We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our group of 16 birdwatchers and photographers spent three glorious days exploring the grounds and nearby Corcovado National Park. The staff could not have been more accommodating, the food was delicious and plentiful and the guides were knowledgeable, friendly and super birders. Special thanks to Stephen, the manager, for his efficient and caring response to one of our group that needed some medical attention. Our guides, Jacob and Mauricio were proficient as well as just great people and super helpful to some of the less-experienced in the group. Thanks to Leo for stopping to find the red-footed boobies - a life bird for most! The rooms were well-appointed, comfortable and clean and beautifully located throughout the property. Waking up to the sounds of howler monkeys was a special treat! If you just want to relax, the pools and beach were perfect and evening cocktails on the sunset "deck" should not be missed! Thank you to everyone who made our stay so wonderful!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Gretchen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

I'm glad that this group had a great time with us at Casa Corcovado. I do think that it is an incredible place for Birders and photographers. Thank you for your nice comments. Steven Lill owner/founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 329 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I were seeking to celebrate his birthday in a lodge which offered peace as well as a good opportunity to photograph wildlife. The boat trip to the lodge relaxing yet there were only a few stops made to quickly view the mangrove swamps on our way to the lodge. We were not informed that the boat landing would require wading in the water over rocks. Thus, we waded barefoot holding expensive camera equipment wrapped in plastic bags. It was very uncomfortable on our feet and had we been advised about the landing we would have brought appropriate footwear.

One on shore we were transported via a wagon pulled by a large tractor up the steep hill to the lodge. The beach and jungle in transit were lovely. We were then served the a very nice lunch in the thatched roof bar area and afterward escorted to our room. The casita was stunning and there were many nice touches like fresh flower blossoms and towels formed into "animal" art in the bathroom. However, the shower pressure and amount of hot water was sorely lacking. The lodge is very eco-minded and so are we, but the "bucket" showers in African camps provide a more adequate water supply than Casa Corcovado.

Breakfasts were very good with nice choices and the most wonderful Costa Rican fruit. Our arrival lunch was the best with broiled salmon, salad and soup. However, other lunches were just OK and the "picnic" lunch on the beach was only fair with ordinary side salads, pressed ham sandwich meat and soft drinks and fruit. Dinners were also fair to good but nothing extraordinary and the wine list was overpriced for mediocre selections. Mixed drinks were very weak so beer was the best choice since the prices were reasonable. However, the wait staff was always nice and friendly which is always a plus.

The other real plus was the "adult" pool situated in an area well below the restaurant area and separated by a long flight of stairs. It was outstanding to be refreshed by the unheated water after a long hike in the hot, humid climate of Corcovado.

We were most disappointed by the lack of solitude and the amount and frequency of wildlife observed. We did see macaws and other birds yet mostly at a distance often too far even for our 400mm lenses to capture. Guided trips with others, while pleasant, were sure to disturb mammals and therefore only the omnipresent coatis were observed. My husband and I were able to finally hear the jungle by hiking on the trails by the lodge alone which was a treat. Probably most visitors would be quite pleased with the guided hikes and wildlife. However, avid wildlife photographers and those who seek the experience of nature without the chatter of people will likely be disappointed in Casa Corcovado as well as other lodges in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We had the "honeymoon suite" with a hammock inside the porch area. However, we would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoreenReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

I'm sorry that these guests were not completely happy with thier stay with us. I admit that the trip in from Sierpe, through the mangroves is less than an in-depth experience. We do offer a very nice ''Mangrove Tour'', with or without kayaking, for those who really want to get a good look at the mangrove forest. I do hope that all of my clients are informed about the ''wet landing'' before they arrive in Sierpe. The guides that meet all of our guests at the airport are told to inform everyone about the ''wet landing'' so they have a chance to put on appropiate footware or at least be prepared. I apologize if this didn't happen in this case. I also feel bad that these avid photographers didn't have good wildlife sitings at Casa Corcovado or generally in Costa Rica. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

After reading the reviews my choice of visiting Casa Corcovado was the right one. I can add little to the glowing reviews already made but can only say I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. Steven the Manager is exceptional in his grasp of hospitality and did a wonderful job of balancing professionalism with informality.

Three nights was not enough....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdavies757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Steven, the Manager, I think is doing a great job and is taking good care of our guests. I do think that people who stay an extra day get more out of the experience. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Casa Corcovado is incredible, It's location is astonishing. We were so sad to leave.

Very well managed by Stephen who gave us his personal welcome and was always on hand to offer help and advice when needed.

Our guide was Freddie, he looked after us so well, from the pick up, though the pre dawn hikes, the main trek, the Cano Island trip and a night walk, he was friendly, informative, and professional. On the main hike in Corcovado we were never rushed, ample time for just watching and photographing. Ever ready with his scope to pin point things for us. The swim in the waterfalls was incredible, as was the offer to swim in the sea whilst he prepared our delicious lunch at the rangers stations whilst warning us to watch out for the croc in the sea, Apparently she! has never eaten anyone yet! we declined the swim.

On the boat ride to Cano Island the hawk like eyes of the boat driver spied a sea snake and we saw dolphins pre our snorkelling.

The whole estate is magical, its delightful that it is so small and so not many guests, it was like we were the only ones there. Laying in my hammock watching toucans in the tree above my head or watching the monkeys in the tree in the garden, all incredible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Special thanks to Steven, the manager, and our guide,Freddy, who helped make an ''incredible'' stay for our guests. We have tried to be true to our vision of offering personalized service to a limited number of guests, which I think is true ''luxury'', though not necessarily the ''five star'' kind. It is sometimes hard with our fixed costs, large staff and the expense of maintaining ''Paradise'' in the Jungle, but after many years we are still doing our best to offer a truly unique and educating ''Rainforest Experience''. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days in Casa Corcovado and everything has been perfect! This Lodge is completely immerse in unspoilt nature! The hospitality has been excellent, the personal (everybody, tractor driver, waiters, guides, housekeepers, sailor men..) very professional and collaborative. The kindness is the principal characteristic of the Lodge. The foods were of good quality. The excursions in the jungle and in the isla Cano were exclusive and allowed us to watch a lot of birds, mammalians and reptiles. We were lucky to meet a big group of dolphines in the Ocean in front isla Cano! We admired the versatility of the owner Mr Steven: he helped waiters during the service and then he was in his office ready to meet the clients! In definetly we are very satisfied by this holiday in Casa Corcovado! We are greateful to Mr Jacob, very professional and accultured guide!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank piovitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

What a nice thing for these guests to say that ''KINDNESS IS THE PRINCIPAL CHARACTERISTIC OF THE LODGE.'' I have to say that I am sincerely touched by the comment and want to send a big hug from everyone at Casa Corcovado. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The adventure begins with the trip to the lodge. You travel for two hours by boat, the seats in the boat have no cushions.The first thirty minutes you are on a river then you enter the Pacific ocean which is very rough and you feel every wave for the remainder of the journey. You arrive at the lodge for a wet landing. The lodge is up on a hill over looking the ocean, it is beautiful with first class accommodations. We traveled with friends and so we had adjoining bungalows. Our bungalow had a screened in porch, a living room, bedroom a four poster bed decorated with bamboo and candles, a separate bathroom and shower room. The bungalow was surrounded by a garden with a table and chairs. We were a good distance from our neighbors enabling privacy. There are two swimming pools, and a game room on the premise. You can also go down the hill to a private beach. The meals are included and are served as sit down meals. Dinners consist of four courses you have a choice of two entrees. For lunch we had a picnic on the beach, a picnic in the national park and one lunch in the lodge restaurant. For breakfast we choose from a menu and were served at the table. For activities you can request morning bird walks or evening walks. Included in the package was a a full day guided walk through Corcovado National Park. The walk was quite strenuous and unfortunately we didn't see any wildlife. The next day we went to Cano Island for some great snorkeling. The fish were beautiful, large schools just swimming with you, the beach was lovely as well. We saw some bottle nosed spotted dolphins on our boat ride back to the lodge.The service was friendly and attentive we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

It's too bad Sherri and her friends didn't see wildlife on their walk into Corcovado National Park but I hope we made up for it with some ''great'' snorkeling.I hope they have a chance to come back someday and spot some forest creatures. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The bungalow rooms of Casa Corcovado are set in a beautiful garden carved out of the rain forest and it is completely surrounded by the forest but only a short distance from the sea. This is a great experience from the attentive and pleasant reception area on the river in Sierpe where you are collected for the boat ride to the hotel to the hikes in the rain forest. It is amazing what can be achieved when you are in a location with no mains electricity and everything has to be brought in by small boats landing through the surf on the beach. The food is excellent and the staff unfailing friendly and helpful. I suggested 2 areas of improvement whilst I was there: most of the waiting staff seem to lack confidence and need better training and something must be done to improve communications across the large area covered by the hotel ( because my wife had a broken foot, we were stranded at the beach for too long waiting for the tractor to take us up the steep hill to the main area because there was no way to communicate between the beach and reception). From a safety point of view the guides should also have radios to communicate with reception should there be an accident whilst they are taking groups into the rainforest or to Isla de Cano. Implementing these 2 small suggestions would complete a really execellent hotel. The manager/son of the owner,Stephen, is always very helpful and willing to whatever he can to help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

I'm glad that these guests from England found the Hotel to be very comfortable but I am a little unhappy that he felt that there was a problem with radio communication. We do have a radio installed at the ''Boat House'' on the beach and all of our guides are supposed to carry a hand-held radio on all tours. We have always made a big effort and investment in our radio equipment. Just by chance as I write this we are waiting for our new generation of radios to arrive tomorrow [some friends are bringing them in thier luggage]. We are expecting 20 hand- held and 2 base radios which should fix any problems that we have with communications. Steven Lill / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
21.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
5.7 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Address: Peninsula de Osa, Corcovado, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corcovado National Park
Price Range: $363 - $1,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above a palm-fringed beach in tropical gardens, and surrounded by 170 acres of pristine rainforest, Casa Corcovado is the ultimate combination of luxurious comfort and adventure - a place where you can spot big cats on jungle trails, have an entire beach to yourselves, snorkel with manta rays, and relax with a gin and tonic by the pool. The tranquil hilltop setting means awe-inspiring views and the best of the both ocean and rainforest breezes. The lovely bungalows are spaced throughout the lush garden for maximum peace and privacy. Casa Corcovado offers the closest accommodation to Corcovado National Park, the crown jewel of Costa Rica's extraordinary, world-renowned national park system. As the two protected areas lie side by side, guests are able to access the national park on foot via the hotel's private trails - just one of the many guided tours on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Corcovado Jungle Hotel Corcovado National Park
Hotel Casa Corcovado Jungle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing