We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch in restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Gaia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villas Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great lunch in restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

did not stay here but the lunch and terrace was lovely! The chicken in curry and pineapple was delicious- the service and cleanliness quite high by CR standards. We did not stay here but had a look at the pool...looked like a nice place to stay near Playa Tortuga

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    67
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
55
92
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hope, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On our most recent stop @ Villas Gaia we finally got lucky; they had a vacancy. As we knew it is a beautiful setting and the food is excellent, including breakfast (included in the room rate). Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately there was construction on the driveway, which woke us up earlier than we would have liked, & the mattress & linens were not up to US standards of rooms similarly priced. (But that's hard to find in Costa Rica). They offer interesting tours, have a great pool, grounds as well as rooms are impeccable clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delia1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Lovely cabinas set in a small but lush garden. Pool at the crest of a hill with views over the canopy and down to the coast. Pretty much in the middle of no where on a highway with occasional trucks passing but very nice and well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomira, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's been a couple of years but it seems like yesterday.
We talk about it so often.
We had such a fine time here.
It was our first time out of our home country, we were humbled in so many ways. We couldn't talk spanish, but we were fortunate enough there was always someone that talked english on our trip. Had all we needed. Hot water, clean rooms, comfortable beds, laundry, AC, pool, fantastic food, fair prices. Library of area plants, animals, and things to do,
Gardener will show you the jungle on the grounds and a staff that answered all your questions. The staff and owners are friendly and funny. We felt safe.
We miss them, they were so patient and forgiving with us through our fears, and our spoiled american sides that got frustrated quickly when things weren't just what we thought.
It's a good base camp if you are venturing about that part of the country.
You won't be disappointed. Enjoy.........

Room Tip: Cabanas up by the pool are farther from the rode noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen_mike33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I stopped in for a meal on our way to the Osa Penisula. We had one of the best meals of our stay in Costa Rica. The Snapper in Shrimp Sauce was so good, we stopped again on the way back north for the same meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijverdal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here because of the good recension in the travelguide. Altough this time it was not a good choise. No hot water in the shower, the restaurant is reasonable, no more, no less. The rooms are clean but very basic. Our eating table was gone in the early morning for catering a big group in the restaurant. Pricy. Catering for big groups is their main thing. Breakfast was a single pancake. Nice pool and garden though, hotel at busy road. Lots of better eat and sleeping opportunities in this area. Too expensive and basically not a great restaurant at all, anyway, not nowadays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DR-ARTHUR-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in one of their cabinas nestled in the rainforest, so enjoyable! We had a smallish kitchen (sparcely equipped but they staff was eager to assist with glasses and such/so forth). Each bedroom had a/c which was heavenly so deep in the humid rainforest. The grounds were absolutely stunning, plentiful and well maintained plantings. Nice pool area with honor bar and slightly obscured ocean view (a bit of a walk to the pool and view). My package included the room, dinner and breakfast which was an absolute deal considering the location. Dinner (in the package) offered 2-3 options for fish, chicken, pasta etc. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh fruit, gallo pinto, fresh juices, wonderful coffee. A wonderful surprise esp. for the value, cabinas, view. A good spot enroute to locations north and south or just enjoy the local beaches!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Tortuga
5.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#7 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort
12.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
9.2 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#4 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Gaia

Property: Hotel Villas Gaia
Address: Costanera Sur, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Playa Tortuga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Tortuga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Gaia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Gaia offers a home base to experience the wild beauty of Costa Rica's southwest Pacific coast. One of the most biologically diverse regions on the earth. Strategic location on the new scenic coastal road. Convenient access to Ballena Marine National Park, Cano Island Biological reserve, Corcovado National Park and the most extensive mangrove ecosystem of Central America. Hotel Villas Gaia is 14 colorful bungalows (casitas) separately nestled in a jungle setting offering privacy and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villas Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Gaia Costa Rica/Playa Tortuga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing