We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Lodging on the Osa”
Review of Las Islas Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Islas Lodge
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Lodging on the Osa”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was initially underwhelmed when we rolled up to Las Islas because I was hoping that non-hotel amenities (food) would be more easily available and the Lodge is about a mile away from PJ. After picking up some groceries and dinner on the first night, I think that one of the best attributes of Las Islas is that mile buffer.

We relaxed by the pool while toucans swooped in to check out the mango tree. You can hear the howler monkeys in the surrounding bush. The people running Las Islas both in the office and who run excursions on their behalf were excellent and genuinely friendly. The restaurant is closed in the off-season and it makes no difference because the adjoining lodge/ restaurant is run by people who bent over backwards for our young family.

Rooms were comfortable with high ceilings and good A/C.

One tip: If you make excursions other than the obvious one to Corcovado, get a guide. Juan Carlos was excellent and I wish that we'd had him with us on our trip to Matapalo. The guides know the sounds and the preferred foods of the animals and you will therefore see a lot of what you'd normally miss.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtwwith3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
83
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I went to Las Islas Lodge in early December of this year and stayed 4 days and I received the best service I had ever received at any hotels in my life. First off I got picked up at the airport and then the Taxi driver brought me to the grocery store and waited for me to do my shopping and brought me back to the hotel and to my surprise the taxi was free and paid by the hotel. Each day Maria and Oscar went out of their way to provide items and any request I had. While staying at the hotel I decided to do a 2 nights 3 day trip and Corcovado Jungle and my first night in Corcovado was the last night at the hotel and Maria arranged that I could change my last night to when I returned free of charged. They moved my luggage to another room. When I went on trips they provided me with bug spray, spoon. Oscar even drove me to the bus station to get a ticket and then next morning got up at 4:45 AM to pick me up at my room and drive me to the bus station. They treat you like family. I highly recommend them and the hotel. I also highly recommend Juan Carlos as a personal tour guide. Great person. Very knowledgeable.

Thanks and May GOD bless you,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We recommend everyone to stay hete
Forget the expensive lodges like the blue osa where the service for trying to stay there was very unpersonal and disappointing
At las islas the people give great service, are more than kind and THE habitaciones are lovely big and very clean
We've been picked up along THE dirtroads many times By THE locals while we were walking in THE rain
Not By THE big cars of THE expensive lodges though They just let you stand there and drive very fast nearby
Costa Rica is à very Nice country with very Nice people
Pitty to See THE expensive companies take over without any feeling for THE Costarican ways
Karin and peter

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathapetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My first time to the Osa region which ended up to be the favorite part of my Costa Rica trip in large part due to our stay at Las Islas Lodge and the hospitality of Maria and Oscar. First the rooms are large, modern, with A/C, a small refrig and immaculately clean. Set among pretty garden landscaping the small pool was a welcome treat after a long day, hiking in the jungle. Customer service is supreme here. When I needed to make a non-emergent visit to the local health clinic, Oscar personally drove us there and stayed to assist with the interpreting. Likewise, the rest of the staff, were always checking in with us to ensure all our needs were being met. The location is a short 15 minute walk to town and/or the beach (or a $2.00 taxi fare) and is close to many restaurants. Las Islas is an exceptional value and I will be staying there again, when I return to Osa. Ask for Juan Carlos if you are interested in doing some guided bird/annimal spotting trips or want to have a very special experience hiking in the jungle to visit a real Costa Rican organic farm and have a special lunch.

Room Tip: We were in #2 and loved it as it was close to the pool, but very quiet. Nice chairs and benches out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLPA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My wife and I started our honeymoon at teh Las Islas Lodge the end of July, 2011. We cannot say enough good things about Las Islas. Maria, the office manager is wonderful to work with. She helped us with our arrival and departure plans and was att he airport to pick us up upon our arrival. Whenever we needed anything, Maria was ready and willing to assist. The staff at the lodge were exceptional. Our room was always super clean and comfortable. The gardener was there in an instant to assist with our needs.....he even brought us candles on a super stormy night when power had been knocked out. Teh grounds were immaculate and the cabins dry and comfortable. Oscar, the owner was incredible. He went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. From our deep sea fishing adventure to having a chilled bottle of champage waiting in our room as a suprise, he was a great host. We can't wait for our next trip to Costa RIca. The Las Islas Lodge will be on our list for another stay when we make it back!

Bill and Timberley

Room Tip: ASk to stay in back if possible for more privacy and further from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abjanowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Have visited the Osa a few times & always stayed here. This lodge has a private feel that is immediately inviting. Very clean and close to both fishing & eco attractions. Oscar, the owner is a charismatic guy who greets you with the warmth of an old friend. He makes sure your visit is an enjoyable one with a personal touch. Amazing fishing captain with a great sense of humor & extremely knowledgeable about local life & wildlife.

Have never caught as many different kinds of monster fish in my life. Incredible fishing on a coastline that is breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcoastcaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Las Islas Lodge is aesthetically pleasing with a location near the water and the airport. The rooms are clean, modern and well equipped. But what really impressed me was the service the Lodge provided in arranging all the details of our fishing trip, including adjusting to unforeseen last minute travel changes. These problems were handled calmly and efficiently without extra cost. The all-inclusive package included home cooked meals which used local ingredients including freshly caught fish cooked as well as any I have had. The kitchen was able to meet the special dietary needs of a traveler with a severe dairy allergy. I have fished many locations across the USA and Canada, and have never experienced the abundance and variety of fish I came across during this fishing trip, led by the Maestro's Captain, Oscar. He has a personal touch and is thorough in his trip planning. He seems to know everyone. His fish stories are great. The entire experience was highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkPopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.7 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
11.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crocodile Bay Resort
Crocodile Bay Resort
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.7 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Islas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Islas Lodge

Property: Las Islas Lodge
Address: 1 km North of Puerto Jimenez down town or 1 km before arriving at Puerto Jimenez on the main road, Puerto Jimenez 90-8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Islas Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Note: Rates in Green Season do not includes Breakfast. Breakfast just includes in high season. Las Islas Lodge is a newly built and recently inaugurated full-service Hotel with top-shelf accommodations just two minutes from the entrance to Puerto Jimenez. Ten bungalows are distributed across manicured gardens and feature air-conditioning, private bathrooms, hot water, vaulted ceilings, tropical hardwood accents, queen-sized beds, and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Islas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Islas Lodge Costa Rica/Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing