We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, crappy food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Cool place, beautiful grounds, great guides. Horrible lukewarm food and nothing to do after dinner! Also you def need a flashlight, with the lights in the rooms we still couldn't see anything. The bar will be clOsed after dinner so plan
ahead!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Kate,
Thank you - Casa Corcovado IS cool! Based on your feedback and requests from our guests for more of our home-grown exotic fruits, and our traditional Costa Rican dishes, we've made some great changes to our menu, so hope you'll come back again and check them out.
The bar is actually open before and after dinner, and it stays open every night until the last guest leaves. We're adding a bell, so if you happen to be the first to arrive, you can ring for instant service!
We have backgammon, boardgames, cards etc available, and while we don't lay on too much in the way of organised after-dinner activities, the guided night tours start at 8pm each night for anyone wanting to sample nightlife Osa style!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 329 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and I was impressed for the many excellent reviews it got.

So I looked up its availability and found an accomodation, for up to six people, on bookings.com at a reasonable price 1200$. This was only the accomodation. We would have had to pay for the meals and excursions separately.

Unfortunately, and ONLY after I contacted them, I was told that that price was not correct, and I was supposed to spend 4 to 5 times the amount offered on bookings.com.
I was told my reservation was canceled by them (though it wasn't true) and I was going to get the option THEY chose for me, that was including full board and a couple of excursions.

I was struck by the fact that, haven't I checked before hand, I would have been presented with the only possibility of paying 5125$, as the 1200$ option was not available.

Very unprofessionally, they blamed me with bookings.com and blamed bookings.com when writing to me.

I believe they should avoid offering not existing price accomodation and, when they do by mistake, assume their responsabilities and act professionally.

No need to say, I booked my staying in Corcovado area somewhere else, and where was immediately contacted and offered advice as soon as they received the reservation.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank eclettico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Just to confirm - you found information on the website of a different company, booking.com, that you found misleading? When you did contact us direct you were immediately given accurate information? And because you were looking for more of a budget option, you chose to stay elsewhere?

I'm trying to work out how this entitles you to claim that you stayed with us in September?

I'd also like to make a general TripAdvisor point, that however annoying online budget booking agencies can be, (and we've all had them), it hardly makes sense to take out your frustration by giving a 1 out of 5 star rating (based on value, location, sleep quality, rooms. cleanliness and service) for a hotel you have never even visited.

However, this gives me the opportunity to confirm how we work.
Full rates and package details are available on the Casa Corcovado website, along with information on how to book. Our packages are also sold through reputable partner agencies. Given our isolated location - no roads, no fancy restaurants nearby - all accommodation is sold as part of a full board package. If it wasn't our guests would get very hungry.

We don't 'choose' options on behalf of our guests. Our most popular packages include two tours but we offer a wide range - information and rates for all of which are provided on the website - and we also tailor packages on request to suit every area of special interest or length or stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is absolutaly amazing place ton enjoy Costa Rica nature and what it has to offer. The adventure starts already by boat transport - thanks to captain Oscar I have not got the seasickness :-) Anyway it takes quiet a while to get to lodge - almost 2 hours but during the ride we saw Crocodile, a snake, some birds and an island, where the scene for the movie Jurassic-Park were taken. The lodge and the rooms are absolutaly amazing, very nice decorated with small candles for the evening. We had a room no. 3 - close to main builduing and restaurant. As you are really in the middle of jungle, there were couple of spider monkeys you could see around playing on the trees - espacially around 5 pm. We loved the food - it was a real dinning experience even they had to bring everything by boat to the hotel. Sunset bar with mango margharita ( for 2 USD!) was truly romantic highlight before the dinner :-). Imagine seeing whales while taking a drink amd seeing sunset over there! The beach was very cute with black sand - so make sure you wont get dirty clothes after. We didnt swim in the ocean due to high and string waves, but the private beach was nice to take a book and have a rest. You can still swimm in 2 available swimming pools and if you are lucky you will see some monkeys around.We were shocked by laundry service - when the stuff needed only few hours to get our clothes clean and ready to use. We loved the tours - Hiking in National Parl and Cano Island Tour - absolutaly a must! The guide was really nice explaining and answering every single question. I would highly recommend this resort and area as it is absolutaly stunning place to enjoy the nature, see the wildlife and experience the rainforest itself ( by the way do not worry to bring an extra clothes - Casa Corcovado provides you the backpack, rainponcho, rubber boots so you do not need to bring them with you!) Casa Corcovado provide even water as much as you wish, so they wont charge you for it! I hope I could help you and in case you have more questions just aske me! A.J.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Adriana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is absolutely unbelievable: in the middle of the jungle, it is a little paradise surrounded by howling monkeys, incredibly beautiful flora.
A unique experience with thr sunset, the animals, thr jungle, the dolphins, the whales....
You will have memories or a lifetime!



The guides are very knowledgable and friendly, you will see many animals on the jungle walk, you will enjoy the swimming pools, but also swimming near a waterfall or in the sea and at the end of the day, after a hot shower, you will sip your gin& tonic in the sunset bar, looking at sun sinking in the Pacific Ocean. We were extremely lucky to see many dolphins but also several jumping whales: something we will never forget

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viva_badabing_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for 4 wonderful days at Casa Corcovado in March this year and it is an experience we will never forget. The trip to the lodge alone is an adventure from the boat trip up the river to the mangroves and then out into the Pacific Ocean where we had dolphins swimming alongside the boat. To get to the lodge when you arrive is by tractor up an extremely steep slope and then the views from the lodge across the Pacific are amazing. I could go into such detail about all the animals and birds we saw and the wonderful food, service and cottages but suffice to say that it was the most amazing trip we have ever been on and the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. The lodge is in the middle of the jungle where because there are open spaces you get to see more animals and birds in the grounds of the lodgings probably than in the Corcovado National Park itself. Just thinking about it brings back such happy memories. To cap it all the staff were wonderful and so enthusiastic about where they live from Cynthia, one of guides, to Tyson who looked after us in the restaurant and Argenis, the manager who took us on a private tour of the grounds. Truly magical!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KT3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The highlight of our trip to Costa Rica was our visit to Casa Corcovado. The accomodation was excellent and the whole philosophy of looking after our enviroment followed through well. The setting in the jungle was fabulous and we saw most of the animals and wildlife within the hotel grounds. The guides were amazing, so knowledgable and willing to tell you all about the wildlife, history of the area and make sure you were safe. The guides were the best we met in our touring of Costa Rica. They were all passionate about the wildlife and also seemed really happy in their jobs. It was a wondeful visit and I would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Figh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The lodging is great, service, food and atmosphere was wonderful. Located right smack in the jungle it is a place for viewing birds, animals, reptiles and plant life. If you are wanting to see nature as it is, this is the spot, however if you just want to see lots of animals like you might in a zoo then don't bother. The snorkel trip to Osa Island is not anything to rave about, but the jungle stay was great.

Room Tip: They are all separate villas and they all were about the same, very good. No tip here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
21.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
5.7 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Address: Peninsula de Osa, Corcovado, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corcovado National Park
Price Range: $363 - $1,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above a palm-fringed beach in tropical gardens, and surrounded by 170 acres of pristine rainforest, Casa Corcovado is the ultimate combination of luxurious comfort and adventure - a place where you can spot big cats on jungle trails, have an entire beach to yourselves, snorkel with manta rays, and relax with a gin and tonic by the pool. The tranquil hilltop setting means awe-inspiring views and the best of the both ocean and rainforest breezes. The lovely bungalows are spaced throughout the lush garden for maximum peace and privacy. Casa Corcovado offers the closest accommodation to Corcovado National Park, the crown jewel of Costa Rica's extraordinary, world-renowned national park system. As the two protected areas lie side by side, guests are able to access the national park on foot via the hotel's private trails - just one of the many guided tours on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Corcovado Jungle Hotel Corcovado National Park
Hotel Casa Corcovado Jungle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing