We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation destination”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just returned from a holiday vacation at Look Out Inn. There, we enjoyed walking on the beach, assisting Katya with patrolling and maintaining turtle nests, hiking in Corcovado National Park, monkey and bird watching, swimming and boogie boarding in the ocean, kayaking, and resting and relaxing. Terry, Katya and their staff are friendly and helpful hosts. They arranged for our taxis to and from the Puerto Jiminez airport, secured park passes, made arrangements for kayaking, shared interesting history and anecdotes of the park and area, and were attentive to our every need. We stayed in the Monkey House, and true to its name, a tribe of white faced monkeys traveled through the trees at eye level and arms length every day. I look forward to our next trip to Peninsula de Osa, and our next stay at Look Out Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

hello jed -- how was the rest of your trip?? email me when you get time ok??? all is well here -- new years was a hit again our 13 annual BBQ pig//chicken roast on the beach -- a wonderful time and most every one was in bed by 8 or 9 pm we have cardboard box we make as a clock and rotate it to midnite at 8 -- and every one has a bit of bubbly and leaves for their cabins.. weather is still perfect -- 88 ' F sunny and tropical and the monkeys still here- some day come on back thanks so much for the visit -- ter /kat and the lookout inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Lookout Inn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 556 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stopped at the Lookout inn for drinks & food after arriving early in Carate to hike into Sirena the following day. They were currently in low-season deep cleaning but still welcomed us with open arms and served up an excellent and good value meal. The rooms were fabulous and we would've definitely stayed had we had more time - felt like you were in a very plush family home. Katya was incredibly lovely as were all the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

hello this is katya -- Emilio and Sara Could be terrible if i mixx your names . we are so glad to have find your surprising review hope you have had a good adventure at the Corcovado Park . Beautiful people are always welcome in our dayly life. please email us our about your wonderful succesful trip in costa rica.
Look Out inn Life continued easy and full of nature touch. of course turtle everyday. a big danta ( tapir ) track on the beach beautiful scarlet macaws. keep us in your memory hope to see you soon. katya bellanero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visit Lookout Inn at least every 2 years and we don't stay anywhere in Costa Rica but here. Lookout Inn is located in a very remote place in Osa Peninsula but the trip to get there is well worth it! The location itself is paradise! Eco-lodge built on a hillside right in front of a black sand beach and surrounded by a lush rainforest. You'll hear frogs, birds, monkeys, the ocean, rain- all in one day! You don't even have to go to the national park (Corcovado National Park) to see wild animals- you can just relax on your hammock and animals will just roam freely. You'll see monkeys, coatis, anteaters, macaws (lots of them!), tucans & hundred more other bird species, iguanas, sea turtles, whales & dolphins (while sitting on the balcony of the lodge), snakes, frogs, crocodiles- and lots more I can't name. The lodge is not a five star hotel so you can't expect fluffy towels and bedsheets but who cares about those things if you're in the rainforest. The owners- Terry & Katya are wonderful! Where can you experience the owners cooking and dining with you at the same time- Teri even bakes his own bread & makes his own cheese- whoa!!! Hubby and I comes here when we feel we need to get away from city life and/or to celebrate anniversaries or holidays- Teri & Katya always takes care of us! We love you guys and thanks for always opening your door to us!!!

Room Tip: Any room/cabin is great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

hello sunnie and les.. thanks for the nice review hope all is well in calif.. its sunny -rain-eeee and tropical here -- still lots of sea turtles on the beach and katya is out there every morning covering nests and protecting babys as they run to the pacific -- and of course the scarlet macaws and monkeys are all over the place... last week hump back whales out front most of the day -- thanks again for the love and friendship see ya again in a few years -- katya- terry & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have been to the Lookout Inn 7 times in the last few years. We first saw it on the hillside it perches on from a fishing boat and decided to check it out. This beautiful natural wood palace overlooks miles of white sand beach and Pacific Ocean, while surrounded by jungle, with many species coming right up to the large deck (a variety of monkey species among them), beautiful butterflies and birds, and our delight, flocks of scarlet macaws who feed on an almond like tree on the beach. May and June are good months to see these beauties in action with their mates and babies. Corcovado National Park is just up the road, and fishing can be had on the beach or from Puerto Jimenez with a fishing boat (the area is famous for its fishing). But you come to the Lookout Inn to delight in flora and fauna, wide white sand beaches, a bit of a wild ocean, and the hospitality of the owners, Terri and Katya. Terri deserves the title entertainer of the year of his stories of coming to Costa Rica in 1998, building this beautiful Inn, and all the encounters with the wild life over the years. Katya will take charge of any of your guest needs, and make sure you have what you want at the Inn or in the wild. The food is grown locally, often organic, fresh and very tasty. The deck is a place to gather and share stories. There we met Patrick who had moved into his own place down the road, who had been a zoo keeper and now parrot breeder, who had the best explanations of what was all around us (you can visit his place for an intimate tour of the wild life). There is an upper deck where you have the bar and another place to gather, a 3rd deck for group dining, and a 4th deck for a fantastic view of the whole area (also a good place to do Yoga or other exercise, they keep it open) Beautiful long sunsets. Rooms are clean and functional with a minimum of insects given the surrounding jungle. The cabanas are well screened and have even more of a jungle feel. The inn became our home away from home. We took our grandchildren there last (young teenagers), and they had such fun (oh, yes, a small pool to jump in and cool off). Activities: of course parrot watching, hiking in the park or otherwise, a long climbing trail in back to higher and higher views, beach walking or horseback riding, kayaking, warm ocean water swimming (but a bit rough at times), or lounging on the deck or by the small pool. And if you are a fisherman, that is more than available to you, but not right at the Inn, except for beach fishing. A tip: you can get there from Puerto Jimeniz by cab which is a 2 hour bumpy ride, or by small plane, which is 7 minutes. The cab ride is an adventure, the plane ride much easier. Both are scenic in their own way. This is not an area for tourist shopping and such, it is to be out in nature, with a beautiful Inn house and feed you.
Please watch for the flocks of parrots and check them out down by the beach in the trees.

Room Tip: Rooms on deck level have easier access to the main building, but not as exposed to the raw jungle ex...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

hello gayle and ben.. thanks for the review its about time since ya been here at least a half dozen times.. -- u all need to come back again some day ... i know you love birds especially scarlet macaws and they are all over the place-- more than ever and we have a young one that vists us in the am for breakfast and then again at happy hour then he or she flys off and hangs out in the giant jobo tree out front of the lodge to sleep -- all else is great here at the lodge -- the sea turtles are up on the beach laying eggs and lots of lil babys running for the waters to escape the sun - dogs -vultures and hawks - so katya and the sea turtle foundation are out there daily protecting the nests and the babys.. this is something you need to come back for -- its amazing to see this circle of life -- thanks again guys katya ---terry and the lookout inn gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My sons and I visited the Lookout Inn. We were very impressed with the warmth of this Inn from the proprietors, Terry and Katya, the wonderful food, the clean facility, and the fabulous scenery, flora and fauna. We hiked through the national rainforest, battled the waters of the southern Pacific, walked the beach for endless miles, collected shells, photographed wildlife and did a whole lot of resting and relaxing. This was definably a vacation that we will never forget. My sons cannot wait to go there again.

Room Tip: Every room at the Inn is spectacular. You can stay in the main house or have a secluded cabana away...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

hello tucson diana -- all is still well here at the lookout inn- the rains are trying to get us but this ''el nino '' is pretty much the boss and keeping us dry this 2012 raineee season -- katya is out covering last nites turtle nests with a few of our wonderful volunteers from spain carlos ^ rosie -- you should grab the kids and come on back down and help out on the beach yes?? great turtle project specials -- thanks again for visiting us and we shall see you again.. katya terry & the lookout inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Lookout Inn in Carate, Costa Rica was by far the best vacation spot I have been to. If you ever want to just get away and have a great time in a serene environment this is the place to be. It is a very relaxing and trouble free place. The rooms are great and the cabanas are even better. There is plenty to do wether it be relaxing on a hammock by the beach, or enjoying the excellent cuisine. The Lookout Inn is the place to be in Costa Rica. If you visit this wonderful country and do not stay a night or two or five at this place your trip will always be incomplete. Trust me I went there about 6 years ago and didn't stay at the Lookout Inn. When I went back the next year and did stay at the Lookout Inn and the second trip knocked the socks off the first because of this EXCELLENT place. I continue to visit this place annually. Book it now.

Room Tip: Get a private cabana. Excellent for couples.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpcaus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

hey jp great to see you again and thanks for visiting us at the lookout inn good luck with medical school hurry so you can replace my bad hips thanks again katya - terry and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I traveled to Costa Rica a few weeks ago to look into a business deal, the deal didn't work out but I was with good people and a great guide so we went exploring. we ended up in the most remote part of the country I've ever been too and I have to tell you. On a suggestion from a lodge owner we stopped for breakfast and info at the Lookout inn, what a find. The views, the wilderness, I felt like for the first time in my life I had found paradise. the grounds of the hotel were spotless, the help was first class the food was good. Why would I suggest this place, Ive been in the service business all my life and if you want a vacation where you are off the grid, no one can bother you, no one puts pressure on you, and you have the rain forest,( one of the top national parks in the world) at your back door, the greenest ocean I've ever seen (50 yards from your front door, and its 90 degrees) beautiful black sand beaches, Wild monkeys that come down from the trees to enjoy fresh fruit while you enjoy the great breakfast, macaws living free all around you, and many other beautiful animals living in the wild. After breakfast which was served to us with a smile on there beautiful deck the guest ambassador brought us map and showed us a beautiful hike where we saw water falls, and more beautiful wild life. The day went from uncertainty to one of my best days in Costa Rica because of the staff of this beautiful lodge .... I haven't met Terry or his wife Katya yet but I hope get get back there soon and stay for more than a day, if they can make a day so wonderful I'm sure a week would be heaven....... Oh as for the title to this review if your in good shape they have a stairway off the back deck called the stairway to heaven I made it to the top and the view is a once in a life time site.. Thanks to all the crew at the Lookout inn See you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeKouskoutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutinn, Manager at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

hello chef achilles - i hear your returning again to carate beach in november can;t stay away from us eh??? thanks for stopping inn at the inn last month. weather here has been great -el nino is keeping us dry -- check the web site front page to review the last 14 years of annual rain fall -- its amazing the amount of wet stuff that falls from the sky.. thanks again and see ya soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.1 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
12.1 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
543 reviews
12.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range: $61 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing