We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch in restaurant”
Review of Hotel Villas Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villas Gaia
Reviewed February 8, 2013

did not stay here but the lunch and terrace was lovely! The chicken in curry and pineapple was delicious- the service and cleanliness quite high by CR standards. We did not stay here but had a look at the pool...looked like a nice place to stay near Playa Tortuga

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 236 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

On our most recent stop @ Villas Gaia we finally got lucky; they had a vacancy. As we knew it is a beautiful setting and the food is excellent, including breakfast (included in the room rate). Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately there was construction on the driveway, which woke us up earlier than we would have liked, & the mattress & linens were not up to US standards of rooms similarly priced. (But that's hard to find in Costa Rica). They offer interesting tours, have a great pool, grounds as well as rooms are impeccable clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delia1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Lovely cabinas set in a small but lush garden. Pool at the crest of a hill with views over the canopy and down to the coast. Pretty much in the middle of no where on a highway with occasional trucks passing but very nice and well equipped.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's been a couple of years but it seems like yesterday.
We talk about it so often.
We had such a fine time here.
It was our first time out of our home country, we were humbled in so many ways. We couldn't talk spanish, but we were fortunate enough there was always someone that talked english on our trip. Had all we needed. Hot water, clean rooms, comfortable beds, laundry, AC, pool, fantastic food, fair prices. Library of area plants, animals, and things to do,
Gardener will show you the jungle on the grounds and a staff that answered all your questions. The staff and owners are friendly and funny. We felt safe.
We miss them, they were so patient and forgiving with us through our fears, and our spoiled american sides that got frustrated quickly when things weren't just what we thought.
It's a good base camp if you are venturing about that part of the country.
You won't be disappointed. Enjoy.........

Room Tip: Cabanas up by the pool are farther from the rode noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen_mike33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I stopped in for a meal on our way to the Osa Penisula. We had one of the best meals of our stay in Costa Rica. The Snapper in Shrimp Sauce was so good, we stopped again on the way back north for the same meal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here because of the good recension in the travelguide. Altough this time it was not a good choise. No hot water in the shower, the restaurant is reasonable, no more, no less. The rooms are clean but very basic. Our eating table was gone in the early morning for catering a big group in the restaurant. Pricy. Catering for big groups is their main thing. Breakfast was a single pancake. Nice pool and garden though, hotel at busy road. Lots of better eat and sleeping opportunities in this area. Too expensive and basically not a great restaurant at all, anyway, not nowadays.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DR-ARTHUR-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in one of their cabinas nestled in the rainforest, so enjoyable! We had a smallish kitchen (sparcely equipped but they staff was eager to assist with glasses and such/so forth). Each bedroom had a/c which was heavenly so deep in the humid rainforest. The grounds were absolutely stunning, plentiful and well maintained plantings. Nice pool area with honor bar and slightly obscured ocean view (a bit of a walk to the pool and view). My package included the room, dinner and breakfast which was an absolute deal considering the location. Dinner (in the package) offered 2-3 options for fish, chicken, pasta etc. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh fruit, gallo pinto, fresh juices, wonderful coffee. A wonderful surprise esp. for the value, cabinas, view. A good spot enroute to locations north and south or just enjoy the local beaches!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LisaPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Tortuga
1.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
221 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
629 reviews
12.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Gaia

Address: Costanera Sur, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Playa Tortuga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Tortuga
Price Range: $69 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Gaia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Gaia offers a home base to experience the wild beauty of Costa Rica's southwest Pacific coast. One of the most biologically diverse regions on the earth. Strategic location on the new scenic coastal road. Convenient access to Ballena Marine National Park, Cano Island Biological reserve, Corcovado National Park and the most extensive mangrove ecosystem of Central America. Hotel Villas Gaia is 14 colorful bungalows (casitas) separately nestled in a jungle setting offering privacy and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villas Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Gaia Costa Rica/Playa Tortuga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing