We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

As so many have said, this is a beautiful place and the adventure of getting there just adds to the fun. Casa Corcovado occupies an enviable spot on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The grounds are spectacular. The food and service were very good. I was worried that my grandson, a picky eater, would have problems finding something to his liking, but he loved every bit of it! The servers were very attentive and even remembered our preferences. We attended the 5-6pm "happy hour" gathering watching the sunset each night and even without margaritas, it is a fun time. Only suggestion would be dinner at 6:30 rather than 7. Not a lot to do between 6 and 7.

Our guide, Cynthia, was excellent and very accomodating to our needs. We saw monkeys, mccaws, and an alligator floating along carrying its prey. On a hike by ourselves on the property, we saw spider monkeys and very close up view of mccaws. The snorkeling trip to Cano was great-saw dolphins on our way there and a giant turtle! Snorkeling not as colorful as that I had done in Caribbean, but interesting nonetheless.

Would recommend CC to others with the caveat that they would be able to "enjoy" the trip getting there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lcolburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
The '' Margarita Sunset Bar '' is I think in an '' enviable '' spot, the sunsets are spectacular and the view extends to Cano Island on the horizon. A couple of evenings I have even seen Humpback whales put on a show to compliment the '' Happy Hour ''. As my guest mentioned you don't have to have one of our frosty margaritas to enjoy the beautiful sunsets and the sounds of the rainforest as dusk turns to night. I have mentioned in responses to other reviews that my kitchen staff is fantastic at pleasing my customers who have special dietary needs or just keeping '' picky '' eaters happy. I know that this gentleman and his grandson were able to create great memories together because creating those kinds of memories is one of the things we do best at Casa Corcovado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    45
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
67
132
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalama, WA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Accessible only by boat, a travel brochure beach nearly devoid of travelers, beautiful bungalows surrounded by the forest, howler monkeys to wake you, cicadas volume amazing during the day, a 'sunset bar," pools to refresh from the heat and humidity, and more! Guided activities; snorkeling, kyaking, forest walks, horseback rides, Sirena by boat, and still more!

Wonderful staff, service, and food!

Our favorite Costa Rican experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thales29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We're really proud to have been your favorite Costa Rican experience. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

To stay here you have to undertake a wonderful river and sea journey and make a 'wet' landing at your destination. The journey itself is fascinating, through mangrove and large open water areas. There is loads of wildlife, mainly birds and monkeys along the way and the scenery in general is stunning. You leave he river and meet the Pacific where you skirt the coast for about an hour to reach the isolated part of the coast where the hotel is located.
Upon arrival you do not see the hotel as it is situated at the top of a steep slope. Thankfully there is a small tractor and trailer to transport you to the top. What greets you is a beautifully laid out and elegant hotel with spacious gardens with exotic palms and other trees. The lower area houses the restaurants, reception area, guest lounge and swimming pools - one fresh water and really secluded.
We were warmly greeted and taken straight for an excellent lunch with fresh juice. We were then escorted to our rooms which are located at the top of the grounds next to pristine forest. Straight away we saw Howler Monkeys and numerous birds before we even reached our rooms!
The rooms themselves are bungalow type, with two rooms backing onto each other. They are spacious and well equipped with table and chairs outside and a washing line descreetly placed at the side of the property! Like other properties in Costa Rica the lodge has an eco policy which means all light bulbs are energy saving, which does mean the lighting at night is a little on the low side. Having said that, bright lights will attract every insect in the area to pay you a visit, so I think I would rather use a torch to find stuff at the bottom of my bag!
At lunch we were given a choice of evening meal main courses to speed up the evening service. When we attended the main restaurant our choices were all correct and we enjoyed a lovely meal. This was to be the case at every meal we had during our three night stay. Breakfasts were individually prepared and were of a good standard.
Activities for us included early morning birdwatching with our excellent guide, Jacob, a jungle walk and swim in a fresh water waterfall and a trip to Cano Island to go snokling. All of these activities were well organised and included an excellent open air lunch on the beach. These were really fresh, well thought out and presented in an appealing manner by the respective guides.
Our days stared early and finished soon after dinner. I have seen other reviews questioning the lack of evening entertainment, but given the location, the type of hotel and what you are coming to the area for, I struggle to see what the hotel could do. There is a reference library with information about the flaura and forna of the region and I hope this is what most people come to this hotel for.
Our stay was an excellent wildlife experience in a truly pristine wilderness. It is more than worth the journey to get there. The facilities, beach, staff and food all made this one of the best wildlife hotels we have stayed in. I really recommend it to any true nature lover looking for natural isolation and wonderful wildlife.

Room Tip: Try to be in any room beside the forest for a chance to see monkeys from the comfort of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wiggy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Wiggy,
We're delighted to be named as one of the best wildlife hotels you've ever stayed in. Thank you. And thanks for taking the time to write a wonderfully evocative and thorough review. I think everyone gets a surprise to see the elegant hotel and grounds in the middle of jungle, at the end of their tractor ride! Glad the howler monkeys performed outside your bungalow. We don't offer organised evening entertainment other than the popular night tours - to be honest, we've found most guests are happy chatting over a drink in the bar, but we do lay on wildlife entertainment around the clock, and you are right, those bungalows at the forest edge, offer front row viewing.
And thanks for your comments about the lovely meals, and the care taken over the picnics. I'll pass them on.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just completed our 18 day Costa Rica stay which included Casa Corvado Jungle Lodge (7 days) and three other locations in the country. By far this place was the best and it was definitely the experience we were seeking. The other more well-known and popular locations pale in comparison. Our guide, Gabriel, was the first and best of all four the Costa Rican guides we had. His passion for his work was apparent as he easily spotted wildlife and elaborated on our many questions. Here is what you should know before coming here: It is an eco-lodge and it is very well appointed. However, if you are looking for the comfort of a big city hotel, this is not it. No air conditioning and no television. Other than the bar, no night-life. It is hot and humid and the nights didn't get comfortable for sleeping until well after dark. The trade-offs though are nature at it's best, lots of privacy, excellent facilities, beautiful grounds, delicious food and superior service and access to great trails and beach. We woke up to Howler Monkeys and a delicious breakfast before starting out on our daily adventures which included hiking, snorkeling, sea kayaking, hanging out at the beach, and an optional trip to Serena Ranger Station. In total we identified 107 birds while in Costa Rica, about 80% of them were in Corcovado. In the heat of the afternoon we cooled off in their spring-fed pool before indulgiing in Margarita's at Sunset Point, followed by a delicious dinner. We loved this place!

Room Tip: There is lots of privacy here but if you want to maximize it, ask for a room at the back of the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for a fantastic review. It's really great to know we're delivering the kind of experience that someone visiting Costa Rica would hope for. I'm glad you enjoyed 7 days with us, and had a chance to get into the rhythm of daily adventures and the laid-back lifestyle. Our aim, with the bungalows in private gardens, the freedom to wander the trails and commandeer your own hammock on the beach, is to make this a home from home (albeit a wild and exotic one), and we're really happy to see more and more people staying for longer. I'm happy you got the chance to see Sirena, as well as to chalk up plenty of birds - I'm wondering if your list includes that common old osprey?! If you have any pictures you'd like to share on the soon to be launched Wild Osa blog (www.wildosa.com), we'd love to see them (our address for pics is casacorcovado@gmail.com).
And thanks for your feedback on our guide, Gabriel, he'll be really pleased. All the best - and come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is great! All kinds of birds and wildlife..walking distance from the National Park full of birds and monkeys! Made friends with staff who helped us with our Spanish! Our trip to the Cano Island was fabulous as was the hiking through the park. It's best for nature lovers!

Room Tip: took an almost 2 hour trip on river and ocean in small boat to get there . We loved it but some mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnbright60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Your favorite by far! That's a real honor, thank you. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is unique in being in a reserve that borders Corcovado National Park, and we share all the same wildlife, so yes! it's a good place for nature lovers. Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We didn't know what to expect and were blown away by this experience. We stayed in a large room in a private setting surrounded by the sounds of cicadas, birds and monkeys. Without ambient light, the night sky is amazing. We enjoyed the meals and found the service friendly and professional. In the rooms there are no hair dryers, telephones or televisions, and that's great; after all it's an eco experience. It's as back to nature as you can get while enjoying lovely local cuisine and an acceptable cellar. We spotted a basilisk sunning itself at the upper pool and a boa constrictor in the garden (don't worry, it wasn't stalking large mammals). Lots of other wildlife, too: toucans, ant eaters, sloths, lots of blue morpho butterflies, a caiman, etc. We hated leaving Case Corcovado.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Elizabeth,
And we don't like it when our lovely guests leave! However, the toucans, anteaters, sloths and starry night skies will be here whenever you want to come back!
Thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure having you both at Casa Corcovado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

These premises are truly fantastic and have to been seen and experienced to be believed.We had 3 nights there while travelling around Costa Rica,we would have gladly stayed for 3 months.
We were collected by a flat bottom boat and taken along a river network which was a guided tour in itself.After an hour we reached the sea,the tempo changed and we were transported at speed along the coast for about another hour pausing only to have more wildlife explained to us.Upon arrival we were driven up a very steep driveway in a converted trailer,pulled by a tractor,you are now in a different world !!!
The accommodation is a half of a bungalow,standing in its own grounds.The rainforest is bearly yards from the rear windows.Each has an entrance hall and sitting room before entering the huge bedroom.Shower and WC are separate.There is an internal connecting door which is a bonus,if like us you are travelling in a family unit.
All rooms and facilities are of a very high spec and are cleaned(even cherished) by a small effecient team of house staff.
Dinner is served promptly (on the sound of a bell) in a lovely dining room,the menu is wide(veggies are welcome) and the standard of food is very high.
There are various trails both through the beautiful well kept gardens and the rain forest beyond which are challenging and absorbing.Wildlife is never far away.The more energetic can enjoy a short hop to a nearby island for snorkling,less energetic can simply go and explore the island.
We had 3 lunches during the stay,one at the lodge the others on the beach.They have to be experienced to be believed,again the standard was extremely high and when it is remembered that 2 lunches were transported to the beach,set out and then served makes the whole experience and the food itself quite extraordinary.
There is a swimming pool and a plunge pool the latter being fed by a mountain stream another experience in itself.The private beach has to be explored and I would defy anyone not to loose themselves in the sheer beauty of the surroundings.
Reference books and the internet are on hand to ensure visitors maximise
their stay.There are also therapy facilities to ensure visitors are in prime condition.
"Sundowners" are served each night just below the main complex,it didn't give the best view of the setting sun but the overall impression was very positive.
The staff are extremely friendly,very professional and frankly good company.They are very proud of what they have achieved and who could blame them.
It really was a taste of Paradise.

Room Tip: There are no "bad"rooms at this lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Lee, let us know when you get 3 months free, and we'll book you back in for another taste of paradise complete with picnics on the beach!
Thanks for such a great review, and glad you enjoyed our junior suites. It's especially nice to hear what you think of our staff - "extremely friendly, very professional and frankly good company" - I agree! We're blessed with an amazing location and incredible wildlife but we've also got a special team - so thank you, I'll pass that on.
Sounds like you enjoyed one of Cynthia's massages, (and, amazingly, internet access which we can't always offer our guests because the signal is so patchy here down in the deepest jungle!). Re the sunset margaritas, we don't cut trees down, but there is one I would like to fall down! I know a lot of visitors in January and February see the sun set slightly to the left and wonder we put the mirador where we did - actually, the sun moves round pretty much to the island, and from March onwards the spectacle is centre stage - so book your next trip for the middle of the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
21.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
5.8 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
23.1 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 5 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Property: Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Address: Peninsula de Osa, Corcovado, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corcovado National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above a palm-fringed beach in tropical gardens, and surrounded by 170 acres of pristine rainforest, Casa Corcovado is the ultimate combination of luxurious comfort and adventure - a place where you can spot big cats on jungle trails, have an entire beach to yourselves, snorkel with manta rays, and relax with a gin and tonic by the pool. The tranquil hilltop setting means awe-inspiring views and the best of the both ocean and rainforest breezes. The lovely bungalows are spaced throughout the lush garden for maximum peace and privacy. Casa Corcovado offers the closest accommodation to Corcovado National Park, the crown jewel of Costa Rica's extraordinary, world-renowned national park system. As the two protected areas lie side by side, guests are able to access the national park on foot via the hotel's private trails - just one of the many guided tours on offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Corcovado Jungle Hotel Corcovado National Park
Hotel Casa Corcovado Jungle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing