We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Retreat”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Retreat”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

There are not enough words to describe my stay at Lookout Inn Lodge. The owners Terry and Katya go out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. This is a unique place and must be experienced to fully appreciate. The food is wonderfully prepared, served family style with all guests eating together which adds to the delight of this remarkable place. I stayed in the Tiki Hut and loved it. A wooden platform with canvas A-frame structure above, everything is open-air. There is a netting over your bed to keep out misquotes and the sound of the waves crashing against the shoreline lulls you to sleep. If you are lucky enough to awaken about 4am you can see the stars align to form the Southern Cross in the sky directly in front of you. Built into the mountain side, there is a lot of stair climbing, but it is all worth it when you view the fantastic, unobstructed sunsets. You will also see wild life, white faced monkeys, sloth, Scarlet Macaws and so much more. Lookout Inn is in one of the most remote places, Carate, Costa Rica overlooking the pacific ocean and Corcovado National Park. My stay here was the high light of my two weeks in Costa Rica and I would recommend this special place to anyone (with the exception of small children).

Room Tip: I loved staying out of doors, although apprehensive at first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottagegma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
hello cottage mom .. the southern cross is still hanging over our lodge every nite -- the monkeys and scarlet macaws of course always around the lookout inn entertaining the guests -- hope all is well in Ohio and please return someday thanks so much terry & katya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    40
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
136
274
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our second time visiting the Lookout Inn and it only got better. We were welcomed by the owners with open arms once again and they made our stay very comfortable and relaxing. We love coming here, everything about it is just perfection. The first time we stayed in a Tiki Hut and loved it, but this time we stayed in one of the larger cabins (Lorenzo) and were absolutely spoiled.
Cannot recommend the Lookout Inn enough, it's a really unique, and special place. Gay friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
hello ned i have the rainbow flag flying on the web site -- thanks again for you and robbi hanging with us here at the lookout inn and believe it or not the tapir visited us the other day at 4;30 pm.. later eh??? ter & kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you're looking for an authentic destination in a beautiful country, beautiful beaches that are often deserted, safe and unique accommodations (tikki huts, platforms in the jungle with open-air showers) and meals shared with travellers from around the world, then the Lookout Inn is where you should be.

I've been to the Lookout four times now and I haven't ever been disappointed. Don't be dissuaded by its remote location, in fact, its "remoteness" is its strongest suit. Although it's an eight hour drive from San Jose, you CAN catch a short flight from San Jose to Puerto Jiminez, and from there, either rent a car, or Terry and Katya (from the Lookout Inn) will arrange for a driver to pick you up and bring you to the inn.

In fact, the drivers will accommodate you in, if you want to stop at the "supermercato" in Puerto Jiminez to stock up on anything you may have forgotten (sunblock, bags of Costa Rican snack foods, flashlights, batteries), before you hit the road which follows the coast of the Osa Peninsula. Along the way they often point out howler monkeys, and tell you about the area. On our drive in (we had driven from San Jose), we saw a spotted cat - probably an ocelot.

Dining is communal. Because the location of the Lookout Inn is off the beaten track, it draws a more "intrepid" or "curious traveller; the members of our family often sit with other guests at meals and learn about - and are inspired by - other similar destinations from people of all ages who are there from all over the world.

Ask about a trip to the Osa Wildlife Sanctuary - the owners of the Inn can set up this trip for you. It's really worthwhile - sloths, monkeys, birds - up close.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. It is spectacular.

Room Tip: The best cabins are the Swing Spa, Monkey House, but honestly? - try the Tikki Huts. They are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
hello patti.. is it still cold in toronto ?? lucky you its still steaming warm at a low 89' F - sun and beach - another day here in the tropics .. tell hubby we say hola toooo and we shall see ya all again some day ...thanks so very much .... terry & katya and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

When we had planned to go to Costa Rica, it was intended as a "bucket-list" trip, and staying at the Lookout Inn made it exactly that - a trip of a lifetime. There are places on this planet that are so beautiful that they take your breath away. When you find them, they change you, for you can’t help but be fully present. Not just in body, but in mind, spirit and heart. That’s how I felt when I stepped on the deck at the Lookout Inn, in one of the most remote parts of Costa Rica. The setting was too magnificent to make room for worrying about emails, or deadlines, or filling programs. For the brief two days we spent there, I was in a heightened state of wonder and appreciation.

Let me paint the picture: The Lookout Inn is perched high on a hillside overlooking the Pacific in Carate, Costa Rica, on the Osa Peninsula – nestled on the edge of the Corcovado National Park, which National Geographic calls “the most biologically intense place on Earth in terms of biodiversity”. To say the place was in the middle of nowhere would be an understatement. To get there, we rented a 4 x4, traversed steep gravel roads, forged 4 different rivers and after more than five hours of driving, upon arrival my kiddo declared, “Mom, this was totally worth it. It’s way better than Legoland.” (the ultimate compliment from a 9-year-old-boy).

But while the remoteness was a unique adventure for us, for innkeepers Terry (originally from upstate NY) and Katya (from Costa Rica) it’s life. Even on the edge of heaven they've figured out how to make meals so delicious that guests will be glad they’ve no other options, how to attract and motivate a talented staff that exceed expectations, how to beautifully upkeep a place that’s located in the middle of a rain forest filled with termites and extremes – a typical day reaching into the 90′s. The place is completely solar powered. No air conditioning (with the fans and the cross-breeze we didn't need it). Electricity only available until 7pm. They've created a fantasy-life for their guests through a great deal of work and commitment on their part.

Our days at the Lookout were soul-filling: Kayaking on the lagoon at 5:30am; guided frog-searches after the sun went down; waking to the sound of the waves and the rain forest coming to life; extraordinary meals that were strategically laid out on different decks each time, taking advantage of the sunsets; the scarlet macaws that landed on the deck and the white-faced monkeys, the Coati and the Tapir that came to visit; the warm genuine caring that every staff member exuded that made us feel like family.

We will be back - of that we're certain. The Lookout Inn isn't just a place to stay - it's a visceral experience that makes a lasting impact.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
hi kim.. a million thanks to you and this Wonderful but true review -- i have been here all most 20 years and have to say '' I Sill Love It Here --one of the most magical places on the planet & i am fortunate to live here .. hope to see you again.. thanks so very much katya and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

First off the staff was wonderful. Top grades to all those great, overworked people. Anything we needed was taken care of with a smile. We took a tour with a delightful young lady from Spain who knew every bird and nook and cranny of the lagoon. We stayed in on of the Tiki Huts and were very comfortable. We had our own frog on a beam that kept us company and the local Tapir kinda liked to sleep under the hut. One of the best parts of Lookout was the other guests - what a treat to meet and talk to folks that all happened to be at the same great place at the same time.

Room Tip: Tiki Hut is an experience worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deercrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
hello montana and thanks for the review and the visit all is good here at the lookout inn that darn tapir has not been around for 6 nites showing his face he has been in the garden but not at the lodge for that ''KODAK MOMENT ' happy days terry and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was taking pictures of Scarlet macaws on the road out front of the Lodge and decided to eat lunch at the Lodge. Was invited to join a wonderful couple and a fellow single traveler, and the whole afternoon turned into a very enjoyable time. The owner was nice enough to allow me to use the pool, then back on the road to take more pictures of macaws and hawks.
I did look at one of the bungalows, and all I can say is wow? Ocean is right across the road from the resort on a well kept beach with chairs and shade. Many birds, mammals and reptiles are on the grounds so was able to add to my collection of pictures. Big thank you to the owner and I think I found a place to go next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
hello diver 01 -- a pleasure to have you here at the lookout inn for a few hours . you need to pack your bags again and visit us for 5-7 days.. take photos of scarlet macaws all day long from our upper open air digital platform camera observation deck -- your above the macaws shooting down at them while flying by .. great place for camera folk and birders .. see you again.. thanks terry *** katya & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Leaving the Lookout Inn this year was even harder than last year, if that is possible. It is truly in my blood. From the behind-the-scenes effort that goes into keeping the rooms and common areas spotless, to the laughs on the veranda as Urba the Macaw comes in for her landing, my heart just misses this oasis in the jungle. Be prepared to do some of the most amazing hikes you'll ever experience, without necessarily going into Corcovado National Park. And the ocean is perfect, with warm waters to cool you during the height of the sun in mid-afternoon. The food is fresh and fabulous, and Terry & Katya go out of their way to accomodate special diets. Because of its isolation one can completely unwind. There are plenty of places in which to be social, yet if that is not your bag, just as many places to wander off for some well-deserved solitude and quiet. I miss this place like I miss a family member or a best friend, and will return again and again.

Room Tip: I can hardly give it 5 stars for sleep, as the sounds of the jungle accompany you each night, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
hello jerry ''sis'' my yoga buddy -- another great time with you here at the lookout inn - better than so subways in new york city eh????? miss you so hurry up and come on back to this magical jungle ok??? love to you ... terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
11.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 40 in Osa Peninsula
607 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Property: Lookout Inn Lodge
Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing