We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myriam Vuylsteke, from Belgium "Amazing"”
Review of Hotel Villas Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villas Gaia
Zomergem, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Myriam Vuylsteke, from Belgium "Amazing"”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I think of Hotel Villas Gaia as a little paradise on the Southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. It was the most likable we've been to. The people who work there are very friendly, especially the owners, a Dutch couple. The restaurant has very nice typical food served with care. It's also open every day and from early till late. The casitas are spread over the junglegarden: each casita has a balcony,where you can sit and watch the colourfull birds and butterflies,we loved it.The rooms are clean, with fan and air-conditioning, a nice bathroom and a locker for your valuables.There is a refreshing swimmingpool at the top with an excellent view on the ocean, we enjoyed it during daytime, but also in the evenings. The first morning the gardener showed us a sloth, hanging with its baby in a tree nearby the swimmingpool, so lovable. We explored the whole region from that point, the people from the hotel helped us to get it organized. We went to Corcovado, we explored the mangroves by kayak, so impressing. We couldn't miss a canopytour and spotted a lot of animals (spidermonkeys and others, a dangerous small green frog, ara's, toekans....) The hotel organizes walks in the jungle with a guide, early in the morning or at night, not to miss, so exciting. One day we should go back, thanks for the wonderfull time we had there ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myriam v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasGaia, Propietario at Hotel Villas Gaia, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you Myriam for your nice words. We do hope that you will visit us again.
There are so many more sites to visit and excursions to do in this natural wonderland
Hasta pronto!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    77
    38
    18
    6
See reviews for
68
105
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Of all the hotels we've seen in Costa Rica, this was the most fantastic one. The location on the Southern Pacific Coast is great. From here we explored the whole region: Corcovado, the mangroves from Rio Terraba, Isla del Cano and many more places.The staff was very helpful to organize the trips (even when we changed plans).
We loved our casita and its balcony with jungleview (we even spotted a coati!). The beds are good and there's air-conditioning and a locker. The pool was very relaxing and the ocean view astonishing. We even went for a swim in the evenings.
The restaurant was opened all day (not very usual in the lower seasons) and the food was great.
What we did like too was the walk at night, in the area. We spotted so many wildlife as frogs (Red-eyed Tree Frog), caymans and a lot of basilisks running over the water.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The room was very basic but it did have an air conditioner! The bed was also comfortable. The porch had a great view...we stayed in villa 12. The food at the restaurant was very good. The included breakfast made it a great value. We enjoyed being in the forest and watching the monkeys play in the tree tops.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the hill has the best view but lots of walking uphill. It is also close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambor, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villas Gaia for one night while in the area. It was "okay". The grounds arre nice. The woman who greeted us and took us to the room who I think was the owner seemed to be speaking by rote. She seemed tired or like she wished she was somewhere else. Then we were told that we had a room with a view. Um, I don't think any rooms had a view. If we walked to the side window we could see a small piece of ocean over the trees. A room with a view to me has an area or patio or at least a picture window where you can sit and admire the view. Not so with this room. It faced the opposite way and there was no window on the ocean side of the room. I should have called her on that right there, but didn't, but that and the woman's attitude put a bad taste in my mouth for the place. I thought that their pools hours were awfully restrictive, too. Plus I thought it was expensive for what we got; close to $100 after taxes.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool require a bit of a hike up a rather steep cement path. If you get a "ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynns_CR_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasGaia, Propietario at Hotel Villas Gaia, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the expected view.
Your room is the most wanted one of the hotel as it has some view from your balcony.

Hotel Villas Gaia does not promote itself as having ocean views from the rooms. All casitas/rooms are nestled in a jungle setting (see our website)
The ocean view is from the pool and bar area.

Pool hours are all day from sunrise till 22.00 pm to guarantee our other guests tranquility.

Thank you for your comment and we hope to be able to welcome you back one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am only now getting around to writing this... and quite surprised at the negative experience Riah M had... since we a) loved it; b) thought it matched the website expectations; c) stayed for 8 days.

Staff, particularly in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, were friendly, helpful and attentive. Food was outstanding; fruit and coffee at breakfast were standouts, although the crepes were delicious as well. We had dinner twice, and drinks/appetizers nearly every night before heading out for dinner elsewhere (Ojochal has a surplus of good restaurants, most a very short drive or long walk away). Service and quality of food was outstanding. Edgar looked out for us, and we felt cared for.

As to the room, I think it is perspective. Yes, the Casitas are not "luxury" -- this is an ecohotel. But clean, and cool, and except for the highway noise (an issue for all the coastal hotels) a delight. We actually liked the bed for the firmness, so much we're shopping for the equivalent for our home in the U.S.!

We enjoyed the "small" pool, and the distant view of the ocean. But our interests are modest, and we thought the price was great, and so we'll be back. Howler monkeys at dawn and morning, off in the distance. Fabulous sunsets. Great staff. Fair price. Good food.

We're happy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the casita closest to the road, and that is the loudest from the highway, so ask for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidbillstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed three nights at Villas Gaia. The room was nice and very clean. We had a great view into the rainforest and saw both capuchin monkeys and iguanas on our first morning. The staff is really friendly and helpful in all respects. The hotel offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and free wifi in the restaurant.
Playa Tortuga is in walking distance but for accessing Ballena or other interesting points, a car or a booked trip are necessary.
Ballena is really worth going. We did a four-hour whale watching tour which was amazing and the beaches there are among the most beautiful we have seen in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slothsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villas Gaia for 2 nights in February and were very happy with our casita. In addition, we received great service and the food in the restaurant was delicious. We spent a lot of time in the pool and really enjoyed the setting. We especially enjoyed seeing white-faced capuchins by the pool one morning. They were shy but stayed in the area for an hour or so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Tortuga
5.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
4.2 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
212 reviews
12.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Gaia

Property: Hotel Villas Gaia
Address: Costanera Sur, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Playa Tortuga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Tortuga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Gaia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Gaia offers a home base to experience the wild beauty of Costa Rica's southwest Pacific coast. One of the most biologically diverse regions on the earth. Strategic location on the new scenic coastal road. Convenient access to Ballena Marine National Park, Cano Island Biological reserve, Corcovado National Park and the most extensive mangrove ecosystem of Central America. Hotel Villas Gaia is 14 colorful bungalows (casitas) separately nestled in a jungle setting offering privacy and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villas Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Gaia Costa Rica/Playa Tortuga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing