We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MISSING LOOKOUT INN”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“MISSING LOOKOUT INN”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just back in Santa Cruz after a wonderful trip to Costa Rica and wanted to write this review immediately. The highlight of our trip was our stay at Lookout Inn. What a gorgeous location which was everything we hoped for and more. Our rooms, the tiki huts, are my dream lodging come true, with views on lush tropical rainforest flora and the raging ocean below, open air and cooled by the wonderful tropical breezes. The beach is beautiful and you can imagine you are lost on a deserted island because you won't be sharing the beach with anyone else. We had a fabulous hike with Arnulfo who speaks very good English and who told us so many interesting facts about plants and animals and history of area. It was supposed to be a 1/2 day hike but he gave us almost 6 hr of his time which was really sweet. We saw 6 different bands of monkeys, all 4 types and many beautiful and interesting birds and plants. He even opened up some strange jungle fruits and let us try them. All of the other guests were interesting and friendly and we felt like family after 24 hr at the place. We made several friends that we hope to see back in the US. Terry really made us feel like we were one of the family. He goes out of his way to make sure that all of the guests are enjoying themselves. I don't agree with the following review as he told us we didn't even need to go on a guided tour as we could see plenty of things without a guide. We chose to hire a guide to get more information and felt it was worth the price. The food is healthy and delicious. And best of all you can take some lovely hikes right from the back door of the lodge (but best to be in good shape for stairway to heaven!) I took the same hike twice and saw many different animals on each trip. We must have seen 40 scarlet macaws a day, some within 3 ft! Also monkeys came twice to play on the roof and right by the lodge. We were so bummed to leave and we are already planning our trip back. Thanks to everyone at the lodge for being so sweet, Ovi, Arnulfo, the talented cooks, Terry. Hope to be back soon. Thanks for helping us make the Lookout inn work!
Ruth and the SC family dreaming of paradise in Carate PURA VIDA

Room Tip: We loved the tiki huts but all of the different lodging we saw were fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totalfoodieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
what a wonderful review thanks so much and yes on our guide -- he is fantastic maybe one of the best around -- and those scarlet macaws will be out with great numbers really soon.. mom and dad will be taking their young baby out or the nest and they all show up here in front of the lookout inn daily because of the food chain..'' WILD ALMONDS ''-- because of all the wild almonds that are out front or the 20 trees i planted for them 18 years ago -- so world --pack your bags and come see us And the red birds toooooooooo ok??? thanks every one and happy 2014 .. see ya all again in the future -- love to all terry and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    40
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
136
273
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

after a beautiful flight on Nature Air and a taxi ride through the rain forest, arrival at the Lookout immediately felt like home. Carate has a few lodges and an airstrip for the air taxi. Lookout has a beautiful spot along the beach. Scarlet macaws will cackle you awake and entertain you endlessly.
the hardworking staff provide delicious, healthy meals and fine drinks. chatting with the other guests at happy hour and dinner is part of the overall fine experience. walks in the area with a bit of quiet and patience will yield animal bird, and reptile sightings. The inn's knowledgeable guide can be hired at a reasonable price for the full day walk into Corcovado or other trails. the inn is on solar power, so enjoy a break from electronics, phones or even your hair dryer. It is completely understandable that the Lookout has so many return guests, even though it is an effort to get here.
Terry and Katia are superb hosts and area experts.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank theatermomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
good morning and hello maryland.. thank you for the nice review - yes my staff works hard and we thank them daily and the scarlet macaws are still hanging about and soon the moms & dads will be off the nests and there will be 50 --80 pair out front . yelling / flying / feeding / and hanging up side down .. - so the rest of the world that is reading this - come visit us here at the lookout inn . thanks again terry and katya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Words cant really describe how wonderful this place is. Getting there is a little bit of a challenge, but once your there the remote location, accommodations, and friendly staff make this an experience rather than a destination. If you're looking for the typical luxury hotel and tourist area its probably not the place for you. If on the other hand you want to un-plug relax and experience the beach and rain forest then this is it! We stayed in the Blue Butterfly which has an amazing view. Water is hot, but girls be prepared there are no plugs so it wont be your best hair days. Not much going on at night, but lots of animals and miles of beach to enjoy during the day. We will be back.. as there aren't many places like this around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy-Gracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
hello my guests from the north.. thanks for the review and the visit and all is good here at the lodge animals are happy and still some how show up daily .. its still 90'F sunny * hot toooo-- thank you all so much katya & terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you're looking for remote - this is it. We spent a couple of nights here. The directions from Puerto Jimenez were vague, so you'll have to ask where to make the turns because the dirt roads are poorly marked. The Lookout Inn runs on solar energy, so there were no electrical plugs in our room for charging electronic devices. That was done upstairs near the kitchen. We arrived after dark and were surprised to see guests with headlamps playing cards (not much to do after dark). The owners are personable and the staff helpful. What really bothered me is the owner feeds the wildlife and even handed one of the guests some banana to feed a capuchin monkey. He also feeds a pair of Red Scarlett Macaws and a tapir. I wanted photos of macaws and snapped a few unusable ones of them eating sunflower seeds on the balcony. This is unhealthy for the wildlife, especially capuchins, because once they identify humans as a source of food they get more aggressive toward them, not to mention human bacteria being passed along for which they may have no immunity to. There are campaigns all over Costa Rica to educate people about not feeding the monkeys. It's a shame when hotel owners encourage it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
hello eve-- it was a pleasure meeting you and you hubby --thanks for visiting us at the lookout inn-- and welcome to beautiful costa rica and dirt roads with no signs -- feeding the animals is a treat for all -- especially the kids .. I think the entire world has humming bird feeders out and help out animals or birds that may need a bit of nourishment -- none the less every one is happy ..thanks for hanging out and sharing your vacation with us and the animals.. .. the lookout team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Amazing. This place grabs you from the moment you arrive; incredible views of the beach, gorgeous and lush landscape, fantastic accommodations, warm and inviting owners and staff...the food was excellent too and freshly prepared three times a day! Our group stayed in the Butterfly Room, Beach Bungalow and my favorite, The Honeymoon Suite...fantastic! Daily visitors included Scarlett macaws, monkeys and iguanas; unbelievable experience...we will definitely be returning with family and friends...thank you, Terry and Katya (owners of Lookout Inn) for helping us create such lovely memories. Laurie and Jason

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite private and spacious with spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
loved you northern folk -- is it still ice and cold there ??/ like our beers at happy hour -- all is well here at the lookout inn those monkeys are still hanging about and the macaws as well -- thank you all for visiting us and come back soon -- terry katya and the team --
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our first time at Lookout Inn Lodge and I was totally blown away by the scenery, the wild animals (flying thru our room!!), the food, the fun & laughter! The sounds of the rainforest and surf, and the wildlife was heavenly...next time we're staying for a week. I can't decide if I want to stay in the Blue Morpho Butterfly room again, try out the Tiki Huts, or that bungalow with the swinging bed & little pool next to it. Thank you Terry & Katya for making us part of your family, even if it was for a couple of days. I hope to be back before years end!! Have my yummy pina colada that Katya makes from fresh fruit all ready for me!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Morpho Butterfly room that's up a flight of stairs over the lodge and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniebeehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
annie -- a wonderful pleasure meeting you .. and take the honey moon sweet next time -- its my favorite -- large open air -- a lil cool pool --private and has great views of the pacific ocean and its beach's only 200 feet away ..till next time .. -- terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

It's a special place, and a wonderful 'break' from the everyday. Terry and the team are lovely hosts, the food is great, the scenery is incredible, yoga in the morning and sleep at night to the sounds of the surf and the woods, happy hour with monkeys, wake up and go to sleep with the sun... no better way to "disconnect" and relax.

I just wish they would do something about the other guests waking us all up with their trumpet and trombone every morning.

Room Tip: The separate huts / cabins are probably your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
hey Will -- its about time you wrote about us and that big bag of wind blowing air was your dad and buddy -- just letting the rest of the world know this bit of wild early morning info -- which actually happened at around 8 am -- along with our conch shell going off

all is great here at the lookout inn nice to see you again here and i assume we shall see ya all again in the future eh???? thanks a million loonies -- bye ter & kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
11.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
23.2 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Property: Lookout Inn Lodge
Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing