We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intense, surreal and a little retro-tech”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 29, 2014

It would be incorrect to evaluate Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge as mere accommodation or a resort. The correct evaluation would involve the total experience.
Our package included flights to from/ to San Jose: in single turbo prop aircraft, a boat ride through a serpentine river lined with mangroves and partly through a choppy Pacific Ocean before a tricky “beach landing” at the foot of the resort.
Disregard the out-dated photos of murky water issuing in taps. This is well-managed property involving the sincere and hard work of many caring individuals, who take pride in their work of looking after their guests. Any temporary shortcomings may be due to the logistics of managing a place without road access or even a cellular telephone network: plus the fact that the place adjoins the Park and nature often demonstrates who the boss is.
Although described as biologically “intense”, do remember that spotting wildlife is a chancy affair and a fleeting glimpse is the best one can hope for. Nevertheless the experience is intense, surreal and technically a bit retro in a good sense.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Anil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

I love the comment,intense,surreal and a little retro,though technologically I'm not sure, our solar system is state of the art. It is hard to make this '' World Apart '', this '' Seperate Reality '' day by day and of course there can be problems. It is at the best of times an intense and surreal experience. I wouldn't have it any oyher way, Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

I wouldn't believe that this place was real if I hadn't gone there myself. It's in the middle of a huge national park that you can only get to by taking a boat for 2 hours, and there is almost noone else around (there is a tiny town nearby and a few other hotels, but that's it). The place is gorgeous . . . I'm talking picture perfect in every way, beautiful views, fantastic rooms that don't look horribly out of place in the middle of the rain forest, hammocks, a "sunset bar", and two really nice pools. There are animals everywhere, including some hilarious ones at night (giant toads that live in grates, for example), and the staff is very friendly.

But what really makes or breaks a trip like this is the quality of the activities. In our case, we went on a couple of hikes to the park and snorkeling by Cano island, and we were lucky enough to have Cynthia as our guide every time. She was fantastic. She knew more about the wildlife and plant life than anyone else we met our entire time in Costa Rica, and she was so so so friendly. One day we were on a hike and we really wanted to see a tapir (a rarity even in Costa Rica). After the hike was over, she heard from another guide that a tapir had been spotted nearby. Even though she was technically done for the day, she took us for at least an hour to "chase" (look for) this tapir, and we got to see it! She also took us on a night hike and snorkeling, and every time she showed us an unbelievable experience. Also, she was the only female guide we met our entire two weeks in Costa Rica, so she brought a totally different perspective to life in Costa Rica than what we had heard from our other (all male) guides. On top of all of that she was probably the coolest person we met in Costa Rica and when we left Casa Corcovado we were sad to go but we were especially sad to be leaving Cynthia, who made us feel like friends rather than just guests at her hotel.

Oh, and she offers massages right at the hotel. That's not our thing, but we heard they were fantastic from people who took advantage of them!

Lastly, if you are bummed because the place doesn't have air conditioning or there are bugs, I'd recommend not staying in Corcovado at all. The whole reason to go there is that it's different from everyday life. You're basically living in nature while also staying in a luxurious hotel where everything is taken care of for you. Kind of a "best of both worlds" situation, but I understand that it's not for everyone.

Enjoy, and say hi to Cynthia for us if you make it there!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Cynthia is fantastic, we have been lucky to have her work with us for close to ten years. She is also a massage therapist and offers excellent massages in the afternoons. She is going to be certified as a yoga instructor during the off season and we hope to be able to have some yoga classes beginning in November. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We spent 3 wonderful days at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge this past March. It is a beautiful lodge set in virgin jungle. The staff is great and the food was deliciously prepared and served.

Early mornings are the best time to search the beautiful gardens for birds. No need to take alarm clocks as the Black Mantled Howler monkeys will wake you every morning at 5AM on the dot. It is a sound that you will never tire of and that you will never forget.

There are hiking paths around the lodge that offer even more of the jungle experience and if you are real lucky, you might see a Tapir.

To end your day, enjoy a cool drink while over looking the Pacific ocean as the sun sinks below the horizon. This is a great vacation spot for birders and non birders alike.

Room Tip: The rooms are all individual cabins. They are perfect for a couple or they will also sleep 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Birders are very happy at Casa Corcovado. We have had some groups that have seen amazing numbers of species in just a couple of days. Thank you for the nice comments. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you are nature/adventure focused in your travels, this should be the premier location high on your 'must do ' list. All the arrangements from San Jose to the resort were organized and very well planned. You do not have to worry about where to go - guides meet you at each step and make the plane/ boat/tractor ride a fun part of the trip. During all of the excursions, safety was a primary factor ( not a given in foreign countries ). We highly recommend the 6 night stay to get a great feel for the place. It was as though the jungle was inviting us as guests into it's home to observe. Coatis and tapirs outside your door eating mangos, howler monkeys sounding the 5 A.M. alarm, primary forest beckoning to be explored and an amazing array of birds...my list is too long to type. The staff and guides are wonderful. They truly live and work to protect and respect their surroundings, and share it with guests. Our guide, Cynthia, was a joyful mix of professionalism and enthusiasm, and it was hard to say good-bye.
To address some issues others have posted :
The lack of air conditioning was not a problem. You are in the jungle and this is an Eco lodge.
- Ceiling fans above the beds were great at night.
The balance of nature probably was the reason we did not have mosquitos.
The boat schedule is due to staff availability at the wet landing. Again, safety is foremost
It is best to read the website and reviews first, and pay attention to the list of things to bring. (especially socks -boots are great in the rain forest )

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arkansascouple31931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

I'm glad that these guests had an amazing experience and put us on the ''must do'' list while in Costa Rica. We do try and offer a unique and authentic experience at Casa Corcovado. We truly are in the middle of the Jungle and I feel that guests that stay for more days tend to feel more the rhythms of the Rainforest. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

You know you are in for something special from the time you are picked up by boat from Sierpe and taken on the 1-2 hour trip to the small beach below this lodge. After wading ashore a tractor takes you up a steep 1km track to the lodge. Guests are housed in separate bungalows which are well-spaced through the surrounding gardens. The restaurant and pool facilities are excellent. The staff welcoming and friendly. But best of all, the lodge is located on the edge of Corcovado National Park providing immediate access to the trails and the abundant bird and animal life.

Room Tip: Some of the bungalows are quite a walk from the pool and restaurant facilities. This may or may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

I do think one of the best things about Casca Corcovado is the fact that we adjoin the National Park, surrounded by hundreds of acres of virgin Rainforest in an area where there is little tourism activity. Our guests are immersed in the sights and sounds of the Rainforest. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was the final 4 days of our trip and adventure to Costa Rica and what a wonderful 4 days it was.

Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge was an expensive add on to our trip BUT we are so glad we did. Staying here is a privilege that should not be missed! Just getting here is an adventure 45 minutes by speedboat down the Sierpe River followed by 50 minutes across the Pacific and then a 10 minute tractor journey uphill finally brings you to the jungle lodge.

Wow and then wow again , the grounds and gardens are stunning, the buildings and your jungle chalet blend into the rain forest, there are too many superlatives to describe it.

Don't come if you want A/C , Wi Fi , and large suitcases, but just come and see what nature has to offer and you wont be disappointed.

Apart from alcoholic drinks everything is included , breakfast, lunch and a 5 course dinner , quite amazing when you think that everything is bought in by boat.

The 12 lodges are scattered amongst the grounds , giving privacy to everyone , hammocks , outside showers , large beds and table and chairs give you every comfort you could wish for.

There are 2 pools with an abundance of towels and staff to cater for every need you could wish for and more. On our last day we had nothing planned or booked just a chill out time before our return to the UK. Within 45 minutes of relaxing by the pool and watching the Spider Monkeys we were given a coke with ice and fresh coconut juice , we didn't ask it was just given.

On our 2nd day our guide Jacob , who was so passionate about his role and so enthusiastic he was a joy to be with. Took us on a guided walk through the primary rain forest without him we would have missed so much , we saw an Anteater, Agoutis , Spider Monkeys, Poison Frogs and far too many birds too mention. This culminated in lunch at the Ranger Station, far too much too eat and drink and also far too busy photographing the Crocodile swimming on the beach. We returned to the lodge in time to visit the Margarita bar for drinks of the same and a great Sunset.

Our 3rd day Jacob took us on the boat to Cano Island for snorkelling, we met white spotted dolphins on the way there, magical times. I am not a strong swimmer and Jacob was quick to recognise this and adjust my equipment accordingly and helped me see as much as possible before spending time with my husband who can snorkel and dive really well. They spent a great 45 minutes looking at turtles and searching for reef tip sharks.
We then returned to the beach at Casa Corcovado for our lunch which was served " Al - Fresco " a perfect end to our visit to Cano Island.
A huge thank you to Stephen the manager and ALL the staff for making our visit truly memorable.

Room Tip: Any room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WorcsHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

I think I will just leave this one at, Wow and Wow again. Thanks Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you have made it this far on Trip Advisor, you know that this premium resort has some remarkable plusses (beautiful setting, separate bungalows) and minuses (remote, no AC). I'll add that the staff was very helpful, especially the manager, Stephen. The food was good, sometimes very good, but an Eco-resort would be expected to offer (indeed promote) vegetarian entrees, but none were encountered (probably would have been prepared on request, but that's not the point). The wine selection was surprisingly good and fairly priced. The traveller's diarrhea that our group developed after 2 1/2 days was at least temporally related, since the only food available comes from their kitchen.

But a bigger impact was dealing with the heat. With no AC, ceiling fans are what make life tolerable for those unaccustomed to the heat and humidity. But the lunch area has none, nor do the sitting areas in the bungalows, so you have to sit on the bed to read until it cools off after dinner. And when the power fails (as it did), you just hope for it to come on again (it did after 5-10 minutes - seemed like forever).

Another issue that may have been just an isolated event was that after the lodge staff transported us from the airport to the boat dock, we waited and waited with no explanation. After an hour I asked why, and was told that we were waiting for someone (staff? Guest?). We finally left without them, but by then the wind and waves had come up so the boat trip was a full 2 hours, very noisy (twin outboard motors - earplugs really helped), and quite bumpy. All part of the adventure for some, maddening for others.

Finally, the staff at the dock advised us not to bother with insect repellent, but the staff at the lodge noted the heavy sand flea infestation that can (and did) get to anyone traversing the beach, as is done upon landing. But no mosquitos (sand fleas are essentially invisible and leave little red itchy bumps, less bothersome than mosquito bites and without the risk of disease - they are prevented with insect repellent).

So overall, much was done quite well, but with some gaps. If your expectations match what is offered, you'll have a lovely time. One of our party was quite pleased, another not so sure if the gaps made it worthwhile.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank dhinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

I feel bad that this group did not have a completely positive experience. Of course vegetarian meals are prepared upon request and we are working on a dinner menu that will include a third vegetarian entree, we are also moving ahead with our organic garden project. It's unfortunate that these guests where made to wait at ''La Hacienda'', our reception center in Sierpe. We do at times of the year and connected to full moon phases have a problem with sand fleas [ no-seeums] on the beach area. You can use insect repellant or what works great is a little tanning oil or Revlon ''Skin so Soft''. There are also times of the year when it would be nice to have air conditioning but it is too much power for our [quite large] solar/hydroelectric system to handle. We do try and stay true to the example that we can make by utilizing alternative energy Thank you for the comments. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
21.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
5.7 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Address: Peninsula de Osa, Corcovado, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corcovado National Park
Price Range: $362 - $1,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above a palm-fringed beach in tropical gardens, and surrounded by 170 acres of pristine rainforest, Casa Corcovado is the ultimate combination of luxurious comfort and adventure - a place where you can spot big cats on jungle trails, have an entire beach to yourselves, snorkel with manta rays, and relax with a gin and tonic by the pool. The tranquil hilltop setting means awe-inspiring views and the best of the both ocean and rainforest breezes. The lovely bungalows are spaced throughout the lush garden for maximum peace and privacy. Casa Corcovado offers the closest accommodation to Corcovado National Park, the crown jewel of Costa Rica's extraordinary, world-renowned national park system. As the two protected areas lie side by side, guests are able to access the national park on foot via the hotel's private trails - just one of the many guided tours on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Corcovado Jungle Hotel Corcovado National Park
Hotel Casa Corcovado Jungle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing