We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica 2014”
Review of Villas de Oros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villas de Oros
Certificate of Excellence
City of Industry, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Costa Rica 2014”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very happy with Villas de Oros. I felt like I was visiting a friend or family member. Hollie and Vicky were wonderfully hospitable, helpful, and a joy to chat with. Our room was adorable. The hotel grounds were beautiful. I marked sleep quality low as the mosquitos were eating me alive...hey, they found their way into the room...which is fine....I wanted to stay in the jungle...and little things that bite naturally live in the jungle. The area is a close 15 minute walk to the beach, and a short distance from ojochal town turnout. Clean, refreshing pool. beautiful views from my outdoor kitchen balcony.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank matuays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    28
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Loved everything about our villa. Clean, convenient, jungle in our backyard, even vacation puppies to play with! The only drawback was the no AC in the unit. I can sleep just fine in heat, but my boyfriend gets a little anxious and had to keep a wet towel on him through the night. We had all the fans on though. Best memory at Villas de Oros: lounging in the balcony hammock listening to music, while I waited for my boyfriend to finish his massage right on our porch, so I could be next for my massage. THAT is paradise!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urk, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

At villas d'Oros we found a warm welcome, a well decorated room, good beds and a great view from the outdoor kitchen on the balcony to have a close look at animals we were searching for during the jungle trips we did before. You almost could invite howler monkeys to join at breakfast!
The romance of the night is more or less influenced by the highway nearby, but what the heck, bring earplugs!
Wilco & Anique

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wilco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Quaint but somewhat rugged setting with beautiful views of the animal sanctuary right in the backyard. Seeing the ocean through about 200 meters of undisrupted jungle was also amazing. When I visited in early March, sunset was around 6pm and the pool was a great way to relax in the evening after a day of sightseeing. The rooms are certainly not what some may consider "luxury," but they are clean and comfortable with your own private balcony and mini kitchen. If you're looking to get away, see some wildlife, relax, and experience Costa Rica, this is a perfect spot! The owners will take good care of you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I enjoyed staying here- the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the bonus room of an outdoor deck looking over a canopy of trees was lovely. The pool was clean and refreshing. Thanks! I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lpwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This "hotel" is really so very charming. It is small and the people who own/manage the property are very, very welcoming and helpful in every manner. The location is easy to find, just off of a main road. But is is still very quiet. The beach nearby is within walking distance although driving is also very easy. It is nearly untouched and gorgeous. The accommodations are simple, clean, and comfortable. They are not elaborate but for us, perfect. And the price for the accommodation is extremely reasonable. My only regret is that we didn't have a lot of time to stay in the area and get to enjoy the so many offerings it presents! Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same so no major difference in choices that we knew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollee24k, Owner at Villas de Oros, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your Kind words, have no regrets in this life!!! Please come back and spend more time!
Pura Vida
Hollee & Vikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed three nights here and loved it. Rooms were nice and the view from the deck was awesome. There are only 4 or 5 casitas so you often have the place to yourself. There is a very nice pool and sitting area. And we loved having Natea keep us company on our walks or whatever we were doing. She is a four legged sweetheart.

We saw lots of wildlife without leaving our deck. Monkeys, toucans, hummingbirds and all kinds of beautiful butterfly's were seen daily there. For the more adventurous I recommend walkind down to the river below and then walking right through it to the ocean. Lots of wildlife there early in the morning. Won't need to set an alarm as the howler monkeys will wake you before sunrise.

I do have to mention, though,the one and only negative aspect of this establishment is that it is located fairly close to the highway. You can't see it but you will hear the trucks as they go by. Most people were not bothered by it but I think it does need to be mentioned. That is why I gave it four stars instead of five.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollee24k, Owner at Villas de Oros, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
So happy you got to enjoy the abundance of wild life here at the Villas! Hope to see you next time!!!
Pura Vida
Hollee & Vikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Tortuga
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
1.1 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
499 reviews
12.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas de Oros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Oros

Property: Villas de Oros
Address: 200 meters north of the entrance to Ojochal, Playa Tortuga 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Playa Tortuga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Playa Tortuga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas de Oros 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 villas, nestled in the canopy above Tortuga beach, the town is full of wonderful eats and adventures. Each villa boasts its own charm, the river or ocean views, each has a small refrigerator, coffee pot, and private deck. Monkey troops cross the property almost daily, and because of the fruit and nut trees parrots and Toucans can often been seen and heard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas de Oros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Oros Costa Rica/Playa Tortuga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing