We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 3, 2009

National Geographic dubbed the Osa Peninsula the "most biologically intense place on earth," and Casa Corcovado lies right in the midst of this paradise. Accessible only via the Sierpe River, Casa Corcovado is literally in Corcovado National Park. No other hotel on the peninsula can make this claim. The park is a brief walk away from the hotel, and luckily for us humans the wildlife cannot distinguish where the park begins and the hotel ends!
We saw pairs of Scarlet Macaws, Tucans, hummingbirds or all brilliant colors, gorgeous butterflies, howler monkeys, capuchin monkeys, spider monkeys, coati, and lizards all from the comfort of the hotel grounds. The day trip to Cano Island offered great snorkeling, I was fortunate enough to see a sea turtle and an eel amongst all the other fish. The hikes in the park were beautiful and our tour guides were highly informative and helpful. During free time we hiked the several trails around the hotel and relaxed at the pools. Sunsets at the margarita bar were spectacular as the sun set over the ocean. The food was delicious and the rest of the staff was great as well.
Some suggestions:
-Bring your own waterproof binoculars
-Bring an ultradry snorkel. The water was slightly choppy, so the other snorkelers were discouraged by seawater entering their snorkel.
-Do not bring cotton clothing. It will never dry. You will be infinitely more comfortable in fast drying, wicked, synthetic fabrics.
-Bring your own flashlight. The ones provided by the hotel weren't bright enough. I was very happy I had my own for nighttime bug watching!
-A camera will the highest zoom possible is also a great asset.

Enjoy! Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wanderingsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 349 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

This was an amazing "hotel". A great experience... We were met at the airport by a fantastic tour guide named Roberto. He was friendly and interested by our presence. The food was top-notch, the rooms were clean, the pool was refreshing, and the hotel manager was more involved than any other. He seemed to want to get to know the tourists. We had a great tour in the jungle, and a fun time snorkeling. The best aspect of the trip was the guides, especially Roberto, who were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ! ! !

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacobWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I have never written a review before, but I needed to share because I discovered this place quite by chance.

We enjoyed the entire experience, from the crazy plane ride & 2hr boat trip, to jumping into the ocean ( to our calves) to "disembark" and the limo( tractor & cart) ride to the top. It was all part of the charm.

You are totally "unplugged" here. If you need "luxuries" or a blow dryer this is not for you. It was 35C so we didn't have issues with hot water.

The staff & guests were friendly and accommodating. My only complaint is that the beer wasn't cold enough, but once we told James, he kept it on ice for us.

The is a small "boutique" type of resort with a maximum of 40 guests. The website photos are true to what is actually there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine4109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

The trip to Casa Cocovado was a great way to start our "jungle adventure". The trip through the mangroves and into the Pacific was exciting and the ankle deep water disembark was fun as well.
Our little casa was clean and decorated in good taste. The shower, with it's on again, off again hot water was wonderful considering the deep in the jungle location. The restaurant severed a good fare and the bar was fun – open air, overlooking a deep gorge jungle with plenty of birds to look at. Our guide, Jacob, well extremely well informed and very personable. The sunset on Margarita Point was as pleasant as it gets. The staff was well-trained and the manager was very helpful and congenial. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapergirlTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

From the moment we were met from our plane at Palma Sur airport to the moment we were returned there 3 days later we were treated like royalty. (25 - 28 January).

The journey to the lodge is an experience all of its own. A 20 minute bus ride through plantations followed by a 2 and a half hour boat ride along the Sierpe river and around the headland in the open sea. The beach landing was not without excitiment because the sea was quite rough on our arrival! You are greated by the almost deafening noise and the intense heat of the rainforest.

Nothing prepares you for your first sight of the lodge buildings when you arrive at the top of the steep hill on a trailer pulled by a tractor. It really is paradise in the rainforest. Beautiful gardens, swimming pool, hospitality buildings and further into the clearance the bungalows where you stay.

The accommodation (Bungalow 2) was a round building within its own grounds with a hammock and outdoor furniture. Inside the room was most tastefully furnished and decorated and the outdoor shower was just perfect.

The sunset bar had amazing views and the sunset was second to none. The margueritas merely enhanced the ambiance.

The activities provided were adventurous and energetic. The guide, Roberto, was very knowledgeable, and the wildlife second to none. We were as much a novelty to the monkeys as they were to us! Instead of going on the snorkelling trip to Cano Island we stayed at the lodge and had the whole place almost to ourselves. We had lunch served to us on the beach and were made to feel so special.

Overall the service was excellent and the food, considering everything was brought by boat, was very good. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

We would recommend a visit to this lodge to anyone who is fit enough to enjoy the physically demanding activities but who also want to be made to feel special, we certainly did.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ossy-Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Could have been a fantastic place, but sadly fell short. Next to paradise, this lodge is located in a magical area, right adjacent to Costa Rica´s pristine Corcovado National Park. The hotel bills itself as a five star lodge, and charges USD 500 per night for two, all inclusive, including round trip flights from San Jose. At that price everything should have worked flawlessly and the meals should have been first rate. Alas, the food was just ok, unimaginative entrees for dinner, accompanied by overcooked vegetables, including poor quality dinner rolls. And the desserts were also mediocre. Each day a sunset ¨Margarita bar operated, whcih provided complementary hors´de´heuves. Even here, however, the hotel fell far short, since the canopies usually were just fried finger food, hot dog bits, and other not-so-good snack food. It is surprising that an establishment which bills itself as five star could not have demonstrated more imagination!

The accomadations were ok, but even here the facilities were under par. For example when my partner requested, twice, softer pillows, they never arrived. The hot water, powered by propane tanks repeatedly ran out, the toilet paper in the bathroom wan´t replaced, the towels weren´t changed as often as needed, etc. The place has enough staff, but it seems clear that there is not enough training nor oversight for them.

In yet another situation, this lodge indicates that it has a full first aid center in the event of of an emergency, especially given the remoteness of this lodge. yet when one guest needed talcum powder, the manager first said that it would have to be brought in from town the next day, but he later found some that one of his staff had. Another guest unfortunately fell down while hiking and had need of antibiotic cream, but the hotel had none. Fortunately, for this person, another guest had some and was able to resolve this problem by giving him his extra tube of antibiotic cream.......since the Corcovado Lodge had none!

To conclude, the Corcovado Lodge was probably five sstar at one time, but it appears that its standard have slipped as of late. Given the prices it charges and the clientele that it attracts, I think that it fails to meet the expectations of many.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WrldTrvlrPdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We had a wonderful stay with 2 multi-generational family groups, including kids 6 & 10. The "casitas" were very comfortable, w/bottled water, flashlights, mosquito netting ample room. One drawback: inadequate reading light. The meals are at set times, with activities planned each day (there are choices). Two swimming pools, 1 adult only (one was closed due to earthquake damage.) There were no other children during our stay but mostly international guests. The staff was wonderful with the kids, patient & kind. Boots, snorkeling equipment was provided, as well as backpacks, but they were small. Bring your own backpack. Everything was well coordinated, & the trip to Cano Island was fabulous. We swam w/turtles, saw rays, beautiful fish, dolphins & whales.
If you don't like early evenings & the outdoors, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpNOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
21.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
337 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
498 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
377 reviews
5.7 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
204 reviews
23 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Address: Peninsula de Osa, Corcovado, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corcovado National Park
Price Range: $886 - $1,367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above a palm-fringed beach in tropical gardens, and surrounded by 170 acres of pristine rainforest, Casa Corcovado is the ultimate combination of luxurious comfort and adventure - a place where you can spot big cats on jungle trails, have an entire beach to yourselves, snorkel with manta rays, and relax with a gin and tonic by the pool. The tranquil hilltop setting means awe-inspiring views and the best of the both ocean and rainforest breezes. The lovely bungalows are spaced throughout the lush garden for maximum peace and privacy. Casa Corcovado offers the closest accommodation to Corcovado National Park, the crown jewel of Costa Rica's extraordinary, world-renowned national park system. As the two protected areas lie side by side, guests are able to access the national park on foot via the hotel's private trails - just one of the many guided tours on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Corcovado Jungle Hotel Corcovado National Park
Hotel Casa Corcovado Jungle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing