We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Serenity and beauty”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I spent a sublime week at Blue Osa -- the location, the more or less private beach, the excellent food and the friendly staff-- made it a truly memorable experience. The hotel website gives you a good intro to what's in store. They are very eco-conscious, and if you are going for yoga, this is certainly the place for you. If, however, you are looking for somewhere to replicate your urban consumerist life in a tropical setting, this will not be to your taste. At Blue Osa you truly can un-plug and leave as small a 21st century footprint as possible while relaxing and taking in the beauty of the surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    27
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
80
204
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just spent a week there on a yoga retreat and had an exceptional experience. I love nature and Blue Osa is right in the middle of it all - jungle, beach, wildlife. There are beautiful birds everywhere, and you may be awoken at dawn by the sound of howler monkeys (although I didn't spot any directly on the grounds). The yoga practice studio overlooks the beach and is beautiful. The food was excellent and the staff exceptionally friendly. There were many day trips and excursions that could be arranged. The pool is gorgeous. I can't wait to go back to the Blue Osa.
Mike L, NY, NY

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Blue Osa Changed my life! Secluded black sand beaches, neat architecture, Amazing dinners and the best yoga instruction I have ever had doesn't even describe my life-changing experience! This was such an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebillbula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I’m referring to my 11 days at Blue Osa as my “Goldilocks Vacation” – everything was just right, and in many cases better. I loved my stay. I went for 11 nights and 7 of them were the week long Christmas yoga retreat with Aaron. Aaron, Adam, Marie and Paul are amazing and gracious, super treat souls.

The accommodations were great. I stayed in Room 7 – Shanti, under the yoga studio and it was perfect. I was a single, woman traveling alone and Costa Rica is a great, easy country to travel to and the information that Blue Osa provided made me trip from San Francisco to the beautiful jungle easy, safe and stress free.

Blue Osa is on the gulf side of the Osa. There is a beautiful beach where you can walk down to a river and see all kinds of animals. Crazy animals in every place you let yourself look close and just take a breath. In the first two hours of my visit, just walking around the grounds, I saw white-faced capuchins including with 3 moms with 3 babies on their backs, a toucan, howler monkeys, scarlet macaws – ask Fillo who works at Blue Osa to show you his latest around the grounds. If you are into biodiversity, this place is teaming. I can name so many more. Fillo will take you to see whatever animal you can name and the Osa will give you something that is beyond what you can imagine up.

Marie and her staff. AMAZING. The food was wonderful. You will marvel at every meal. The presentation, the cut flowers from the grounds. Every meal and Blue Osa was a delight (I’ve been to the Osa before and this is not typical nor are the accommodations or the spa).

I left with numbers of friends. And I now know more than a handful of people that I look forward to seeing in my city or when I visit theirs’.

I had a lot of fun while I stayed and went kayaking in the mangroves, traveled across the bay to the animal sanctuary and the botanic garden, went on the chocolate farm tour, took a night hike, waterfall hike and birding tour with the Blue Osa guide (Fillo), went zip lining, and I think something else besides my solo walks and the spa! Yes, it costs money but you can’t put a price on the memories or the benefit to your mental health or the people you meet or what you see.

I’m a little late in writing my review because I am practicing what I learned at Blue Osa rest, relaxation, giving to myself and to others and true pura vida.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We spent Christmas and New Year at the Blue Osa and what a treat it was! We live part time in Costa Rica and can honestly say the food here was the best we have ever had anywhere which is particularly amazing considering the location.

To see scarlet macaws in the wild is sight to behold and you'll not be sorry if you stay at the Blue Osa located right on the bay with miles of deserted beach.

Although the wildlife was fascinating so were the other residents. A nicer, more interesting bunch of homo sapiens you couldn't have wished to meet!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hstn2guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2012

When planning my trip to BLUE OSA, Aaron first told me that for however long I stay, by the end, I will wish I had stayed longer. I thought he was alluding to strolling the gorgeous beach just steps away (kayaked the early morning surf), the exotic wildlife and jungle adventures (Tree Climbing and exquisite waterfalls), or getting that last spa treatment to soothe the soul (heavenly!)...when I left, I realized that all these things became a backdrop to what Blue Osa is really about...FAMILY.
Traveling on my own, I was immediately welcomed with smiles and laughter. Michael, the property manager, and his team were nothing short of professional and integral in making my visit absolutely flawless. Marie and her incredibly talented kitchen staff provided me some of the most delicious and freshest meals I could ask for. And Aaron's spiritual guidance allowed my yoga practice to flourish and THRIVE!! Of course there are two souls that really run Blue Osa, Rama and Shiva...they run around the property like it's their kingdom and embody the true spirit of family and unity.
Muchas Gracias from the bottom of my heart to the caring, hard working and friendly staff of Blue Osa. You made my time here a true oasis of bliss and I look forward to my return and re-connecting with you all again. Much love and light from the Great White Way. Besos!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogiSuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I recently returned home from our incredible stay at the Blue Osa, and could not be happier.
The setting was spectacular! They are surrounded by the rainforest, but have created a chic, sophisticated space. The wood used there is all teak and their signature colors are refreshing blues and crisp white. The yoga studio is set up on the second floor above room accomodations, and is unbeatable!
Something unique to Blue Osa alone, is the friendly, open atmosphere and people we met there. My husband and I have traveled all over the world, together & individually, and both agree we have never met so many amazing people in one place before. I adored each guest I met there. We normally don't socialize too much, as we are so happy doing our own thing and being together, but here they place your napkin at a table for you and at dinner you come in and find where you are sitting. I was happily surprised at what a noninvasive way this was to get to know new people. And was even more delighted with the interesting conversations we had. And the dinners/food was phenomenal! Marie, the head chef, is extremely talented. It was always so fun to see what would be served!
My husband and I spent our days waking up with the sunrise, heading to the dining area for coffee, fresh fruit, granola & yogurt, then for a run, beach jog or some activity before brunch. A delicious brunch, then more sport or reading by the pool or hammock. Usually I'd paddle board & he'd surf for an hour or two around sunset, then head in for a hot shower (and yes, the water was always hot! ;) ) and get ready for dinner. At dinner we would enjoy great conversations, a delicious meal, and a yummy specially made cocktail there.
We saw toucans, macaws, any of four different species of monkey daily, as well as many different colorful birds.
This trip was a luxury for my soul!
You will love Aaron, Paul, Marie, Jesus (amazing massuese!), and all the staff there. I enjoyed them each so very much.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
12.1 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
4.6 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 42 in Osa Peninsula
615 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
6.7 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa

Property: Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Address: Osa Peninsula, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Blue Osa Yoga Retreat & Spa our mission is simple: To provide you with an unforgettable experience –– nourishing body, mind and spirit.Let your focal point be the ocean. Imagine a cool ocean breeze across your face. Our yoga deck was designed to facilitate an immersive yoga experience: farm-to-table meals, first-class pampering, and beautiful eco-friendly accommodations. Our secluded beachfront property is located on Costa Rica’s biologically diverse Osa Peninsula. Here you will find coconut trees, colorful wildlife and crashing waves –– all guaranteed to provide a tranquil setting for letting go and living the pure life. Whether you’re looking for a tropical paradise to relax & renew, to delve deeper into your yoga practice, OR an exotic locale to embark on Travel-Channel-worthy adventures, we’ve got you covered. We offer tailor-made experiences for individuals, groups and retreat leaders. Our packages include yoga, eco-spa therapies and various nearby tropical adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Osa Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat And Spa Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing