the property, the kindness of the staff and the incredible food are just a few of the reasons you must visit this place at least once in your lifetime, and then I guarantee you will want to return again.
My intention in returning to Blue Osa was to find a sense of ease and peace and I was able to fall into the natural organic rythm of harmony very quickly once I arrived. The property is stunning and is the perfect place to relax and soak in the beauty of the natural surroundings. The spa facility is also incredible. You MUST have a massage from Jesus, he is very intuitive and will know exactly what you need.
The food is amazing with Marie in the kitchen and lovely fresh foods. As a vegetarian I was very well-fed and the way the food is prepared and presented with love helps you to remember to be grateful for everything the earth provides.
The staff are beyond words. Everyone is so accepting, compassionate and kind that they make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive and for the duration of your stay. I was greeted by "welcome home" and I cannot wait to go back. Thank you Aaron, Marie, Paul, Michael and everyone at Blue Osa for an amazing week. Much love...

Room Tip: The rooms under the yoga deck are amazing. I would also recommend the tree-climbing and waterfall r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prbm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I left New York a total stressed-out mess and came back completely relaxed. NO complaints. What I liked about this place is that it is not part of some big slick resort chain, its small enough that you feel attended to without the hovering. Impeccably clean, outstanding food, warm friendly people, beautiful quiet beach, and nature everywhere. Its a bit difficult to get to but you really feel as though you are away from it all. I'm coming back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from a yoga retreat at Blue Osa. Thank you David M and Bob P. The Blue Osa grounds are beautiful and are kept pristine! The staff are outstanding and make you feel at home. The ocean access is great! The beach is spectacular. The meals prepared by Marie and her staff are fresh, filling and spectacular! The resort mascots (both dogs and cats) give it a home like feeling. I received an acupuncture session with Koji which I highly recommend. He is extremely knowledgable and professional. The rooms are comfortable but remember, no air conditioning. Nothing that a good ceiling and bedside fan can't help you through the night. My room was kept clean and fresh. One thing to watch is the shower water temperature! You have the option of HOT or COLD. The pool area is excellent and makes for a great swim anytime.

Room Tip: I would probably choose any of the room under the Yoga facility for my next trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
243 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a yoga retreat for men at Blue Osa. I found out that i am not much of a fan of yoga. That is not the point of this review. I am giving an overall rating of four stars, because the rooms are not five stars. They are adequate and attractive, but lack air conditioning and the hot water situation has an improvement in the works, so i was told. Otherwise, this place really is a class act, with its beautiful grounds overlooking the sea. The word idyllic come to mind. The meals are certainly first rate under the direction of Marie, a native of southern France. I had two first rate massages, one by Jesus and the other by Marcela. The highlight of my week was the acupuncture sesssion with Koji, a very interesting young man, a doctor of Chinese medicine. There is an array of dogs and cats to please an animal lover like me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
4.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
2.9 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
4.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 44 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
6.7 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
13.4 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Property: Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Address: Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Blue Osa Yoga Retreat & Spa our mission is simple: To provide you with an unforgettable experience –– nourishing body, mind and spirit.Let your focal point be the ocean. Imagine a cool ocean breeze across your face. Our yoga deck was designed to facilitate an immersive yoga experience: farm-to-table meals, first-class pampering, and beautiful eco-friendly accommodations. Our secluded beachfront property is located on Costa Rica’s biologically diverse Osa Peninsula. Here you will find coconut trees, colorful wildlife and crashing waves –– all guaranteed to provide a tranquil setting for letting go and living the pure life. Whether you’re looking for a tropical paradise to relax & renew, to delve deeper into your yoga practice, OR an exotic locale to embark on Travel-Channel-worthy adventures, we’ve got you covered. We offer tailor-made experiences for individuals, groups and retreat leaders. Our packages include yoga, eco-spa therapies and various nearby tropical adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat And Spa Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing