We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway Vacation”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Getaway Vacation”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I spent 10 days at the Lookout Inn Lodge on recommendation from my parents who had traveled there the year before. What an amazing spot! If you enjoy camping and the closeness with the outdoors but are also looking for some more modern amenities, this place is STRONGLY recommended.
The food was excellent, cooked to serve and to accommodate those that don't or can't eat certain foods. The staff was top-notch and helpful in more ways than expected or required. They made the stay very pleasant and helped with the community-type atmosphere that I haven't seen anywhere.
Finally, this is a nature lovers paradise. While staying here, I was able to identify over 100 species of birds (and there were many that I couldn't) and saw many monkeys and other animals that I had not seen on previous trips to Costa Rica.
So much to do, so little time. I would recommend it to anyone, solo, or families, to visit Lookout and enjoy their stay

Room Tip: Many rooms are open to insects and small lizards. Though all the beds have mosquito netting, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
hello aaron -- great to hear from u our new friend and birder dude.. and your mom and dad are returning in feb. 2014 for a week of birding and playing in the sun & salt water -- all is well here at the lookout inn .. the TAPIR showed up again 4 nites ago we all watched him at the banana station eating like a pig-- every one loved this beast.. hope all is well in the states and come back home to us soon.. thanks and happy holidays.. terry -katya and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    40
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
136
277
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We visited Lookout following a recommendation from a friend, and much internet searching. we wanted somewhere to take our son where the wildlife was close, and where we could chill out.
Well..... the Lookout has so much to offer if you want to get away from it all and get close up with things flying, walking, crawling , hopping ..... and Terry!
We stayed for nearly two weeks in the Tiki Huts, at the end of the (not very) rainy season. The huts are brilliant: comfortable beds, open to the jungle, and spacious. Monkeys in the bathroom, iguanas in the trees, macaws,vultures and toucans just outside, and humming birds in the room. Wow!
Dining up in the trees on the Lookout balconies, again surrounded by birds and monkeys(guard your breakfast and sunglasses). Quite extraordinary stuff.
We walked on the beach (swimming, be warned is not for the timid) , watched turtles laying and hatching (amazing), and climbed up the Stairway to Heaven into the forest. The Park? It's a long long day if you want to go there.... we didn't yet saw just about everything (except the tapir!)
The kitchen and it's staff do an amazing job, and Terry ........ SO much enthusiasm and belief in what he's does and has done. Well done mate!
Don't expect aircon, some rooms don't have hot water, the website is out of date in terms of activities available at no extra cost, so enquire rather than be disappointed.
Thanks again to everyone at Lookout for making such a special holiday for the three of us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kheastyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
good day my English family .. and thanks for the ''good mate '' and that sleep quality we could improve on if we can slow the pacific ocean down some and make those crashing waves a bit less eh ?????????

this place is still full of monkeys -scarlet macaws and terry -- wild and wonderful and the chef is still baking those fresh cinnamon buns every morning - life is good yes?? you all have a great time across the sea and hope to see you again.. thank u all so much katya the lookout inn team & terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

After 5 previous visits to the Osa, we finally decided to try a trip down during the "rainy season"
( not only was it an easier time to travel, and a quieter time with fewer lodgers, we were also offered a substaintial discount!) and the first night there we went to sleep while 5 inches of rain fall pounded our roof...we could hardly hear the ocean waves which we always look forward to....but in the following week it rained only occasionally and always briefly. We got to do all of the things we normally do and had a wonderful time, as usual. Next time we are thinking about going down at the end of April simply because the hosts told us that is there favorite time of year!
If you like being away from tourist-type places, enjoy nature and animals, an unusual out-of- the-way accommodation in a beautiful part of Costa Rica...you will enjoy Terry & Katia's Lookout Inn!

Room Tip: All different and all fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
hello tom .. its always a wonderful treat to have you join us here at the lookout inn..-- the rains have come and gone and we are about 100 '' below normal rain fall for the season - its hot --dry and beautiful here and summer is on us -- take care and hope to visit you 2 this 2014 -- keep an eye on the new ''boutique bed & breakfast '' ( inn jimenez ) opening soon.. love to ya ... katya -terry and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Having been to The Lookout before we were excited to try it during rainy season and take advantage of the discount prices. We just spent a week there. The weather was wonderful - plenty of sun and the few rain storms, which generally happened at night, were a great way to experience and connect the cycle of the rainforest...plus they provided stunning visual and auditory memories - heavy rain, silent birds, frog calls, incredible clouds, the rainforest coming back to life, etc...

The Osa is a gem of a place. Don't waste your time with a one day trip, spend at least 2-3 nights at The Lookout Inn to take in the Osa experience. I am always amazed at how little effort it takes to see wildlife and incredible landscapes when I am at The Lookout Inn. With no effort, the beach is right there and so is the rainforest = ideal location!

As always, the staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful. The meals were great. It really is an extra treat to not have to think about meals...everything is prepared for you; fresh, delicious, local and plenty of it! The owners, Terry and Katia, work hard to make sure their guests have everything they need, answer questions, help plan experiences, and provide wonderful accommodations.

Last year we went with my 17 year old son, my 32 year old sister, and 10 year old niece. Everyone said it was the best trip they had ever been on and recall great memories...and they all want to go back!

If you are planning a trip to Osa, the best place to stay is The Lookout Inn!

Room Tip: All the open air rooms are great for those who want that experience. There are 2 cabins that provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusaninNY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
hello newman susan -- we all here miss you so much u need to come back now -- please

every time u guys visit it gets better yes??? katya and i want to visit u2 so get ready in july 2014 -- let mr. bone know ok?? and have the bar well stocked --

all is well here at the lookout inn.. sun shine -- great food -- ocean sunsets and that darn pacific is still salty.. love you guys ter * kat and the great team and i thank God i have a great team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The best spots in the world are at the “end of the road,” and Lookout Inn is located at the end of the end of the road. A spectacular location built into the jungle, a few yards (or meters to our metric friends) to miles of unspoiled sandy beach with perfect rolling waves – sounds like a cliché, but it’s true. We know our beaches – we live on the North Shore of Kauai. Carate is one of the few special places that motivate us to travel away from our paradise abode. Bring your kayaks or paddle boards with you if you can manage some surf.

We have visited Lookout twice in the last 3 years, and each time left very enthusiastic about our visits. The food would be great in any locale, but when one realizes that Lookout is off the grid, powered only by solar and some gas hauled in over the long road in, it is simply impressive. Most of the rooms are open air, with mosquito nets that aren’t even needed. You literally are living in the jungle, with a solid roof over your head. One can only marvel at the creative design of the lodge, the sight of the Corcovado coastline during a lightning storm, the streaming early morning sun light on a pristine black sand beach.

And your hosts Terry and Katya are two of the most unique, delightful people you will ever meet.

Go there when you can. There are not many places in this world comparable to this “end of the road.”

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
hi steve and everyone else reading this.. .. thanks so much for a nice review its always wonderful to see returned guests -- we all here at the lookout inn must be doing something correct - thank God I have a wonderful staff -- all is well here on the osa peninsula and remember the new boutique bed & breakfast katya and I are opening soon well we hope to open the doors around dec. 10th .. will email every one soon.. its called INN JIMENEZ so visit us .. see ya all soon or 2014.. thanks again terry - katya and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and i have extensively traveled throughout cr for the past 7 years. For those willing to step out of their comfort zone ( ie: forget plasma tvs, phone service and A/C ) and experience Costa Rica in the manner before the crowds of tourists flooded the more accessible parts of CR, this is the place. This is not a fancy boutique hotel, rather a grouping of clean open air private cabins, with comfortable beds and a full bath to refresh after a day of hiking in the rainforest. Each is set along the mountainside, overlooking the ocean and the whales that pass each day. You'll find the ex-pat host Terry, a high energy homesteader who truly enjoys living amongst the animals and sharing his experiences of the past 18 years with you. Quick witted and happy to converse, you'll share dinner each night with him and his native wife, Katia. Together, they open their home and truly work to make you feel comfortable and happy to have you. And if you feel your dining choices may be limited, we experienced some of the best meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner (w/desert!) we've had anywhere in the area. No, you won't have chicken and rice every night, but the chef will keep your tastebuds satiated. Highlights: crossing the rivers to get there, a beach to ourselves, the birds, the turtles, a kayak tour, hiking, the food, the hosts. The only downside was having to leave. Don't forget the 4x4, camera, sunscreen and a sense of humor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatsguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
good day capt. barry - you florida folk do need to return because we had a wonderful time with you and the tuna and dorado are biting - so of course all you can eat sushi -- January or feb is a great time to visit again ok>? we have your cabin ready for u2.

we also are opening the new ''boutique '' BED & BREAKFAST in Puerto Jimenez . hope to have it ready around dec.10th its called ''inn jimenez'' so now you have another wonderful place to hang your hats.. again thanks for the stay and see you two in a few months .. katya -terry and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay that is eco-friendly and secluded, I would highly recommend Lookout Inn Lodge and Carate. Our room (in fact, al the rooms) was very private and we had a gorgeous view of the ocean and the jungle. It was so peaceful to sleep at night and wake up to the open air. The food was delicious and very local! The staff couldn't have been friendlier. Terry and Katya, the owners, were very helpful and enthusiastic!

We chose Carate because of the wildlife and we certainly got that. Howler monkeys and macaws were frequent visitors! We were just a step away from the jungle and spent our days hiking as well as swimming and relaxing on the beach. You truly feel like you have the beach to yourselves. It is heavenly!! The view from the lodge is absolutely breathtaking. We looked forward to drinks and dinner every night and then to bed when the sun set! We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermontsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
hi guys .. thanks for the beautiful review - all is still perfect and wild here at the lookout inn carate beach -- I bet its snow--ee and cold up north yes?? sunny and rain--eee here and its normally always 81' -- 88 ' F -- so when you get ready some time in the future please come back and see us and all the wildlife .. the monkeys and scarlet macaws are still out & about -- thanks again the lookout inn gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
11.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 41 in Osa Peninsula
609 reviews
12.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Property: Lookout Inn Lodge
Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing