We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Luna Lodge(Carate)
$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alamar Aparthotel(Punta Arenas)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Las Brisas(Punta Arenas)
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alamar(Punta Arenas)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portobello(Punta Arenas)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Costa del Sol Restaurante & Hotel(Puerto Caldera)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
268
64
18
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
64
18
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset barwet landinghowler monkeyscano islandsan joseboat tripthe riverfishoutdoor showercosta ricathe pacific oceanceiling fanmargarita bartractor ridepicnic lunchhot waterpalmar sur
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 362 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2009

To get to the place involves a lengthy trip in a very small boat, initially along the fascinating Sierpe river, then in the Pacific Ocean which was rough for such a small boat; then "landing" consists of jumping from the boat into the sea ! The location is stunning, the wildlife amazing. The huts/cabins are fine, food adequate (not much choice) and attention by the staff very variable - there seems some attempt to dragoon people into a standard pattern of walks/views, and apart from Victor (a brilliant barman/waiter) not very flexible. At these prices, maybe more flexibility would be good. Despite the many contact numbers on the website, the hotel would not confirm our safe arrival to a relative, and as it's out of mobile phone range, that caused some consternation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

National Geographic dubbed the Osa Peninsula the "most biologically intense place on earth," and Casa Corcovado lies right in the midst of this paradise. Accessible only via the Sierpe River, Casa Corcovado is literally in Corcovado National Park. No other hotel on the peninsula can make this claim. The park is a brief walk away from the hotel, and luckily for us humans the wildlife cannot distinguish where the park begins and the hotel ends!
We saw pairs of Scarlet Macaws, Tucans, hummingbirds or all brilliant colors, gorgeous butterflies, howler monkeys, capuchin monkeys, spider monkeys, coati, and lizards all from the comfort of the hotel grounds. The day trip to Cano Island offered great snorkeling, I was fortunate enough to see a sea turtle and an eel amongst all the other fish. The hikes in the park were beautiful and our tour guides were highly informative and helpful. During free time we hiked the several trails around the hotel and relaxed at the pools. Sunsets at the margarita bar were spectacular as the sun set over the ocean. The food was delicious and the rest of the staff was great as well.
Some suggestions:
-Bring your own waterproof binoculars
-Bring an ultradry snorkel. The water was slightly choppy, so the other snorkelers were discouraged by seawater entering their snorkel.
-Do not bring cotton clothing. It will never dry. You will be infinitely more comfortable in fast drying, wicked, synthetic fabrics.
-Bring your own flashlight. The ones provided by the hotel weren't bright enough. I was very happy I had my own for nighttime bug watching!
-A camera will the highest zoom possible is also a great asset.

Enjoy! Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wanderingsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

This was an amazing "hotel". A great experience... We were met at the airport by a fantastic tour guide named Roberto. He was friendly and interested by our presence. The food was top-notch, the rooms were clean, the pool was refreshing, and the hotel manager was more involved than any other. He seemed to want to get to know the tourists. We had a great tour in the jungle, and a fun time snorkeling. The best aspect of the trip was the guides, especially Roberto, who were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ! ! !

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacobWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I have never written a review before, but I needed to share because I discovered this place quite by chance.

We enjoyed the entire experience, from the crazy plane ride & 2hr boat trip, to jumping into the ocean ( to our calves) to "disembark" and the limo( tractor & cart) ride to the top. It was all part of the charm.

You are totally "unplugged" here. If you need "luxuries" or a blow dryer this is not for you. It was 35C so we didn't have issues with hot water.

The staff & guests were friendly and accommodating. My only complaint is that the beer wasn't cold enough, but once we told James, he kept it on ice for us.

The is a small "boutique" type of resort with a maximum of 40 guests. The website photos are true to what is actually there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine4109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

The trip to Casa Cocovado was a great way to start our "jungle adventure". The trip through the mangroves and into the Pacific was exciting and the ankle deep water disembark was fun as well.
Our little casa was clean and decorated in good taste. The shower, with it's on again, off again hot water was wonderful considering the deep in the jungle location. The restaurant severed a good fare and the bar was fun – open air, overlooking a deep gorge jungle with plenty of birds to look at. Our guide, Jacob, well extremely well informed and very personable. The sunset on Margarita Point was as pleasant as it gets. The staff was well-trained and the manager was very helpful and congenial. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapergirlTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews